We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for a 3rd world country”
Review of Impala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Impala Hotel
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Scottsdale Arizona
Level Contributor
153 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Adequate for a 3rd world country”
Reviewed 16 July 2008

If you put everything in a 3rd world context then the Impala is an average to above average hotel. If your context is 1st world you will be sadly disappointed.

There is not much from which to pick in Arusha. Rooms at the Impala vary (we stayed twice), one pretty poor (my wife slept in her clothes), one average at best.

The bathrooms have windows near the ceiling, these windows open on to the corridor and many cannot be closed. This means you keep the bath door closed to keep the cooling from the A/C in your room and not venting to the corridor, which by the way is open to the outside on every floor.

Our rooms did not have mosquito nets. Take DEET with you. We found 100% DEET at Target in the sporting goods dept.

The water carries lots of minerals so the shower heads may be clogged. The hotel will send someone up to take it apart and clean it for you on request. Hot water is available in the morning for 3 hrs and in the evening for 3 hrs. You can only shower and wash in this water. The water is not safe so you cannot brush your teeth in it or drink it, you must use bottled water.

The hotel has an Internet room, no wifi. The cost is reasonable.

The morning breakfast buffet includes eggs cooked to order, most of the rest is consistent with third world offerings ie. substandard. Coffee is good and unlimited. The hotel restaurant(s) are OK. They offer Indian, Chinese and "other" which includes some Italian items, some American fare. The calamari is awful, the pizza not bad.

As in other places in Tanzania, don't eat the fruit unless you peel it yourself, don't eat fresh veggies because they will have been rinsed in contaminated water. Cooked food only. Bottled beverages only. Take pro-biotics daily (Whole Foods) to help defeat any unwanted bacteria in your gut. We took "pearls" and did not have a single instance of "traveler's illness" in the two months we traveled.

  • Liked — very little
  • Disliked — lack of hot water, lack of water pressure,
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TomCincinnatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    60
    102
    67
    28
See reviews for
28
76
33
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hagerman, Idaho
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

I have been coming to Tanzania for years and have seen this place go down hill-yet their prices seem to keep increasing! The Impala back in the day was nice and they had great staff and great food. But the owner built a lodge in Moshi and took his best staff there and Impala never recovered and from what I hear-with the opening of his new place in arusha (forget name-has the word springs in it though I think) he has sold the place. Speaking of the new place-giant blue tower that opened last month-rooms without beds and even some missing toilets, incompetent staff- 80 people walked out in first week (not hearsay-I am here ion Arusha)..... Anyhoo- Other than a few of the older porters-noone will lift a finger to help you. As for the rooms....If anyone ever says they had a nice room at Impala-it could be true-Impala does have a few nicer looking rooms that are almost worth the price ( at least the resident rate price of several yeasr ago). However, the vast majority are in poor condition, small, musty, horrible mattresses, torn mosquito nets, ancient bed sheets, broken TVs that when they do work only have 3 channels, no hot water., water that trickles out of the faucet. I could go on but I move on to the food. The Indian restaurant used to be one of best places in Arusha to eat. They got a new chef a few years ago-I use term chef lightly. The food is no longer good and more importantly, I got sick one night and a friend got sick the second time we ate there. There are several good indian places now that I would never eat there again. The chinese-Id walk next door to Dragon Pearl. As for the italian-last time I ate there I had pasta with cheese in it-the cheese was coagulated in a giant clump and they didnt take off all the plastic so I was stuck picking it all out-I pointed it out to staff and all they said was "oh". There are so many nice places in Arsuha for less or comparable prices-why on earth stay here?

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank serval_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arusha hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oslo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2008

Will never return to this awful hotel. You don't even get a towel at the sunbeds unless you have been swimming in the pool. The staff do not understand the term "service".

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurtgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2008

Stayed at Hotell Impala for three days instad of a planned Safaritrip due to sickness. It is definently not the worst place to spend three days although it has several issues that should be sorted out.
The lobby is really nice although the Africa theme is very visible. The rooms although clean have seen better days but nothing to complain about. Power went out now and then but was always restored within minutes. The hotel has a very nice pool and relaxation area and the restaurants, gift shops and internet cafe is professional and good.

It is a hotel that has seen better days but this does not make it a nice place to stay while in Arusha.

  • Liked — The pool area
  • Disliked — Power surges and bad television reception
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chrishau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

due to travelling around Tanzania and doing safari we ended up staying here twice for 2 nights each time. The rooms were clean but should be as it seemed to be done in stages throughout the day by different people and must have taken about 5 hours in all. wouldn't have mattered if it was in a place with lots to do but due to the area you'll end up not really leaving the hotel. its also a conference venue so always seemed busy.

It has 4 restaurants, the italian is in the bar but don't go near the food as it was the worse italian experience I have ever had. The Indian restaurant had really good food. Worth noting that you can actually get food from any of the restaurants at any table, just ask. Service generally rubbish throughout but guess thats just Africa. Breakfast was not worth getting up for.

Rooms were decent enough but felt a bit run down, We had issues both times with the shower leaking all over the floor even though the shower was over the bath the second time.

if returning to Arusha I wouldn't stay here.

  • Liked — cold beer
  • Disliked — food seemed to have bad affect, even the tasty indian
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatMck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2007

The lobby is really nice and the staff are not. The rooms are worn and
the mosquito nets are full of holes. The noise from the hallway enters
the room through the huge vent in the bathroom. The door had recently
been kicked in and with all the noise in the hall it seemed as if the door were just swinging open. There are much cleaner, quieter, friendly and less expensive places to stay in Arusha.

The food is very tasty though and there are three different menus. The trouble with the food is that it will haunt you for a few days after you eat it. This is a big problem if you are heading out on a safari and can't leave the vehicle while in the national parks!!

  • Liked — The carvings in the lobby.
  • Disliked — Everthing else.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tanzania_tourist123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar Es Salaam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2007

The only impressive part of the hotel was the lift (elevator!).

Quite simply it is one of the most shocking hotels ive ever had the displeasure of staying in.

- Worst breakfast ive ever had. ( Who serves wet cold sausages, stale bread and old fruit to thier guests?)
- Worst service ive ever had, anywhere.
- Tired worn rooms. ( I had two and they were both equally dreadful.)
- A manager who was never there.
- Characterless.
- Filthy room
- Bad value

If you are looking to stay in Arusha / Moshi stay at KIA Lodge or The Arusha Hotel, both are wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mdbDarEsSalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
1.3 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 41 in Arusha
60 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
550 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 41 in Arusha
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#5 of 41 in Arusha
251 reviews
1.5 mi away
Point Zone Resort
Point Zone Resort
#32 of 41 in Arusha
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impala Hotel

Property: Impala Hotel
Address: Old Moshi Road | Kijenge Area, Arusha 7302, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Impala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Impala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing