We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money in centre Arusha”
Review of Raha Leo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Raha Leo
Ranked #13 of 140 Arusha B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We 've spent two nights in Guesthouse Raha Leo, the night before and after our safari. We were pleasantly surprised by the peace and cleanliness when we entered the guesthouse from the crowded, noisy and polluted streets of the Arusha city centre.
Two brothers are managing this place and they are very friendly and make you feel at home.
The room was basic but was clean and looked like a proper hotel room, and considering we payed only 30.000 Tsh (app. 15 euro) for it, this was great value for money. Also breakfast was included, incl. fruits and eggs.
Don't expect the most splendid or nicest hotel that you will find in Tanzania, but for a budget, clean accommodation in the center of Arusha we would definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: The room we had (at the front) was bigger than (at least) one of the room(s) at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marloesark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed in Raha Leo couple of nights before and after Safari and this place had everything we needed. The rooms are small and vary but clean, with TV and hot water. For just 30 000 Tsh you can have a double bed and breakfast. Breakfast is simple but you have a choice of eggs, try tasty Spanish omelet. Staff is very helpful. Only annoying thing was a generator noise during the power cuts. This is a great place for meeting other travellers and exchanging travel tips.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Milica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

we stayed at Raha Leo for one night after a camping safari, the room was simple but clean and hot shower. Much better than a more expensive hotel where we stayed before the safari.
Staff are very friendly and helped us with suggestions on further travels in Tanzania.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank cris1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

we booked this guest house after I read some reviews of it's guests and couldn't find any picture of this place
now I think with myself how those guys could give this place an excellent rate!!?
Raha leo isn't a hotel or guest house even it's only some unclean and very small rooms like jail
room's area was maximum 6-7 m2 I think , with a very very small bathroom that was made by partitions but honestly was clean
bed sheets and towels was very old and many stain on them and walls not clean
finally we couldn't resistance and paid 5000 tsh to cancel our booking and go to another hotel

Room Tip: pay more but go to another hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pesare-parsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed for three nights prior to our Kilimanjaro trek. We were given a tourist office information who proved to be reasonably priced for our trek and was willing to negotiate prices. As far as the hotel goes its in a good location walking distance from main CBD and other restaurants, the rooms were clean and comfortable with hot showers. The breakfast in the morning is small but handy and the staff specifically Elijah and Abdul ( owner) are extremely helpful, kind and welcoming. The one drawback is its noise there was some noise at night but I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hannah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I spent three nights here, and had a pleasant time. I found this address in the Lonely Planet. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are clean and the breakfast is decent. All in all: good value for money!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotello040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I'd recommend this place: it has very modern rooms and bathrooms (which is something of a luxury when travelling on a budget in Tanzania) which feel clean and comfortable. Our room had cable TV with a good selection of channels, and we felt secure as the hotel is based around its own internal 'street', which has a laid back, quiet feel. Breakfast was pretty nice, and the manager was likeable and professional: he previously worked at the expensive Serena Inn in Stonetown, Zanzibar.

Room Tip: The rooms are all on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meerkat_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
1.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
630 reviews
12.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
510 reviews
5.7 mi away
Christina House
Christina House
#7 of 140 in Arusha
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 45 in Arusha
107 reviews
4.3 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
472 reviews
1.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 45 in Arusha
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raha Leo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raha Leo

Address: Stadium Street, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing