We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Arusha and Kilimanjaro Regions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The Arusha Hotel is the best and safest hotel in the region. The hotel is completely fenced (which is exceptionally important in this area) and the grounds are spectacular. They even have an excellent work out room and adequate pool. The hotel restaurant is incredible and very westernized. I really enjoyed it over the seven days I stayed at the hotel. The Arusha Hotel is also a convenient jump off location for almost everything in this part of Tanzania and if you need a ride from the airport, the hotel has the staff to do it. They'll also help you get other places. You don't really want to drive if you don't have to so don't hesistate to employ their drives. the one negative about the hotel is that if you leave the property you'll instantly be swarmed by people hanging around the front gate wanting to sell you something. They don't take no for an answer so be prepared. I asked one of the hotel staff to walk with me half a block to exchange some money and they were willing to help (give them a small tip). The rooms at the hotel can be pricey but you should never accept the first rate they give you on the phone. Speak to the booking specialist for a better rate. It is, however, worth your money to pay extra for one of the executive rooms on the back side (newly built) of the hotel. The rooms are excellent. ie. the beds are very comfortable, you have excellent netting around the bed, you have air conditioning, and you absolutely have nothing to worry about. Contact me if you have more questions about staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dr T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

I try to review a hotel based upon how it meets my expectations. Based upon a rate of US$270/night for an Executive Deluxe room and self-proclamation that it is one of the “Top Hotels” and only “5 Star Hotel” in Arusha, the Arusha Hotel does not meet expectations – not even remotely!!
On a positive note, the grounds are quite nice, the breakfast is above average (but unmemorable), and the central location next to the Clock Tower is within walking distance to a great Japanese/Sushi restaurant named Sazan (see that review in the restaurant section). However, those are the few highlights. The hallway to our room smelled of mildew, and the room itself was in need of some major “TLC”. The mosquito net around the bed was filled with holes making it ineffective and unsightly. The sheets no longer fit the bed and thus, the top of the mattress was bare. The door to our balcony did not lock, and the shower door did not close requiring us to hold it so water did not spill out during the shower. Also, the shower did not drain at all, leaving standing water for a good 5 minutes after finishing a shower. Most shockingly, however, was that this “5 Star Hotel” provided only 1 bottle of water for 2 guests - despite the explicit warning that the tap water was not even safe enough to use for brushing your teeth. Lastly, the service. The service was unremarkable except for one experience. I asked the front desk attendant for the name of a store where I could purchase a hat for my upcoming safari and he said he would get back to me. An hour later, he led me to the front of the hotel where a very aggressive street vendor tried to sell me a hat for $20 dollars that I swear could be found in a dollar store back in the U.S. Not the kind of recommendation I was looking for but not surprising given the rest of our experience at the Arusha Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeSantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This hotel has been operating for a long time and the history is palpable. Despite being in the middle of the town it overlooks verdant gardens with the river flowing by albeit out of site.
Our room was part of the more recent renovation and was extremely comfortable with views over the garden. It was delicious to relax in a large bath after the drive and think about a decent meal.
And a decent meal it was too on the balcony. Arusha has access to good beef (possibly from Kenya) and I thoroughly enjoyed my steak with a glass of red wine that despite being one of Souuth Africa's less noble varieties went down well.
This is a place where many tours to NgoroNoro and the Serengeti start and finish but it is also a place where Tanzania's business and farming communities stay.
The Mount Meru is much smarter but the Arusha Hotel has its history and charm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new garden wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

It is one the oldest hotels in Arusha. It has been very well maintained after being privatised. The staff are very proffesional and warm.

Very ideal location in the centre of the town the rooms are confortable and well kept and so are the gardens. I would definetly go back. There is free internet too. Swimming pool and other facilities available too.

Room Tip: A garden or pool view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnujJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of our safari. The rooms are rather tired but the garden was beautiful and interesting. We saw avocados growing. The food was very good in fact my husband said his fish meal was one of the best he had had in Africa. The staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

but I stayed there for business for several weeks, and never felt the wish to move out. Everything one can wish for was there. In detail, the staff is professional and friendly. The rooms are clean and well equipped. Free internet in the rooms worked find with the exception of a hickup of about a week....but then there was good and fast access in the lobby and cafe. The food is good and unexpensive...a good buffet lunch is between 6 and 9 Euros plus drinks. There are no noisy parties that keep you up all night (something common in African hotels esp. on the weekends). There are rooms that are coser to the generator (which is often in use) that one should avoid. The garden with pool is nice but water is a bit fresh during the rainy season. There is a free gym with competent staff.

The place is at the heart of Arusha, in walking distance to shopping and most international organisations and the conference centre. Try to avoid walking alone at night (esp. on Moshi Bridge). Otherwise enjoy the town. The Tanzanians are far from being a hussle like the people in Gambia or Senegal, who roam the neighbourhoods of hotels. If you tell a Tanzanian to leave you alone he will go. However, I had some nice conversations once i found out that most people there are genuinly friendly. Expect authorities to be correct.

I can't imagine that it is necessary to pay a higher price for a good sercive than what they charge at Arusha Hotel...and there are much more expensive places there.

I wasn't there for holidays, and the Safari companies in Arusha are Very expensive, but I could not resist visiting Ngogongoro park. Do it, but do a google search for the monastry of the Benedictine Nuns of Karatu. Its cheaper, better, and more exciting than the "over the clouds" tourist traps.

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olaf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here two nights on our way to and from our safari. The hotel is in a nice old building and has a big beatiful garden With a pool. The dining room is quite small but functional, food and service are ok.
Our first room was towards The garden so it was quite, it was a nice and large room, good comfort in The bed. It was disturbing with easy to overhear everything from The corridor.
The second night our room was towards The street, very noisy, we closed The window and turned on the AC but it stopped in The night because of overheating - to much dust in the filter,
So we had to chose the open window... Not so nice. Then there is very noisy in the corridor, loud music, this we learnt was background music outside The elevator! It took us one your and 4 calls to The reception before it stopped.

Room Tip: Chose a room towards The garden, it is more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SwedenMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
464 reviews
0.7 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
94 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#10 of 42 in Arusha
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel

Address: Fire Road, Clocktower Roundabout | Corner of Uhuru Road, Arusha 00, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arusha
#6 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: £122 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic hotel in the heart of Arusha boasting 86 elegant and sophisticated rooms. Facilities include restaurant, bar, lounge, gardens, gym, swimming pool, wireless internet throughout hotel, 24 hour room service, conference and banqueting venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing