We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay at Ngorongoro Crater”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ang'ata Camp Ngorongoro
Ranked #7 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay at Ngorongoro Crater”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a very belated review. My wife and I stayed two nights at Ang'ata Ngorongoro Camp early in October 2013. This was the least "fancy" of the four tented camps we stayed at on our safari (two others were Asilia camps and the fourth was an Elewana camp). But service and comfort did not suffer at all in comparison. It meant only that our tent was not quite as spacious and did not have similar appointments, such as brass-hinged chests. The tent was plenty roomy, and the bed was large and very comfortable--and warmed by hot-water bottles in the evening. We had plenty of hot water for our showers. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Meals were delicious. The location of the camp is the best part. It is in a forest of umbrella acacia trees on the rim of the crater. There's a great view across the valley (not into the crater). Best of all, it is actually inside the crater entrance on the road down into the crater, so it is a perfect spot from which to start an early morning game drive to the floor of the crater.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGTFmH, Propriétaire at Ang'ata Camp Ngorongoro, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Rick S, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our Ngorongoro camp, you have described our policy right on the nail, we try to keep the Tens simple but without compromising on the essentials, and above all good food and service, service, service. We may not get it right every time but the guys in camp do try their outmost best. Hope to see you with us agin some time, you are always welcome. Frank Hinrichs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent the last night of our safari at Ang'ata Camp Ngorongoro, arriving in a downpour after a long drive from Serengeti. Despite the rain and the cold, the staff made our stay very special. The tents were very comfortable, including warm robes after a hot shower, and the food was delicious. The special surprise after dinner was returning to your tents and finding bush babies (hot water bottles) in your bed.
The location of this camp is ideal, inside the park and very near one of the entries into the Crater. We asked for an early breakfast the next morning which was ready when we arrived at the dining tent. As a result, we were in the Crater at least an hour before the crowds.
We would highly recommend this camp!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brussels
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

On the rim of the caldera. Great layout of the tent, bed facing the valley. Delicious food. We were the only ones in the camp that night which meant we got extra special service, from the hot water bottles placed in our beds and the surprise private dinner served in our tent, Julius and the staff know how to treat guests with top notch service. The tent was luxurious with shower and proper toilet, and it was the small touches again, such as the slippers and bathrobes, which are perhaps not necessary, but which made the difference. Attention to detail is truly what stood out in this camp. We enjoyed the outdoor sofa bench, the view, and were lucky enough to hear elephants, zebras and buffalos during the night. In spite of being at an altitude of 2300m, we didn't feel the cold when inside our tent.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank umberto d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Basecamp Tanzania booked us into this camp in September 2013. It was a little oasis at the end of a terribly long drive. The cool height of this camp was a relief, and the surrounding trees beautiful. However, the camp had a spooky, vacant quality--we discovered why when we found that we were the only guests that evening. The whole place had a hush to it, and that included the staff--it was as though since there was only two guests, they had to stay quiet and hidden. We heard none of the staff speaking among themselves, ever! This was also one of the few places where we had some communication problems and requesting hot water for a shower led to confusion until we pointed. Dinner was absolutely excellent, and it was very nice to be able to buy a decent wine by the glass. Tents were also very good, and a bathrobe and slippers were provided, a lovely touch. It got very cold, and we were ready for bed early---it was a nice surprise to find hot water bottles laid in the bed for us. However, in the morning at our arranged breakfast time, we found the mess tent shut up tight and no one around. Once we poked around and unzipped a few tent zips around the lounge, someone at last came and got things rolling. A good stay over all, but we wouldn't book here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanjen680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We spent two nights at the Ang'ata camp at the end of our safari. It was a great experience-- quiet, secluded, and an attentive staff. There are hot showers on demand, very comfy beds, and lots of space. The cozy dining tent was a nice way to end each day. It is indeed cold on the rim of the crater, so come prepared! The hot water bottles in bed go a long way, but fleece jackets and hats are needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picklebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Great camp; authentically African, simple yet luxurious. A hot shower, a very scrumptious 3 course meal and hot water bottles awaiting in comfy beds. The staff are great, as helpful as you can imagine and we would definitely recommend this camp for 2 nights to enjoy its great proximity to the Ngorongoro crater and the relaxing atmosphere of the camp. Thanks to the camp manager Hilary; who was especially welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carys4afrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

we spent a night in this camp. It is placed on the heart of Ngorongoro Conversation Area, so it's a perfect place to start a safari there. The camp is formed by 10-12 huge tends to sleep, a shared tend with a bar and a restaurant tend.

The tends for sleeping have a very big and confortable bed, wardrobe and bathroom (with shower).
The shared tend is very nice with a little bar, confortable sofas and fleece blankets .... a perfect place to enjoy the night with other people after the dinner.
The food is very good, maybe they could improve the quantity ...

I found just two flaws:
1) the camp is located at 2400m, so it's very very cold and they don't have any facilities to face cold. (just two hot-water bottles into the bed). Since the camp takes power from solar panels, we could not even dry hair. (they told us about it after we had taken showers!)

2) the water-flow in the showers is very poor. Sometimes taking a shower was impossibile.





2)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGTFmH, Propriétaire at Ang'ata Camp Ngorongoro, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Fabio T, thank you for your review, we just want to point out that the camp consists of 8 Guest tents, a Lounge Tent containing the bar, and a Mess Tent with a capacity of max. 20 persons. We have since your visit improved the heating in the Lounge and Mess Tent, as well as the shower water pressure. As for the power we are very sorry but the cloud cover on the rim of the Crater is unfortunately preventing us most of the time to provide enough power for energy hungry devices, but then again you are in complete wilderness. With our kindest regards, the Ang'ata Camp Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arusha
0.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
961 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
572 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#17 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#5 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ang'ata Camp Ngorongoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ang'ata Camp Ngorongoro

Property: Ang'ata Camp Ngorongoro
Address: P.O. Box 15584, Arusha 15584, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The camp is situated right after Lemala Gate, inside the Craters boundaries on the Lemala descent road, currently also being used as ascent road, ideally situated for early morning game drives into the Crater. After your game drive you may return to camp for a delicious lunch prepared by our chefs, then a lounge adjacent to the Mess tent awaits you for your afternoon relaxation and a cup of Tea in the shadow of the acacia forest. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing