We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kigongoni Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
69
52
13
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
52
13
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee plantationthe bar restaurant areakilimanjaro airportwalking tourpre postmount merulate in the eveninga wonderful staydirt roadfirst stopcomfortable placethe cottagesnext morningarusha cityour honeymoontwo nightsbreakfast buffet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My wife and I went to Kigongoni Lodge to relax during the Christmas days and over new years. The place is beautiful located on top of a hill so you have a very nice view to the country and even Kilimanjaro.
The people working at the lodge are extremely nice and you feel very welcome from the beginning.
The rooms are also perfect and often you wake up to the monkeys playing in the area.
For sure a place I will recommend to other people who are looking for a nice place in Arusha to relax and enjoy some peace in idyllic surroundings.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kilimani_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanderHammer, Manager at Kigongoni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Kilimani_dude,
Thanks for your review! Great you enjoyed your stay at Kigongoni Lodge. Thanks for your nice words for our staff, it is highly appreciated. Whenever your in Arusha again, Karibuni!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Kigongoni Lodge with its cosy but spacious huts scattered around the hilltop has a gorgeous view on the Tanzanian fields, and most impressive: The Kilimanjaro. The huts are decorated in African style, but with Western comfort of shower and bathtub with warm water, kingsize beds and veranda places. The Swimmingpool with its sunbeds is refreshing and the upper bar with fireplace a good alternative for the evenings.
I always love to visit this place with its friendly owners and staff, they make you feel home!
Once you're there, don't forget to make a visit to the clinic for handicapped children down the hill, managed by the owners of Kigongoni. It will be the most memorative experience of your holiday!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NienkeS156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Lovely rooms and huge baths. Lovely landscaping. Lots of steps. if you are challenged by these, find somewhere else. Food was very good. very clean. Quiet-- we saw nor heard any children. Views were outstanding. Lots of beautiful flowers

Room Tip: Never saw small children but the cabins are far apart.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueEyedBirman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed at Kigongoni Lodge for one night before starting our safari tour.
The room was clean and equipped . It' s a very big room, with another area for shower or bathtub ( you can choose), and on the back you have the WC area. The decoration is very nice , very "African style", and the view goes on the parck ( but there are human activities-maybe plantations- so it does not give the idea of pure nature). The staff could be more friendly, especially at the Hotel reception, but in overall it was a good staff. The food was also very good, very nice restaurant area, terrace and pool. I would recommend this place for a stop-over in Arusha and for someone looking for relax and a clean and comfortable place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArcyJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The only reason why I find it hard to rate this place as excellent because we came here after staying at the Ngorongoro Farm House. If you are looking for Tanzanian charm this place is it. The rooms remind me of the flintstones with the rooms made of stone, nice large bathrooms with Hot Water.

The place is a little outdated but the grounds are lovely and the staff is fanstatic. Sander was very accomodating and had his staff take us for a walk to the market. Abu and Maria made sure we were safe and comfortable at all times and even gave us money to buy water since we did not have Tanzanian shilling when we walked to the market.

The views of Meru is spectacular when you are dining and the food was suprisingly delicious. We really enjoyed the pool area and as it was low season we pretty much had this lush 63 acre property to ourselves.

Thank you Sander and staff for a wonderful stay at Kigongnoni!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms closer to the pool area as they have their own private balconies.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews