We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful green lodge, lovely staff”
Review of Moivaro Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moivaro Lodge
Ranked #14 of 156 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful green lodge, lovely staff”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Amazing place to stay in Arusha. Green tropical garden with pool and lovely setting around the outside fireplace. Food is excellent, staff very helpfull. Only thing I missed were fruitshakes...
If want to relax and unwind in Arusha (which is quite busy) chose Moivaro.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlijn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    129
    60
    26
    9
See reviews for
62
110
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here for one night en-route from the Kenyan border to Lake Manyara/Ngorongoro. I wish we had known where we were headed was only a further 3hrs down the road, as we would rather have kept going and avoided this place.

There are two types of people that appear to use this lodge - people returning from climbing Kili, and people in transit, like us. The people returning from Kili generally like this place a lot better, i suspect because they have been hiking and camping for a week, and are happy to see hot showers, beds and a nice bar. These guests mostly seemed to be in bigger groups as well, which tend to (unintentionally!) crowd out other visitors. Those coming here from other lodges generally seem to be a bit unimpressed, as it doesnt compare to a lot of other similarly priced properties.

Whilst the grounds are very well-kept, everything else is just a bit lacking, and the staff are generally uninterested, some to the point of being a little surly. The rooms were just about adequate, but very dark and quite cold at night. Beds were soft, spongy and not that comfy. The bathrooms did not have a door - all they had was a saloon type door for the WC, which wasnt great! Showers were hot though, and the place was clean with mozzie spray provided.

The food was pretty good, with a half decent lunch selection, and a nice 3 course table d'hote meal in the evening. The bar area was nice, although quite cold, and the fire failed to heat anything because all the doors and windows were open. The wifi was quite bad.

Generally, ok for a necessary stopover, but not a destination lodge!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is a great place to relax and sleep off the Kilimanjaro climb - that is why most people appear to stay here. The garden is superb the cottages are spacious and clean. The hot shower is a fantastic gift after such a strenuous climb. The staff was very helpful. The only slight negative is that the quality of food at dinner was not up to the quality the lodge is known for in other areas.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel80000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Moivaro was a welcome oasis after travelling for about 2 days from home to here. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the private cottages are a great introduction to African rural life. Everything was clean, comfortable and well maintained. I would recommend Moivaro for transiting from Kilimanjaro to your safari or for total relaxation but since it is a fair drive from Arusha, not for sight-seeing in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are separate cottages and if you like walking,make what you are given. If distance wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DragonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Great service! Outside fire, fire in the bar area, tea time, to just great hospitality of the staff saying jambo. The manager was very hospitable. Relaxing rooms in the charming bungalos. The food was great- local dishes and fresh vegetables and fruits. Warm cozy environment in the bar/fireplace area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Very relaxing, the lodge ground was beautiful green and lush we really enjoyed walking around on the estate and coming back to friendly staff and a nice cool drink at swimming pool, the manager Josef was charming and helpful, the food was nice and prepared with fresh spices.
We loved staying at Moivaro Lodge and would recommend this place to any-one.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfricaTravelPlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moivaro, Public Relations Manager at Moivaro Lodge, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear African TravelPlan,

Thank you very much for your nice review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Moivaro Lodge, because we certainly enjoyed having you! We hope to see you again one day at our lodge, and share a nice cool drink at the pool..

Regards,

The Moivaro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

The rooms and the grounds of this hotel are lovely but the service is poor and impersonal due, no doubt, due to its guaranteed business from travel companies who use this as a base for tour groups (pre and post Kilimajaro or going on safari).

The hotel is located some distance out of Arusha so you are obliged to pay expensive taxi fares if you want to get out at all. A further disappointment was a very limited dinner menu where you are obliged to order from a $20 fixed menu (four course) rather than being able to choose what you might eat.

My biggest disappointment was that, on returning from Kilimanjaro, they insisted on charging more than $200 for an upgrade to a single room. It wasn't worth it and I felt ripped off as I had no other choice as I needed my own space after some challenging (but amazing) days on the mountain.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonEscapee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moivaro, Public Relations Manager at Moivaro Lodge, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear London Escapee09,

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry to hear that your experience at our was not only positive. We would like to respond to some of the issues you mentioned, because I am afraid there has been a miscommunication while you were staying at our lodge.

First of all, it doesn't costs $200 to upgrade to a single room, so that has been a mistake! We are very sorry if this means that you didn't book the upgrade, and therefore you did not get the privacy you were looking for.

Secondly it is not true that guests are obliged to take the 4 course dinner menu! Our guests are free to choose whatever they would like, either any course from this daily menu, or something from the standard dinner menu. I am afraid you have been misinformed, and we apologize for this!

Apparently we have to train our staff more, so that in the future these kind of mistakes don't happen. We hope that nevertheless you enjoyed your holiday in Tanzania, and once again we apologize for the misunderstandings.

Regards,

The Moivaro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
7.8 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.2 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
3.7 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
7.6 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 156 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moivaro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moivaro Lodge

Property: Moivaro Lodge
Address: Arusha 00000, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 156 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Moivaro Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moivaro Coffee Plantation Lodge & Estate, the lodge where you will stay in a charming atmosphere and enjoy every comfort you need. Moivaro Lodge is situated right in the heart of beautiful, natural scenery and yet is only 7 km from the town of Arusha: an ideal spot to enjoy the impressive flora and fauna of East Africa. At Moivaro Lodge we will ensure that you are looked after in a unique, friendly and peaceful manner, helping you to prepare for your safaris and cosseting you on your return in the evening. Our spacious thatched brick cottages are set in a lovely tropical garden, with private verandas ensuring every visitor all the privacy needed. Relax and enjoy the beautiful views of Mount Meru from the comfortable veranda, go for a stroll around the Moivaro property, or laze at the pool nestling in the midst of tropical trees and coffee plants. As a daily activity we arrange the Moivaro Village Walk. A unique opportunity to see everyday life in Tanzania and make closer contact with the local people. You can visit a local banana brewery and sample its beer; or hear the story of a local eccentric, and marvel at the tree house he fashioned for himself. A walk is typically 2 hours long and can involve a climb up Oldonyo Maas Hill for those looking for a more demanding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Moivaro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moivaro Lodges And Tented Camps
Moivaro Lodges & Tented Camps Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing