We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and in need of maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel
Ranked #19 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tired and in need of maintenance”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I have stayed at L’Oasis several times since 2008. In that time it has changed ownership and management.

Rooms here are quite simple, very clean and have comfortable beds. The grounds are lovely and the bar / lounge is really comfortable to relax in. The food is consistently good. The staff has always been and remain very friendly.

Some improvements have been made to the Lodge over the past couple of years. Unfortunately general maintenance needs to be improved. Light globes needed to be replace outside a number of rooms and water pressure in the showers was terrible.

There always used to be some noise from the village dogs through the night. Now there is a lot more street and village noise. This obviously is not the fault of L’Oasis but it certainly detracted from my stay there and I will look at other options next time I’m going to Arusha.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    103
    51
    16
    3
See reviews for
36
85
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I normally stay at The Outpost when in Arusha but this time it was full, so I opted for L'Oasis Lodge. I wasn't too sure about the location, and driving up to it I was beginning to feel less and less confident about my decision making...... but I was pleasantly surprised when I entered the gates. The grounds and boma style rooms are very attractive.

I was a bit disappointed to be given a room in a building rather than one of the boma style rooms, but I did make a very last minute booking and the place was full. I'm the sort of person who likes to throw open the doors and windows, but this room didn't allow me to do that given that it overlooked the "service area" of the hotel.

The room was quite basic but very clean, the bed was comfortable and the net was as good as new. It just lacked character and wasn't the kind of room that tempted me to stay in it. There was plenty of hot water but the only way you could use the shower effectively was to take the nozzle off the wall and hold it over your head. It was ok... it worked! There was only one towel and I think they could have provided two. There was an extra blanket available for use which I was grateful for because it was a cold night.

I thought my room was going to be noisy given it's proximity to other rooms and the fact that it adjoined the restaurant where breakfast was being served, but it was surprisingly quiet - for which I was also very grateful.

The lounge area is very pleasant and overlooks the small pool. Prices fairly typical of hotels in this area. Lots of big sofas and chairs, excellent free high speed wi-fi (not always available in this part of the world) and an overall pleasant atmosphere. There was a TV on over the bar, but I didn't find it offputting - the only down side was one very loud man, obviously a tour operator who had a lot of clients staying at the hotel and he clearly felt the need to make sure that everyone in the whole place heard what he had to say.

The hotel is obviously used by local tour operators as most of the clients seemed to be going on or returning from safaris or Kili climbs. It is not ideally located if you want to walk out of the hotel and go into town but as a stop off en route between one thing and another it's fine.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming - particularly the girl on reception - who knew immediately who I was and called me by name, despite the fact that the place was obviously very busy.

It is a little pricey for what it is and where it is, and for that reason I probably wouldn't stay here again - I definitely prefer the rooms at The Outpost and it's significantly cheaper (although I would say that the service is better at L'Oasis).

Room Tip: Ask for one of the boma style rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balitraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Positive things :

- Very beautifull hôtel.

- Rooms are nice With an authentic charm.

- Staff helpful And genuinely kind.

- Food really good And cheap !

- Internet Free And fast !

- Convenient location for Safari.


Négative things :

- Pool is Not heated :-D

Conclusion :

This is a charming And original little quality hôtel, With a really Nice staff. Idéal location for safaris.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 441Nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copenhagen
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We arrived at L'oasis early evening.
We were shown our room, four beds all with mosquito nets, great!
The drive out is fun, not too bad, no noise from traffic as you are fairly removed from it.
We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel, food was fine.
Great to rest you head after traveling.
Staff were friendly.
We did not use the pool as we arrived to late but it looked lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellykbhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed before and after the safari.Accomodation ok, mozzy net had holes in,staff willing but poorly trained and therefore not too good and dreadful delays in serving meals.Could and should be much better.The access to the place is dire and too far out of town to get to without a taxi.Food itself was quite good.Not good value really

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Recommend the hotel for anyone doing safari or hiking out of Arusha. Staff very helpful and it's a great place to relax before and after your safari / hike. It's a little out of the CBD but that makes for a relaxing and more secluded hotel. Pool and bar are good and you can catch up on world news easily. Wi-fi is reliable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hstimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Lima, MG
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights, one before and another after our Safari.
The first room was ok. No luxury but clean.
The second one was terrible. The shower didn't work very well, we had few and cold water. The net didn't fit the bad, and there were a lot of flies inside the room. We asked for help but staff didn't solve our problems.
Poor breakfast. Nice dinner.
Far from downtown.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.5 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 41 in Arusha
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zawadi House Lodge
Zawadi House Lodge
#7 of 111 in Arusha
119 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
2.4 mi away
Tulia Boutique Hotel & Spa
Tulia Boutique Hotel & Spa
#14 of 111 in Arusha
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel

Property: L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel
Address: PO Box 1908 | Sekei, Arusha, Tanzania (Formerly L'Oasis Lodge and Annexe)
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy place with a friendly staff. Lovely garden. Great food. Perfect before and after your safari or Kili climb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Oasis Lodge And Annexe Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing