We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice comfy hostel with great staff”
Review of The Greenhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenhouse
Ranked #14 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice comfy hostel with great staff”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A small hostel that makes you feel like home! Very comfortable beds in a quiet room, the staff is great and the food excellent! Its a bit out of town but just follow the directions you get when you book.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MForonda, Manager at The Greenhouse, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about The Greenhouse. We are glad that you enjoyed the food so much. We’re a small family run hostel and aim to provide that ‘home away from home’ feel to all our guests. We are around 4km from the city centre but it can be reached easily by car or dala (local buses) which can be accessed from just outside the property and we can also offer transfer services from the city centre or airports. Do come back and stay with us again if you are ever in Arusha! Best wishes. The Greenhouse Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    15
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
17
45
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Both me and my gf really enjoyed our stay with Benson and his sister at the Greenhouse. Its a very homely place and excellent value, wouldn't mind another stay!

Do expect:
Good WiFi for Tanzania
Nice hangout with Benson and long stay volunteers
Great bed and mozzie net
Very very hot shower
Decent food, some nights better than others

Don't expect:
Central location, takes 20min with daladala

Honeybadgers
Had high hopes for the place after returning from a dusty safari. Sadly several aspects did not live up to me and my gf's expectations.

We were put in the large hut room 5. The bathroom was separated from the bed by a simple mud wall with no doors which spread a moldy smell in the room. The mosquito net had large holes which let through all sort of insects and my gf got several bites. The food was quite bland (maybe we were unlucky that night? The safari food tasted better) and the staff was very inflexible with the breakfast time (latest 0930 which kind of ruined our idea to sleep in). WiFi was super slow but perhaps not directly their fault.

On the positive side the shower was great, bed was nice and we got a late checkout around noon, pool seemed very nice.

Location out of town, cost around 6$ one way. Unless you're going for the pool then I recommended one of the top ranked guesthouses in town instead.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reeop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MForonda, Manager at The Greenhouse, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience about your stay at The Greenhouse. We’re so happy that you and your girlfriend had a great time and you are always welcome to come back again if you are ever in Arusha. We are always trying to make improvements to our services and we’re glad you enjoyed our wi-fi, hot showers, rooms and food.

In 2013, the government started to turn the road that leads directly from the town centre to our property into tarmac. This is half complete but with any luck once the rest of the road has been changed to tarmac shortly, this will half the journey it takes to get into town via dala. Fingers crossed! Best wishes. The Greenhouse Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I loved staying at the greenhouse! It covers the essentials (safe, clean, wifi, accessible by public transport, affordable, ability to do laundry) plus they provide all of your meals. But what keeps me coming back (I've stayed three times) is the hospitality of the staff. They are so welcoming and always greet you with a friendly smile. It's also great to support a worthy cause. Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlee91307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.0 mi away
Meru House Inn
Meru House Inn
#16 of 42 in Arusha
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#5 of 42 in Arusha
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nyumbani Hostel Arusha
Nyumbani Hostel Arusha
#7 of 166 in Arusha
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
White House of Tanzania
White House of Tanzania
#1 of 118 in Arusha
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Korona House
Korona House
#10 of 118 in Arusha
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse

Property: The Greenhouse
Address: PO Box 14888, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greenhouse offers 5 rooms, camping garden for about 4tents accommodating up to 25 to 30 people - 1 big dorm with 8 beds en-suite, 2 rooms with 4 beds and 2 rooms with 2 beds one en-suite and one with shared bathroom facilities including hot showers and western toilets. The lounge area is comfortable and homely with a TV, DVD player, stereo system and Wi-Fi and the outdoor terrace offers additional seating areas. All meals are included. Car hiring, Bicycle hiring and motorcycle hiring too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Greenhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing