We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Arusha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Arusha Hotel
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel Nov 1-2, 2012. After a long flight we were met with hot towels to wipe away some of the grime of traveling and cold juice. Everyone was extremely friendly and polite.
The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The only thing that might be a problem to some is climbing into the bathtub for a shower. I t is a quite high step and if you have a knee problem it could be difficult. Perhaps they have rooms that are handicapped accessible. Bottled water was available in the room. After a good nights sleep we took a walk around the grounds. We met a groundskeeper and he was very proud to show us around and point out the different trees, flowers and shrubs.
The hotel is located in the heart of Arusha. We were driven around town by our guide and went to a few shops and the bank but were advised not to walk around town by ourselves. The hotel grounds are fenced and there are gates that are opened to let cars drive in. I felt very safe at the hotel.
The buffet food was very good. The breakfast buffet had the typical breakfast food....eggs, meat, cereal, breads, fruit, etc. Dinner also had a variety of choices and was very tasty.
We also stayed in a day room at the hotel on our last day before our evening flight out. It was very comfortable with a balcony that overlooked the grounds. A very nice place to rest and relax before flying home. I would stay here again if I were to go back to Arusha.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rorygirl4528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Rorygirl,
Firstly welcome back home and thank you for the review. With regards to potential difficulties in stepping in and out of the full size bath in order to take a shower, I can appreciate what you are saying. All the rooms in the Arusha Hotel contain a full size bath. We don't currently have any disabled access rooms in this colonial style hotel. However, all of our executive deluxe rooms do have a separate shower and bath tub - so booking one of those rooms may be the best option for those customers who are perhaps not as agile. These rooms are available at a small surcharge.
Am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the gardens and I hope you had a pleasant flight home.
Warm regards
Nick Ladd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    142
    97
    31
    6
See reviews for
67
107
33
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Coming back to this famous hotel after 16 years I find so many improvements but with some of the lovely traditional parts still preserved. Walk through the gardens at sunset. Bathe in the pool as leaves gently drift down. There was clanging all night but so many good points - the Indian buffet, the splendid breakfasts, excellent service. OK there are faults but this is a hotel that must be experienced, smack in the centre of Arusha and thus of East Africa.

Room Tip: Go for 501 through 510...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RovingMike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Roving Mike,
Firstly welcome back to the Arusha Hotel. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the ambience of the hotel on your most recent stay. The rains have just started here, so the gardens are now quite a bit greener than they were during your visit I'd imagine!
The Saturday night showcase Indian Dhaba dinner is relatively new and I am glad to hear that you had the opportunity to try it during your stay.
Let's hope it's not another 16 years before your next return visit.
There are lots of improvements underway, so keep an eye out on the website for all the latest news!
Regards
Nick Ladd
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

I've been at the Arusha Hotel in september, 2012, for 3 nights; honestly it is not bad;
the rooms was quite clean and well cared, alway refurbished by tea & coffe; in the main building the rooms are nice, with a bit little bathroom.
The restaurant offer a regular service, and good quality and choice (for european taste)

Absolutely good the reception service, alway quicly supportive for any request.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxsalut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for your kind comments.
The team here at the Arusha Hotel are dedicated to giving the highest possible levels of service. If you look out for our website in the coming weeks, you'll be able to meet 'Our People' as we introduce both the front of house and the behind the scenes staff of the hotel to you as a feature on the website. It's coming soon!
Any individual feedback relating to particular members of the team is always referred back to the individual concerned - it means a lot to them. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Our impressions of the stay:

The pool was dirty, and the little pool to the side was worse. While we were there, someone pulled out a joint to smoke - not particularly hidden from the rest of the people who were there. They were stopped, but not by a hotel employee. The corridors were smelly, the rooms we were given were small, the air conditioning didn't work particularly well, the bathroom was small as well, but there was an iPod docking station in the room! Surely it would be better to get the basics working properly first! We asked for some toilet roll, which we never received.

The only positive points were the food and the drink: there was an Indian buffet on the night we stayed, and the food was excellent. Great variety, excellent flavours, good waiting staff and a very helpful chef. Before dinner, we'd had drinks at the bar, and I was served a perfect martini (apart from the glace cherry instead of an olive, but hey, I can forgive that!). All the drinks we ordered, including the wine, were very good.

This property has a really unloved, uncared for feel about it. The hotel has been around for many years, and has a lot of interesting history. It's very sad to see the shambles it has become.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsFancy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Ms Fancy,
In a sense I have to agree that our pool area does need smartening up. It's currently on our list of works and there is a renovation plan which is being finalized. The pool remains one of the largest in Arusha - and we agree, it does need to be brought back to its full glory. As far as undesirables are concerned - nothing infuriates me more than hearing of that type of behavior. We've spoken with our staff to make sure they understand that people smoking dope or similar are to be ejected. This is the first time I have heard of this - and I am confident it will be the last.
Sorry to hear that the corridors were stuffy and below par - we will take steps to freshen them up.
On the plus side I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our now famous 'Indian Night' dinner as well as drinks. As for the future, we are positioning the hotel as a hotel for the arts - featuring more live music, recitals in the gardens, original artworks, an artist in residence program and our new sculpture garden opens on October 25th. I hope we can persuade you to return - to experience some the exciting changes which are now afoot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenya
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

The room size is not too bad if you stay in the original building but the noise from the road can be too much for a light sleeper. I believe the rooms in the new wig are much quieter but they are also very small indeed. The bed and linen was nice enough for a decents night sleep.

What is not so good...

The wifi is US$20 per 24 hours which is a little sleep seeing as a majority of clinst are one nighters only!

Not one TV channel worked, I managed to get snow storms constantly. Did not complain at the time as I was in for one night and arrived into the room well after dinner and left just after breakfast. There was also no back to the battery compartment of the remote.

Most irritating is that the air conditioing is set on the wall of the bathroom and aimed directly on the pillows. There was no remote control (the remote control holder is attached close to the headboard but is empty) even a though search of the room yielded nothing. There i sno control panel on the wall either. I ended up turning the machine off from the machine itself, even though it required a chair to do it. Thankfully not too hot, would have been a different story if it was January to March which is the hot season in arusha.

In all honesty stay at the Mount Meru, higher price bracket but much better in every way.

Room Tip: Stay at the Mount Meru!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chui101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for the points your raised in your feedback.
All guests of the Arusha Hotel receive free internet. When you are given a code to access the internet, the voucher has $20 written on it - as this is the price which is charged to non-residents. I am sorry that you were charged for the voucher as all hotel resident guests receive internet access free of charge. Without delving into circumstances, I can only surmise that our staff may have misunderstood. I want to rectify this. If you can email us directly with your booking information, I will ensure that you receive a refund for it in full.

Our 14 channel TV system is operated by Multi-choice DS TV. During your stay, Multichoice relaunched all their channels which lead to a disrupted service for commercial users such as the Arusha Hotel - which affected our decoders. This has all now been rectified and I apologize for the disruption during your stay and that you weren't made aware of the situation at the time.
I am sorry that these events affected your enjoyment of the hotel. If you care to contact us directly, I will be happy to make sure that you receive special VIP treatment on your next stay with us.
Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
272 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We arived in the evening in this hotel and we slept there for one night. It is good for one night but I would not like to stay there for a longer time. It looks very good but when you take a better look it is not that good at all.

Room Tip: Be sure you are on the side from the hotel where is no street. In front of the hotel is a very buisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for your comments.
While am glad you enjoyed your night with us I was sad to read that you wouldn't necessarily stay longer with us - and I note your comment about being able to hear sounds from the street. This is only the case for street facing rooms in the main wing of the hotel. Set within the tropical gardens - is an executive wing, where all the rooms look out onto the tranquil landscaped grounds. Those executive deluxe rooms can be reserved for a small premium and you can be assured of hearing little more than bird-song if staying there.
In terms of staying longer, we have a range of various art events being showcased at the hotel on on ongoing basis - along with a new sculpture garden which will be in place by the end of October 2012. If you do return to Arusha, we'd love to welcome you back and show you some the new developments!
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Beautiful pool, beautiful rooms, beautiful Roses that take your breath away, Breakfast was lovely in the verandah - this hotel has a feel good factor and is very relaxing, there is some magic to it. I have previously had lunch here 4 years ago. Live cooking at breakfast with a superb chef making, fresh crepes, hot chapatis, and eggs. Maybe i can suggest is the housekeeper takes a little more care and spot checks a few things in the room, nothing majorly wrong, but thats just me as I was once a housekeeper...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mauyako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear Mauyako,
Glad to hear you had a pleasant stay and thanks for your suggestion to keep an extra eye on the details at housekeeping. Noted! I hope you also managed to say hello to our resident cat 'Petal' - named after the abundant roses that are to be found throughout the botel and in Arusha itself! She now has her own facebook page - Hotel Cat.
Wishing you a pleasant weekend. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.5 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.7 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arusha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arusha Hotel

Property: The Arusha Hotel
Address: Clocktower Roundabout | Corner of Uhuru Road, Arusha 00, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Arusha
#6 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arusha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic hotel in the heart of Arusha boasting 86 elegant and sophisticated rooms. Facilities include restaurant, bar, lounge, gardens, gym, swimming pool, wireless internet throughout hotel, 24 hour room service, conferencing and business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Arusha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing