We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$230
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
112
171
109
35
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
171
109
35
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn waynehistoric hotelmiddle of townclock towergreat roomcomfortable hotelwonderful hotelfirst nightswimming poolgrounds are lovelymosquito nettingcouple of nightsan oasisindian foodsafari triphatariafrica
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This hotel is a bit like an upmarket Fawlty Towers in our experience - something was always wrong. The staff in their defence were generally very apologetic and swiftly tried to rectify the problems. We stayed twice, pre and post Safari, which was part of our honeymoon in Africa. It was not a cheap hotel to stay at - >$300AUD/night. Pre-safari we had one night. We soon found the air-con wasn't working so alerted staff. They came and looked at it and tried again, no aircon so we were moved and upgraded to a premium suite room was much nicer, but after a few hours it was clear the aircon wasn't working here also, meaning a poor night's sleep before setting off on safari. Maintenance were called to the new room and from the two visits it was clear didn't know how the aircon worked at all. We were told by the manager David that work was being conducted on the aircon and that it would be rectified before our 2 night visit a week later. Arriving a week later, we were put in another room with no working aircon, after specifically telling check-in staff that they needed to check this and that we wouldn't unpack until happy it was working. Maintenance again checked and we were moved to a better room where hurrah, aircon was working. David, did this quickly and efficiently and checked regularly to ensure we were happy. However, the wireless internet connection was down basically the entire stay, which was a real inconvenience after a week in the bush. The food was buffet throughout the stay and it was quite clear, was being recycled from lunch to dinner each time and was quite basic for the equivalent of approx USD$25/head. Food was less than fresh also, especially some of the desserts which we pointed out to a member of staff who just smiled, obviously not understanding what he was told. We read in the hotel guide we could borrow DVD's to watch but when we enquired staff laughed and presented us with about 3 copies of old films, so really they didn't have a DVD library. Overall the hotel is asthetically good, the furnishings and fittings are nice in general however the bathrooms are a bit run-down. It is a big hotel and centrally located in Arusha in an ideal location for setting off on safari. It had an OK gym. However when you are paying what we were you expect things to work and the food to be fresh or a la carte which was not the case. In our opinion, not good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Miles D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on trip advisor and for reviewing The Arusha Hotel.

I am sorry that you did not find the hotel valve for money, we are always striving to improve the guest experience and customer care and it is through comments like yours that these areas are brought to our attention.

With reference to the air conditioning units, we have experienced some difficulties in this area but these have now been addressed. I am sorry that it appears that the brunt of these problems occurred during your time with us.

Through the early to middle part of the month we have had significant problems with all of our internet systems, these have been beyond our control but are now rectified and we once again have full wireless internet service throughout all of the facilities offered here at The Arusha Hotel. This was throughout Arusha and the surrounding area, not limited to our Hotel.

Your concerns regarding the food have been noted, we have recently employed an executive chef and these areas are being dealt with. A la Carte dining is offered during all evening services and you should have been offered this service, this has been addressed with relevant staff. The DVD library will also be reviewed.

Once again on behalf of myself and all of the team here thank you for your valued comments. Should you wish to contact me directly to discuss any of these areas please do not hesitate.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Humble

Marketing Manager,

marketing@thearushahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I have come to this hotel off and on for numerous occasions for the last seven years. the New Arusha Hotel aka the Arusha Hotel has beautiful grounds and scenery along with fascinating history that they hardly mention and is conveniently located as well as safe. The hotel also has a pool and a gym. Unfortunately, the beds are horrid and uncomfortable. The restaurant staff tries to play fast and loose with the prices so check before you order and look at the menu. The food choices have gone way down hill and are limited. They used to serve spectacular breakfasts with bacon and omelets and the works as well as great stir frys, no more. Everything is a buffet now with typical African fare and is bland. Also, the free internet hardly works and hasn't for the last five times, I have been here. The air conditioners rarely work. The technical ability of the staff is practically nonexistent and even their tanzanite it seems is sent off to other countries and imported again. Sadly, this hotel's time has come and gone again. I would go elsewhere until they are born as the New Arusha Hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Cynthia

Thank you for your frank review of our hotel and for highlighting the shortcomings that you have experienced. The issues that you have encountered on your recent stays are certainly not the norm at The Arusha Hotel and are by no means acceptable as we are always striving to deliver the highest level of comfort and customer care.

I would really appreciate it if you could let me know as to which room you last stayed in and assist us by giving more detail on your issue with our beds. Our beds are Sealy Posturepedic and are one of the best beds available on the market - see their website www.sealy.com .

We have had some technical shortcomings of late with our air-conditioners and internet. These issues have been addressed and resolved.

I would appreciate it if you would contact me directly so that I may have the opportunity to address all the other issues you have raised and to share with you exciting plans we have for the hotel in the near future.

Cynthia, please accept our sincere apologies for the obviously less than satisfactory stays you have experienced of late. I look forward to being able to discuss this further with you and to possibly host you again at The Arusha Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

John Cowan
General Manager
gm@thearushahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I understand that no place can be as perfect as a home but this is a home away from home. I stay there alot and have a great rapport with the staff who always remember me and are so polite and accommodating. You want to go somewhere where when there is a problem they will at least fix it for you to the best they can and this team sure does.... The surroundings are great with the garden area etc but the team is what makes it so welcoming.

Room Tip: book executive rooms they are really fab -
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pooja76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The hotel and facilities are very nice. A number of minor problems added up to more aggravation than you would expect....even in Africa. The first three nights, the air conditioner didn't function properly and the staff didn't know how to operate the controls....I finally figured it our myself. We couldn't seem to get washcloths in our room. Every day, room service would bring new towels, but no washcloths. We had to ask every day. The staff was very courteous, but sometimes, just not able to really help.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmaxIrmo_SC_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear tmaxIrmo,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Arusha Hotel following your business stay with us in January. We did experience some problems with the air conditioning units at the start of the year, these are resolved but I must apologize for the inconvenience and frustration you experienced.

I am following up on the issue regarding the face clothes and thank you bringing this to our attention.

If I can be of any further assistance regarding either of these matters or anything further please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Humble
Marketing Manager
marketing@thearushahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Ordinary hotel. Good breakfast. Helpfull staff that helped me look up my father in thiere ledger from the 30's. A bit to expensive we whould say. The wireless did not function when we were there and the girl in the reception did't care less. We hade som problems becouse of that. We whould not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews