We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“British old style”
Review of The Arusha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Arusha Hotel
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
163 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“British old style”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here two nights on our way to and from our safari. The hotel is in a nice old building and has a big beatiful garden With a pool. The dining room is quite small but functional, food and service are ok.
Our first room was towards The garden so it was quite, it was a nice and large room, good comfort in The bed. It was disturbing with easy to overhear everything from The corridor.
The second night our room was towards The street, very noisy, we closed The window and turned on the AC but it stopped in The night because of overheating - to much dust in the filter,
So we had to chose the open window... Not so nice. Then there is very noisy in the corridor, loud music, this we learnt was background music outside The elevator! It took us one your and 4 calls to The reception before it stopped.

Room Tip: Chose a room towards The garden, it is more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SwedenMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    143
    99
    31
    6
See reviews for
67
108
33
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Arusha Hotel for 2 nights, on our way too and from our safari. The hotel is very beautiful and have recently added a new section with more modern rooms. Our 1st visit we stayed was in the original part of the hotel. We would recommend staying in the original part of the hotel, the newer rooms are more modern but the drain in the shower wouldn't drain so there was water flooding all over the bathroom floor and into our room. Other than that the food was not bad. Not somewhere I would want to stay for a long period of time but for a couple nights it was good.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the original hotel, better quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IdiotsAbroad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

The Arusha Hotel is most famous for John Wayne staying there when he made the movie Atari.It has the old colonial, wood features with large chairs, fireplaces etc.
It is well situated in town, as the Clocktower indicating the centre of Africa was right outside the door in the middle of the round about. Hotel staff are extremely pleasant and professional. The pool ( al little dated) and fitness room are nice features.
Breakfast on the outside balcony was lovely, dinner was excellent. There are many small restaurants in and around the hotel. Markets are nearby but one has to be prepared to fight off the salespeople as you try to navigate the streets. The Hotel itself has several gift shops, coffee shops and a high end jewellery store right in the Lodge.
The gardens andpaths are lovely for walking.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel is on a noisy street that is very busy early in the morning, so requesting an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This beautiful hotel has been in business for over 100 years and seems to only be getting better. The staff were superb. The restaurant and bar are very clean and relaxing with a view of the well manicured grounds. There is even a garden where they grow fresh herbs and vegetables for their restaurant. The groundskeeper will be happy to walk you about and inform you on everything that grows on their property. I almost gave this review 4 stars, as the room that I stayed in on one of my stays here needed minor repairs. This room was in the building adjacent to the main building. The room that I stayed in on my subsequent visit was in the main building and was excellent. In the USA this can cost you a star. In Africa, if this is the worst that you can say, you are extremely lucky. Most hotel rooms in Africa have furnishings that are sub-par by American standards. Not so here. Excellent quality and detail from the marble tiled bath to the bedside iPod dock. A fun note is the bar here is where John Wayne spent many evenings relaxing and drinking during the filming of Hatari. There are photos on the wall. Note: I selected April 2012 as my travel date as that is as far back as the site would let me enter. I actually stayed twice, once in January 2012 and once in February 2012. I have only just joined Tripadvisor and I decided to review this earlier visit.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This was easily the best value place we stayed on a three week trip to Tanzania. We had a suite room which had a large living area that faced the noisier road side and a bedroom facing the quieter garden side. A four poster bed with mosquito net was nice and comfy. All very clean.
Wifi in the room worked most of the time. The buffet breakfast was pretty good. The gardens were lush and the large pool and lounger area were much appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoolit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, General Manager at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Hoolit

Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased that you found The Arusha Hotel to be of good value – we certainly pride ourselves as offering value for money and being able to deliver superior services in our small property steeped in the history of East Africa, situated as you mentioned in lush gardens that many of our guests regard as an 'oasis of calm' in the bustling city that Arusha has become.

I hope that you have opportunity to visit us again in the not too distant future and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

John Cowan
General Manager
gm@thearushahotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed at The Arusha after our climb to Kilimanjaro. We were two weary travelers after finishing out our climb who desperately needed hot showers, a good dinner and a soft bed. The Arusha Hotel delivered on all fronts. The check in staff were helpful in getting us settled. We needed a quick turn around on laundry as we were heading out on safari the next day. The hotel was able to accommodate our request and we had clean laundry back in a few hours. My only wish is we had an additional day or two to really relax and enjoy the facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Equinox03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear Equinox,
Firstly congratulations on your Kilimanjaro climb. I confess I haven't yet done it yet, but hopefully soon! I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to look after you on your brief visit as you passed through Arusha. Our staff take great pride in assisting in whatever way they can and am pleased to hear that you were well looked after.
Come and visit again soon - there's so much to see in Tanzania. Karibu !
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Very nice hotel in the centre of Arusha. Nice and spacious rooms, great breakfast. Friendly and helpfull staff, willing to go the extra mile for you. Great location and excellent startpoint for a safari into the Serengeti.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AniqueJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear Anique,
Welcome home. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that your safari was equally wonderful. The staff here work hard to make sure that all our guests are as well looked after as possible and they are always delighted when I pass on comments from customers such as yourself. Thank you.
Warm regards,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.5 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
3.7 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arusha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arusha Hotel

Property: The Arusha Hotel
Address: Clocktower Roundabout | Corner of Uhuru Road, Arusha 00, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arusha
#6 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arusha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic hotel in the heart of Arusha boasting 86 elegant and sophisticated rooms. Facilities include restaurant, bar, lounge, gardens, gym, swimming pool, wireless internet throughout hotel, 24 hour room service, conferencing and business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Arusha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing