We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are better options in Arusha”
Review of Impala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Impala Hotel
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Geneva, IL
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“There are better options in Arusha”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights and this was our least favorite lodging on our recent trip. The hotel had no character. It was big and sprawling with dimly lit corridors that went off in all sorts of odd directions. Staff was not particularly friendly or attentive. Service in the restaurants was glacial and the food was mediocre at best. Our room was OK but no hot water on the second morning. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReginaMGeneva_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    60
    102
    67
    28
See reviews for
28
76
33
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Northport, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Went there for about a week in the summer of 2012 as part of a study abroad program. Simple rooms but very comfortable as long as you're not expecting 5-stars. I really enjoyed practicing my Swahili with the staff and they were very accommodating and friendly. Absolutely loved the Indian restaurant and their Chinese was surprisingly good too! Haha. I really loved the openness of the hotel and the beauty of the courtyards and statues. I would love to visit again!

Room Tip: I had a room on the side of the hotel where the pool is located - I'm not sure what the other ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeny19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, INDIA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I am a tour leader and reached Arusha for FAM trip a few days before the group arrives for onward safari. Had a pleasant stay. Decent rooms. Proximity is an advantage and the bar and restaurants - particularly the mezzanine floor in nicely placed for breakfast and is a good beginning to a wonderful day.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfricaSafariIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My last in Night Tanzania was the Impala Hotel, as i was departing with a shuttle the next morning to Nairobi and the shuttle leaves a short distance from Impala hotel thats at Mezzaluna then our Guide just can to pick up in the morning at the hotel and we walked shortly to Mezaluna

The hotel is very clean and its food is delicious, the staff look inferior as most of the time you see them seclude at one end leaving guest alone or unattended, i noticed this at the reception and at the restaurant, however when approached they do act. to me this is not how its supposed to be they are supposed to face clients and ask them if they can be of any help at that particular moment in any case its a perfect place to be before or after safari

Room Tip: Do not book rooms facing south and west
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horst F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maun, Botswana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed one short night at the Impala Hotel at the start of a short business trip to Manyara. Due to my inconvenient flight time, I arrived at 3 am in the morning and needed a place in town before continuing to Manyara.
The hotel is considered mid-class in Arusha and is located in the center, a good hour’s drive from the airport. The room was very spacious with lots of additional furniture such as several chairs and sofas in a bit worn out rattan style.
The bathroom was also huge with a large corner bathtub. Basic amenities are provided including bottled water.
Finding the breakfast room was a challenge as the staff at the reception did not provide a proper description. I also noticed staff in the breakfast room not being really interested in their guests, but rather chatting on the side. The breakfast buffet is large by area covered, and there is a good number of items available; however, the quality of items is not very good.
Overall, it’s ok for an occasion such as mine where you spent only a few hours, but if I had to stay a full day or longer I would probably look for a different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProHospitalityCons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umberleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I had checked out this hotel previously but not stayed there. This time I decided it was for me. Once again I have to stress that at these hotels in Tanzania being able to communicate freely in Swahili is a big boon. Porters, desk and room staff very friendly and obliging. Very good value for money, especially compared with some more pretentious hotels nearby. Magnificent views across to Rift VAlley in east and Mout Meru in North. I had very large room for price of basic and having a bath tub and not just a shower is also a plus. As with other travellers I found wi-fi in room very slow to non-existent. Breakfast buffet very good. Stay here if you get the chance. (Incidentally the Trip Advisor web site was telling me there were no rooms available for the period I was here but that was certainly not true -- may be Expedia or whoever do not get enough commission!)

Room Tip: Ask to see two or three rooms -- they vary greatly in size and aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevorbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I ended up here when my shuttle ran very late. My room was very nice, plenty of hot water and working wi-fi access. It was expensive for the area.
The dinner buffet was awful (I was the only diner, although the hotel was very busy). The other restaurants were better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lMAZl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
1.4 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
1.3 mi away
Naura Springs Hotel
Naura Springs Hotel
#26 of 41 in Arusha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gold Crest Hotel
Gold Crest Hotel
#19 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impala Hotel

Property: Impala Hotel
Address: Old Moshi Road | Kijenge Area, Arusha 7302, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Impala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Impala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing