We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent several days before hiking Kili”
Review of The Arusha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Arusha Hotel
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The Arusha Hotel is 3 star class but certainly a decent hotel. The rooms have been redone recently and the grounds are attractive. The hotel meals were served buffet style but had a decent variety and quality. The desk staff was not particularly friendly but the porters, restaurant staff and others were very helpful. I was disappointed that the pool was closed for renovations when we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Many other reviewers have accurately described this place, where I have stayed on business on several occasions. Generally the staff are extremely pleasant and efficient, though I was once told that a tip I had given was not enough! Cleanliness and security are fine. Food is OK, but not exciting. Rooms are clean but rather tired in terms of decor. Wifi available in all rooms, though slow. Garden is lovely. Pool was still being refurbished when I stayed

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We arrived late at night from the airport, but had dinner in the restaurant. Left in the morning directly after breakfast to go on a Safari.

The short stay didn't give material for a more thorough review but it did the job.
The rooms are a little worn but large and well equipped with bathroom and large, comfortable beds and nice cool temperature.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dspjern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed 1 night (June 20, 2013) at the start of our 9 day safari. Compared with the area around Arusha, this is a very 'modern' luxury hotel. Built in 1894, it feels like you've stepped back in time to when the British ruled the area. Nice 'old world' charm in the woodworking, etc. But, despite the claimed restorations, the hotel is a bit worn. For example, our hotel room's bathroom needed a new shower door and new caulking, otherwise it was ok. Definitely not refurbished recently. The hotel restaurant was good, the buffet was avg. Very friendly staff. Clean sheets and towels in the room. Compared to the rest of Arusha (and the tent camps we stayed at), this is an excellent/lux place to stay. For this, I give it an 'excellent' rating. Compared with similar hotels in major cities (London, New York, etc) I'd give it an avg to 'sub-avg' rating. Depends what you are expecting. Beautiful gardens around the hotel. We had a 'room in the back' (sorry, don't have the rm #), rather than a 'front street facing ' room, and the room was quiet. The hotel felt safe. The area surrounding the hotel not so safe looking (no area in Arusha looked safe enough to go walking around, especially at night). Good value. Overall, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms facing the front street if you want a good night's rest - they would face noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rod_R_Calif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad to know you enjoyed your overnight at The Arusha Hotel.
We hope to have you staying again soon for your next Safari !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed here 1 night, arriving from Arusha airport. Nive rooms, very clean, nice breakfast, nothing to remark. But...our children had a garden view room, very quiet, good night rest. We had a room at the street side .. and we didn't sleep one hour !! All the night traffic, and that means noice in Africa !! So if you get here, you must certainly ask a garden or pool side room.
Another little remark : even at the front desk THEY NEVER HAVE CHANGE !! So ..welcome in Africa also !! If you have to pay at the reception, try to have the good change, or they will tell you to wait and wait and wait...to get your change back, untill you say "ok, leave it" ! A very dishonorable way to get extra tips from their tourists...

Room Tip: You must have a garden - or pool side room !!! Or you can't get any rest at night because of all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gee_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you very much for your comment.
I hope you enjoyed your short stay at The Arusha Hotel despite the two remarks you mentioned.
We are looking forward to having you with us may be for your next trip to Tanzania ... We will do out best ever to please you and the hotel is going through many positive changes that you would certainly appreciate!
Wishing you a wonderful week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at the Arusha Hotel for one night at the beginning of our safari. We found the staff to be friendly, the rooms were clean and of an okay size (though the bathrooms are a little dated), the grounds are lovely (a real oasis from the intensity of the city) and the location of the hotel is good in the centre of town. The food was fairly unexciting, but it was okay. Overall we had no real issues with the hotel, and would recommend it as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden rather than the road. The road could be noisy at night if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Decrbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor!
We are currently going through many changes in the menus now that our new Executive Chef is here! The Arusha Hotel's Cuisine is aiming to be creative and tasty with a good variety of wines also.
I hope we will get the chance to host you sometimes soon again at The Arusha Hotel.
Best Regards,
Iman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Very nice hotel. The rooms were large, nicely fitted out with nice selection of TV channels. The housekeeping and reception staff were very helpful..
The biggest let down was breakfast. The chefs seem to think that all eggs must be cremated and can't multi task. They have 2 gas rings but can only use 1 at a time therefore queues form every morning. The waiters continually vanish and I was left sitting for nearly 20 minutes waiting for tea and my table to get knives and forks. I had to get up and ask other staff for various things.
If they can get the restaurant right then it will be a really top hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArushaArusha, Director of Sales at The Arusha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Cypruseagle,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a comment on The Arusha Hotel !
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you staying here again sometimes soon.
We have appointed a new Executive Chef coming from a very interesting Background in both South Africa and the United States... Our Hotel is aiming to offer wonderful dining experience in a very near future !
Looking forward to having you experiencing The Arusha Hotel another time !
Best,
Iman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
604 reviews
0.7 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 43 in Arusha
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 43 in Arusha
269 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
455 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 43 in Arusha
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arusha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arusha Hotel

Address: Fire Road, Clocktower Roundabout | Corner of Uhuru Road, Arusha 00, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Arusha
#6 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: £135 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arusha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic hotel in the heart of Arusha boasting 86 elegant and sophisticated rooms. Facilities include restaurant, bar, lounge, gardens, gym, swimming pool, wireless internet throughout hotel, 24 hour room service, conferencing and business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Arusha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing