We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the Crater” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ang'ata Camp Ngorongoro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ang'ata Camp Ngorongoro
Ranked #8 of 148 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
295 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Close to the Crater”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

One advantage this camp holds over other camps is that it is about 10 minute drive from the crater entrance. You might have an edge over others especially during peak season by arriving early and avoiding the long waiting time. In addition, you can enjoy the morning sunrise safari. The lodge is echo friendly so don't expect any luxury. If the power is overloaded a beep annoying sound will alert you to switch off one of the lights. You will be provided a bucket for shower and you have to request a warm water incase you need to shower. There is a limit on water consumption. I think it is 45 liter per person. The bed is fine and there is no safe in the room. You can hear your next door neighbor at night and you have to keep your voice low otherwise everyone can hear your conversation. The food is average and the portion is really small.

The lodge is good for only one night stay and if you want to experience the sleeping in tent. Overall, average experience and I prefer to stay in a proper lodge then being in camp.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emirates_Arab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arusha
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The superb location of camps with serene environment. Spacious tents with a balcony in front, comfortable beds, mattresses, feathery pillows and wooly blankets, chairs, and a wardrobe for your clothing. Bathroom with hot shower, soft towels, wash basin and portable toilet. A memorable stay at the African Bush..!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FabysonSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We really enjoyed staying at the Angata camp as its cozy and the food was super delicious. There is a small section to purchase locally made goods at very competitive rates and help the community and the beds were warm and cozy. The only minor flaw I would point out is that you can hear your next door neighbour at bedtime, which may make some people feel uncomfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzyb300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGTFmH, Propriétaire at Ang'ata Camp Ngorongoro, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Lizzyb300, thank very much for taking the time and share your experience at Ang'ata Ngorongoro Camp, We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your support to the community. We are sorry for the proximity of the tents, the site we are allocated to by the authorities is quite limited in size, this is in a conservational effort to minimize human footprint in the vicinity of the crater. We therefore had to squeeze the tents a bit. We are sorry for that inconvenience. Kind Regards, The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed 2 nights at Ang'ata's tented camp just recently. The position of this camp is perfect, situated inside the gate to the crater on the Lemala access road which allows easy and quick entry in the morning before the crowds arrive. We took breakfast with us which was well prepared and very edible.

The camp staff were friendly and helpful and the camp's setting is very pretty. Despite the high altitude the dining tent was kept warm and the beds were warmed by 2 hot water bottles and were very comfortable.

The location, friendly staff and comfortable, spacious tents make this an excellent, inexpensive option for Crater visits. The only downside is that the tents are fairly close together, but we didn't have a problem with noise during the night as everyone was probably as tired as we were.

I think this is a great alternative to some of the higher priced tented camps.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank twaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at Ang'ata camp for two nights in March. The camp is set in a secluded spot, on the rim overlooking Ngorongoro crater. The setting is almost completely undisturbed and it truly feels like you're deep in the woods.

The tents are well equipped (see photos) and nicely furnished. Each tent has running water, toilet and shower. Like all camps, the showers are "bucket filled", so when you're ready for a hot shower, the staff will run over with 10 or 20 liters of steaming hot water. They fill an overhead bucket which provides water pressure to the shower. All in all, it was pretty darn good.

The staff was exceptionally friendly and were always asking if we needed anything. During dinner, they sneak out to your tent and put heated water bottles in the beds. Amazing! They call them bush babies. It's the little touches which makes all the difference.

Also, this is the absolute closest camp to the entrance of the crater. It's impossible to be any closer. The gate opened at 6AM and we were the first to descend in the morning. This is extremely important because it gets quite crowded as the day rolls on.

I've included some of my crater pictures, with the morning light shining on the lions; you want to be the first to enter the crater!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belvie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGTFmH, Propriétaire at Ang'ata Camp Ngorongoro, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear believe1, thank you so much for taking the time to review our Ngorongoro camp. We welcome you again anytime and thanks a lot for sharing your great pictures. Karibu Tanzania, Frank Hinrichs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a very belated review. My wife and I stayed two nights at Ang'ata Ngorongoro Camp early in October 2013. This was the least "fancy" of the four tented camps we stayed at on our safari (two others were Asilia camps and the fourth was an Elewana camp). But service and comfort did not suffer at all in comparison. It meant only that our tent was not quite as spacious and did not have similar appointments, such as brass-hinged chests. The tent was plenty roomy, and the bed was large and very comfortable--and warmed by hot-water bottles in the evening. We had plenty of hot water for our showers. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Meals were delicious. The location of the camp is the best part. It is in a forest of umbrella acacia trees on the rim of the crater. There's a great view across the valley (not into the crater). Best of all, it is actually inside the crater entrance on the road down into the crater, so it is a perfect spot from which to start an early morning game drive to the floor of the crater.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGTFmH, Propriétaire at Ang'ata Camp Ngorongoro, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Rick S, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our Ngorongoro camp, you have described our policy right on the nail, we try to keep the Tens simple but without compromising on the essentials, and above all good food and service, service, service. We may not get it right every time but the guys in camp do try their outmost best. Hope to see you with us agin some time, you are always welcome. Frank Hinrichs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent the last night of our safari at Ang'ata Camp Ngorongoro, arriving in a downpour after a long drive from Serengeti. Despite the rain and the cold, the staff made our stay very special. The tents were very comfortable, including warm robes after a hot shower, and the food was delicious. The special surprise after dinner was returning to your tents and finding bush babies (hot water bottles) in your bed.
The location of this camp is ideal, inside the park and very near one of the entries into the Crater. We asked for an early breakfast the next morning which was ready when we arrived at the dining tent. As a result, we were in the Crater at least an hour before the crowds.
We would highly recommend this camp!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arusha
0.0 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.0 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
#14 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ang'ata Camp Ngorongoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ang'ata Camp Ngorongoro

Property: Ang'ata Camp Ngorongoro
Address: P.O. Box 15584, Arusha 15584, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 148 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The camp is situated right after Lemala Gate, inside the Craters boundaries on the Lemala descent road, currently also being used as ascent road, ideally situated for early morning game drives into the Crater. After your game drive you may return to camp for a delicious lunch prepared by our chefs, then a lounge adjacent to the Mess tent awaits you for your afternoon relaxation and a cup of Tea in the shadow of the acacia forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Ang'ata Camp Ngorongoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing