We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baraka Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$193
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
18
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot watergeofffredericahoststaxinetsbedsairportlodgetanzaniagardensafari
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Always a pleasure to stay at Baraka. A quiet, peaceful and secure little lodge in Arusha. It is more of a homestay with the privacy and comfort of a hotel. Cook your own breakfast in the well stocked kitchen or if you're lucky Frederica will do it for you! On request she will also cook a lovely dinner for you. In general Geoff and Frederica are wonderful hosts. Enough warm water, comfotable beds, mosquito nets. Away from the busy tourist hotels it is a bit difficult to find, but the hosts will guide you over the phone or even pick you up from Njiro complex where you can find anything you need to cook your meal or to eat out. WOuld definitely recommend staying here, and will stay here more often myself!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArjanTiessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff G, Owner at Baraka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thanks for the positive feedback Arjan; much appreciated and as you know we always look forward to your visits; karibu tena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This small hotel is a really good find. Rooms are of a good standard , big beds, hot shower , tv and breakfast included in the cost of 30-35000 Tz shilling a night per room.

All the staff are extremely helpful , they allowed us to leave luggage when we traveled to the Moshi area and there is also a laundry service available at low cost.

Arusha can be very very cold in June/July and the breakfast area is outside but partially covered . Be warned ..you WILL be a warm jacket .

Breakfast is good including fresh fruits/ eggs/toast and jam/tea and coffee.

I highly recommend this place .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PENANGMARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Geoff and Frederica are wonderful hosts, Frederica's cooking is excellent and abundant. The rooms are a good size and comfortable. It is a quiet oasis in a crazy city. Baraka Lodge is by far the best value in Arusha.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loyd E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff G, Owner at Baraka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thanks very much for your very positive review; Frederica and I appreciate you taking the trouble to do it and we have good memories of your stay with us. All the best for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This is a great little oasis in Tanzania. I stayed for 4 weeks on business and found it to be very comfortable with high quality facilities. I especially enjoyed the outside kitchen (which I used as a pleasant outdoor office when there weren't other guests) and the reliably hot water in the shower (something one must not take for granted in Tanzania).

Frederica and Geoff were fantastic hosts and Franco, the handyman and security guard, was friendly a huge help on many occasions when coming or going at odd hours or just needing help with anything in general.

The only downside is that the location can be a bit of a challenge if you'e unfamiliar with the area or do not have your own transportation. But Frederica or Geoff will be more than happy to help you arrange transport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flrazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff G, Owner at Baraka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

You are welcome anytime Lee; we enjoyed having you at Baraka Lodge and we appreciate your positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Great place to stay and great hosts to have. I was there with my friends and it was unforgettable experience. Frederika and Geff made us feel like home and were very helpful. Baraka Lodge is a great choice

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dzase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews