We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel in beautiful setting.”
Review of Kigongoni Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kigongoni Lodge
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2010

The food was excellent, too. The rooms are immaculately clean and very spacious. Every one has a balcony with a great view. Food was terrific. WiFi available in the lodge and restaurant. We hired a guide for $5 to take us on a hike through the coffee plantation. Such clean, fresh air. As with most of Tanzania there are mosquitoes so always use your DEET. The lodges are spread around this very hilly property so it is not a good choice for people who can't walk up and down hills. Be sure to order their packed lunch for your travels when you leave.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneG0772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2010

In August my wife and I made a trip trough Tanzania with both at the beginning and at the end of our trip a couple of nights stay in Kigongoni , Arusha.

Just before we left we read feedback on Trip advisor in which the security of Kigongoni was discussed, to be honist, it made us worry a little bit but since we already booked and paid we’d decided to stay there anyway.

On arrival we were warmly welcomed, and enjoyed a very nice lodge, with absolutely very kind and welcoming staff, lovely food and wine and above all a realy nice setting.

In retrospective, the feedback that we read before we left here on Trip advisor, tells how it is: a nice lodge, and worth a visit, as the security has been dealt with.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikS6_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

The lodge is on really pretty grounds and the management couldn't be more friendly, but the first night we stayed here my parents room was broken into by 5 men carrying metal stakes. My mother was unharmed but my father was hit over the head several times with a metal stake. The men were in my parents room for about 5 minutes going through my parents' belongings and trying to hit my father and then were able to simply run away. The security guards who were supposed to be guarding the lodge did not show up until after the men had left. The management were very helpful the next day in trying to recover my parents' belongings, but they informed us that something similar had also happened in April. The lodge is really pretty, but I would avoid it until the security issues have been resolved.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpw1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanderHammer, General Manager at Kigongoni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2010

Dear

Thank you for the comments on the lodge and the surroundings. As you know, we really regret what happened to your parents.

Kigongoni Lodge is situated on a private 70 acre estate nearby Arusha. In the last 8 years we never had any security issues, and therefore our compound was still very accessible. Unfortunately we did have some incidents in the last months, with a climax the end of June when robbers forced themselves in to one of our cottages.

After the incident last month, we changed quit some things here for the better of the security.
We hired extra security guards from an external private security company. For the guards to raise the alarm quicker, we have installed extra alarm buttons around the cottages. Next to that we have constructed a patrol road around the lodge. Allong the patrol road ther now is a security fence so no one can come in anymore as via the guarded gate. We connected the fence to our alarm system, in case someone tries to come in an other way than the gate, the alarm goes of.

With all the security measures we implement we keep in mind that we don’t want to turn the lodge in a prison like area. Actually, as the lodge is on a hill, the new patrol path is a nice walking path as well, with astonishing views on Kilimanjaro, Mount Meru and the surrounded area. We sincerely believe we manage to make Kigongoni Lodge a safe place and keep the same nice and relaxed atmosphere clients (and we ourselves) appreciate so much.

With kind regards,
Sander Hammer & Claudia Verbraak
directors Kigongoni Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Don't think its worth the price. views aren't that great-obstructed by trees-cottage was not clean, musty smell, many bugs, spiders. Having security/crime issues.
Does have pretty grounds, good food.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dakgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Great location with views of Mt. Meru and Kilimanjaro.
Loved our spacious room. Excellent, VERY hot water and large beds.
Meals were good, too.
Loved the pool and bar area.
Some of the lodges can be very far downhill (which means a long and tedious walk back up to the main lodge). For those with limited mobility, make sure you ask for a nearby lodge. They don't seem to ask or check and see if the person they are checking in might be older, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intlwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

This was our first bed after 8 nights in Kilimanjaro in tents. It was an oasis. Everything was perfect; peace & quiet, beautiful gardens, great food, and wonderful views. The staff was very friendly and everything was clean. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moabhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

We arrived late at night in Arusha, the drive to Kigongoni was thrilling at night & the location was amazing. The lodge is of very good quality, warm welcome & good security. The feeling is of living in the middle of the forest, with mount meru as the panorama.
Food was average but the comfort & size of the room is definitely great!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain_Sabah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
2.6 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
487 reviews
5 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 45 in Arusha
646 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
526 reviews
5.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel
5.1 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 45 in Arusha
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kigongoni Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kigongoni Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 11952, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: £87 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kigongoni Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 11km outside Arusha and 40min drive from KIA. On an old coffee plantation, are 19 spacious cottages each with an own balcony/terrace and fireplace. Splendid views on Mnt Meru and Mnt Kilimanjaro. Perfect place to relax before/after a safari and Kilimanjaro climb. With an a la carte restaurant, diverse choice of wines, free WiFi, tranquil swimming pool, lush gardens and a lot of activities in the neighbourhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kigongoni Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kigongoni Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing