We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb place in Arusha”

Penguin Resort Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penguin Resort Hotel
Ranked #52 of 104 Arusha B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Superb place in Arusha”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

On June I stayed one night from safari,It was me and and three friends from Germany who went together for 3 days camping safari, first when I checked my safari itinerary was asked myself this hotel is good OR bad?
But my tour Operator who was booked a place on my behalf,told me the place was great and quite,clean and have DSTV,because I wanted to watch some football match for this continued FIFA world cup in Brazil.

When I arrive met with smile staff at the car parking as well at reception when I checked in, in short my stay in this hotel was superb for many things from room,food and hospitality, I will remember them and promise to visit with my family in near future, but also want to thanks my tour operator Tanzania Tours Directory / www.infotanzania.net for choosing the good place to stay in Arusha.

Thank you all.

Room Tip: Ask to get balcony rooms have nice views,possible to see velvet monkeys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bykov2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We came to the hotel late at night because our bus from Dar es Salaam broke down. It's not easy to find the hotel, especially at night. We didn't have enough cash so they let us to pay the rest next day. It was really nice. The room was clean and comfotable.

Hotel is quite far from the city center - about 20 min walk. But you can catch the bus on the main road. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The manager bought us tickets to Nairobi.

Remember only to have enought cash because you can't pay by credit card. The nearest ATM is by the main road, so it's only 2 minutes from the hotel. There is also a shop where you can buy almost everything you need.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blenden_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

For a modest room rate, this hotel gives you clean, modern rooms that are not cramped. The hotel manager though is the real gem, he has worked throughout Tanzania and is very knowledgeable in anything a tourist could ask. He can arrange any type of safari or tour that you want and is very responsive to emails. Car pick-ups from Arusha and Kilimanjaro airports went off without a hitch. The bathrooms are basic but plenty of hot water! There are a few rough spots in the hotel and its service but nothing major. A few key points:

The location is OK but requires a taxi to go to restaurants at night due to the distance. The hotel will gladly arrange this but you should not walk in the streets in Arusha at night. Day time is no problem and there is a supermarket where the lane the hotel is on meets the main street.

You need cash, they don't seem to be able to take any credit cards yet.

As pointed out some of the bathrooms have windows which taller people can see into from the hallway. Ask them to cover them with contact paper or change rooms.

The food is OK, but a little on the blander side. Ask what the local dishes are and try them, we found them much tastier and satisfying.

If you want luxury, this is not for you. But if you want high value, decent price with insightful advice on arranging safaris without a lot of unnecessary upsell, then you might want to give this place a try.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This was a really clean hotel with nice rooms and entertaining monkeys to watch on the roof tops. However - the long unlit alley to reach it and the functional dining and bar area means you are not going to want to stay here for more than one night unless you can afford taxis or want to have a very quiet evening in. As a stop over hotel it is perfect. Our bus from Dar Es Salaam took 15 hours - not the 9 that was advertised! The hotel staff were still up and welcomed us very late, offered us anything to eat or drink from the menu so that was really good hospitality. They were just as flexible in the morning and were offering breakfasts at any time. Arusha often is the place to stop over before moving somewhere else and this is a good hotel for that. I just wish I had asked them about the name!!!

Room Tip: Our room had a lovely balcony shared with the adjoining rooms. We passed some rooms with a bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dodoma, Dodoma, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We traveled with a child and looked for some clean place in Arusha. The hotel is less that one year old. It's located not very far from the center, at the parallel street. And it's really clean. And we especially thankful to staff!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with balcony... as far as I know not every room has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zanda_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.0 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 156 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zawadi House Lodge
Zawadi House Lodge
#5 of 104 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#6 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguin Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Resort Hotel

Property: Penguin Resort Hotel
Address: Sakina | Near Sakina Super Market, just 65 mts from Main road, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to brand new hotel in Arusha, Tanzania. We can suit and fir all travelers from backpackers to executives. Hotel has modern furniture which will make your stay comfortable and meaningful. Come and find your happiness at PENGUIN RESORT HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Penguin Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing