We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“State of decline”
Review of The Arusha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Arusha Hotel
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“State of decline”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We have been to Arusha for the last 10 years and most of the time we stayed at Arusha hotel for a couple of nights. This hotel has a lot of history and a good location in the middle of Arusha city. We liked very much the laid back atmosphere and the nice style of the hotel which has a nice garden. So far the good news. But in recent years this hotel is experiencing a steady but visible decline. Rooms are meanwhile outdated - bathrooms are run down and in urgent need of rehabilation - not only in the standard rooms but also in the so-called deluxe room which have modern fittings but most of them don't really work. Curtains throughout the hotel are not properly fixed and in a number of rooms in which we and our guests stayed in February 2013 the air condition was either not working or made a lot of noise. The reception area is a mess with large groups arriving and little to no attention to individual travelors. We had asked for quite rooms in the garden wing but most of the rooms were blocked for travel groups. Quality of the restaurant is meanwhile truly mediocre and now for more than 4 years it is not possible to obtain a truly cold beer from the bar. The pool is located in a very nice garden but needs urgent rehabilation which has been the case for more than 4 years. Overall, we are truly disappointed that one of the nice history hotels in Africa is so poorly managed and run down. Next time we will choose another hotel. Pole sana...

Room Tip: Never take a room that faces the main road - simply too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Friederike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, General Manager at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Friederike

Thank you for your candid comments. We are continually striving to improve on our guest experience and feedback such as yours greatly assists us in gauging the success of our efforts. It is evident that we fell way short of your expectations on this occasion and I would really appreciate a personal email with further detail on the problems that you experienced so that I can address and rectify the issues.

For your information we are planning a substantial renovation of our standard rooms later in the year, which will include a modernization of the bathrooms and double-glazing of the windows on the road facing rooms.

I look forward to discussing this further with you.

Yours sincerely

John Cowan
General Manager
gm@thearushahotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    145
    99
    31
    6
See reviews for
67
108
33
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night, on our way to Lake Manyara. The check in was quick. The room was clean, with a mosquito net. The air conditioner unit cooled the room nicely. Bath room had only one hand towel and one bar of soap. The water to the toilet tank kept on flowing. It took a lot of jiggling the handle to make it stop.
We ate the buffet breakfast, which was sumptuous. There was an omelette station to make omelettes to order.
Wi-fi was pretty weak. I had to try several places in the lobby to get a reasonable signal. I had no signal at all in the room.
All in an OK place to stay.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curiousrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Curious Rover !
Thank you for your feedback on your stay. Am very happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and the rest of your stay. We have some exciting news with regards to Wifi. This week we signed an agreement with Raha which enables us to now offer guests access to the highest speed internet of all the hotels in Arusha. Next time you visit - you will be able to enjoy surfing the net at super fast speeds!
With warmest regards from the staff at The Arusha Hotel
Nick Ladd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed in The Arusha Hotel for one night in December 2012 prior to the start of a safari. I'm sure that this hotel was of an excellent standard in years gone by, however it is now outdated and in need of modernisation and/or refurbishment. The pictures of a bedroom in the hotel website gallery bore little resemblance to the room we were given. The bathroom was small and also in need of refurbishment. I concur with the other reviewers who have commented on the noise outside the hotel. It is very centrally located, but consequently is in a busy and noisy location - so if your room is on the road side of the building, unless you are a very sound sleeper, don't expect to get a good nights sleep.Breakfast was adequate but lacked the variety that is almost commonplace at most city hotels these days. Certainly the worst of the 5 hotels we stayed in during our trip to Tanzania.

Room Tip: If you need your sleep - try to avoid a room overlooking the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Brian,
Thank you for leaving your review. You are quite right - in that we certainly aren't the newest hotel. In fact the hotel dates back to 1894 and is one of East Africa's oldest hotels - steeped in history. We have two distinct categories of rooms. We have superior rooms in the main wing - which have a traditional look and feel. Some are road-facing - others garden facing. We also have modern, contemporary rooms in the new wing - known as Executive Deluxe rooms which are available for a small surcharge. The room photos on the website are labelled according to the category and there is a selection of photos of both rooms. Where possible we will always accommodate guests specific accommodation requests - particularly if seeking a quiet, garden facing room. Am sorry if on this occasion we were unable to offer you a garden facing room.
I hope you had a wonderful trip in Tanzania.
Warm regards
Nick Ladd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We spent out honeymoon travelling across Tanzania in Jan/Feb 2012.
During that time we had two stops at Arusha and stayed at the Arusha Hotel on one of them

It's a perfect place to relax in style before heading up to Mt.Kilimanjaro or Arusha National Park. Rooms vary in size, but ours was spacious and clean. Nice decoration and access to the garden.

Only down side were the vendors right outside the hotel. The busiest local circuit to sell safaris is right on the other side of the clock square where the hotel is located. This made it a hassle to buy water and snacks from the opposing supermarket.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikkoOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Mikko,
I hope you have a fantastic honeymoon in Tanzania. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. The three acres of gardens here are a wonderful oasis in the heart of the busy city. Local vendors can certainly be quite pushy. There are some nearby shopping areas where you can avoid being harangued. We often suggest to guests to take a taxi to Njiro Shopping Complex which has a good supermarket, cinema and some other small stores. It is a short 10 minute drive from the hotel.
With our very warmest wishes from all of us at The Arusha Hotel,
Nick Ladd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

i stayed here for 2 nights in November 2012.
Food was great especially breakfast. I was working through lunch but the room service was efficient and the fried paneer off the menu hit the spot.

My room was always great the housekeeping kept it clean and fresh.

Staff were friendly and helpfull. Great Location as well, bang in the heart of town. I would recommend this to all business travellers.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron2685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Aaron,
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel location is also less than 10 minutes walk from the Arusha International Conference Center - so if you are ever back in Arusha attending conferences there, you'll find it easy to reach from here.

Thank you for leaving your feedback.
Warm regards
Nick Ladd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I've stayed 5 nights at this hotel. The staff was really nice and helpful.
I would add a long mirror in the rooms ( mine didn't have one and the maid told me it was that kind of room) it is the part of the hotel that was renovated, so excellent, but no long mirror :(
The staff at the restaurant is great but the food is really not so good. Except breakfast are ok.
The location is excellent.
You also feel you are in a centre of everything. It is busy in the lobby and it gives a nice atmosphere.
I felt very good there!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spinelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear Spinelle,
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Executive Deluxe rooms are proving very popular indeed and I'm glad you enjoyed your room. A good suggestions with regards to full length mirrors - will certainly note that suggestion for future upgrades and room refreshes which are undertaken from time to time.
I am glad you liked the breakfast but of course we can always do better and feedback such as yours will drive us on to do just that .
Come and visit us again some time - and if you have time - drop by for a hello and a coffee on the terrace.
warm regards
Nick Ladd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This january i stayed at the Arusha hotel with two canadian friends awaiting our safari start,this is an amazing holiday hotel to relax while on vacation,the restaurant is wonderful and offers delicious meals,rooms are spacious and clean,service is friendly and fast,awesome gardens too.will be visiting soon.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oltsafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Oltsafaris,
I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your brief stay. The recent rain has really made the gardens look quite lush - and kept the gardeners very busy and I am glad you liked the terrace restaurant. Recently some guests spotted a tiny Chameleon in the branches of the tree overhanging the terrace - which delighted everyone!
I hope you had a wonderful safari and really enjoyed your holiday. I hope you will come back and visit The Arusha Hotel again on a future trip. You will be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
550 reviews
0.5 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
915 reviews
0.7 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 41 in Arusha
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 41 in Arusha
253 reviews
11.7 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
420 reviews
3.7 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arusha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arusha Hotel

Property: The Arusha Hotel
Address: Clocktower Roundabout | Corner of Uhuru Road, Arusha 00, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arusha
#6 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arusha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic hotel in the heart of Arusha boasting 86 elegant and sophisticated rooms. Facilities include restaurant, bar, lounge, gardens, gym, swimming pool, wireless internet throughout hotel, 24 hour room service, conferencing and business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Arusha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing