We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our basecamp for Tanzanian adventure!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel
Ranked #19 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our basecamp for Tanzanian adventure!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

L'Oasis was our home away from home for our multi-week visit to Tanzania. We stayed here on 3 separate instances between each of our adventures. Two nights upon our arrival in Arusha, then another night after climbing Kilimanjaro, then another night after our return from Camping in the Serengeti. We, honestly, dreamt of returning to the L'Oasis pool while we were hiking Kilimanjaro.

I can't say enough about the staff. They were excellent. Victor, Rose, Eric, Ellie, you name it, absolutely everyone was attentive and pleasant. This is Africa, so the occasional power outage or other minor inconvenience is to be expected, but the staff here always made us feel welcome and taken care of. Hakuna Matata!

The rooms (huts?) we stayed in were always clean and comfortable. We stayed just before the rainy season and the temperature was perfect for sleeping. Mosquito nets were clean and in good condition, but we actually didn't need them. The showers don't have amazing water pressure, but we DID have hot water, which we came to greatly appreciate after 6 nights on Kilimanjaro in freezing rain.

Other reviews have mentioned location as not very safe outside the walled in compound. Though this may be the case, we had zero issues. The hotel is very safe and secure. We always had a driver to take us anywhere we wanted to go (10,000tsh each way). There was a decent amount of neighborhood noise during our stay (construction, loudspeaker shouting, school children playing), but then again, we weren't looking to be completely isolated from the Africa we were visiting, so we didn't mind. Never a problem for sleep, though.

All in all, I would (and will) happily stay here again next time I get the opportunity to visit Arusha.

Room Tip: If you want WiFi, pick room 19. It is close enough to the lobby to get WiFi without having to leave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josef N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    103
    51
    16
    3
See reviews for
36
85
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Hotel L'Oasis is located in a local village-like part of Arusha, and one can get an impression of local life just outside of the hotel. STill it is within walking distance to central town. The Hotel garden is lush, green, quiet, and the rooms very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vibeke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

From the moment we arrived until we left the staff were very courteous and helpful. The rooms are simple but very comfortable. They say there is no wifi in the rooms but on both occasions we were in rooms close enough to the main reception and we streamed video's on you tube without any problem. (room 17 and 19) Room cleaning service was offered every day and the breakfast was great each morning. My only complaint and this won't affect many is that the menu is limited for lunch and dinner. We stayed a total of 9 days (before and after a safari) and the menu was not enough. The hotel dog is super friendly. Taxi from Arusha airport is $20 U.S. Sleep quality is good except for the roosters and dogs barking and crowing in the morning, but hey it's in a country setting. It's located at the top of a dirt road which can be quite messy when it rains.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the reception for WIFI access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel before and after our safari and Kili climb and we were really happy with it. Nice, big rooms with private bathroom, a lovely pool and a good restaurant (go for the Indian food!). The free wifi was quite fast but didn't work in the rooms. Only one complaint - the hot water wasn't turned on when we checked in following our Kili climb - all we wanted was a hot shower but after asking numerous times it still didn't happen until much later that night. It's not a cheap place to stay but it was all included in our safari/climb so hard to judge independently. Free breakfast was really good and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

the rooms are in Little Bungalows and do look very friendly. they have a small pool, which is quite fresh and it was very Relaxing to stay at the pool after our trip:)
we stayed 2 nights before and one night after our safari there.breakfast was good and also dinner. if you plan to stay longer the variety of dinner dishes could become boring, even thaught it was always very delicous.

the stuff are friendly and helpful.

it is located in the middle of a living area, the street there is very rough and washed out from the rain. in the first place it doesnt seem as it leads to such a nice Hotel.

i definitly can recommend l'oasis lodge!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank it_is_PASSiON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a few times over my 4 month stay in Tanzania- such A relaxing lodge and the staff are so attentive.
I couldn't stay here more than a few days as it is very isolated and small however it's a nice stay if you're looking for a place to crash and it's got a lovely pool too!
Breakfast is everything you need and it's a great price- even as a last minute booking!
It was genuinely paradise to us as we had been camping out in the bush for 4 months!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim2492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed here on the 1st night on our way to a camping/walking safari. We felt at home immediatlely and had a lovely overnight stay. After 10 days we returned for 3 nights rest before climbing mt Meru and had a wonderful, comfortable relaxing time. The location of the pool is well positioned and the pool beds are comfortable, food is very nice and plentyful, we were given one of the stilted rooms for the 3 nights which was slightly larger than the rondaval and had a balcony with comfy chairs to sip G&Ts and watch the world go by, lovely!! The overriding factor of our stay was most definately the staff, freindly, helpful, nothing is a problem, and happy. A special thanks to Elly, Hilda, George, and the two reception girls who really made the difference . A really authentic lodge built in local materials with a lovely relaxed freindly feel, After we climbed Meru we had already booked a much more expensive hotel in Arusha for our final 3 nights before returning home and all the good things about the L,oasis were missing (dont always get what you pay for ?) should have stayed back at the L,Oasis. We booked our whole trip with Basecampsite ltd who booked us in cheaper than other web sites !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigs69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.5 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 41 in Arusha
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zawadi House Lodge
Zawadi House Lodge
#7 of 111 in Arusha
119 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
2.4 mi away
Tulia Boutique Hotel & Spa
Tulia Boutique Hotel & Spa
#14 of 111 in Arusha
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel

Property: L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel
Address: PO Box 1908 | Sekei, Arusha, Tanzania (Formerly L'Oasis Lodge and Annexe)
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy place with a friendly staff. Lovely garden. Great food. Perfect before and after your safari or Kili climb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Oasis Lodge And Annexe Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing