We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Greenhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Greenhouse
Ranked #14 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was volunteering in Arusha back in 2012 where I met Maricel. Although I was volunteering somewhere different to Maricel, for one of my days I was able to volunteer with her for a day with The Green Living Planet, run by Ben. Having met both Maricel and Ben, although I have not yet gone back to Arusha and stayed at the hostel, I have full confidence that they would have made The Greenhouse feel like a second home for travellers. I would definitely would recommend volunteering with them for an amazing and rewarding experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    15
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
17
42
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We arrive in Arusha 6 months ago, and somehow we land at Greenhouse. Benson, Maricel, Adrina and Mama recieved us with open arms, giving not only good advices but helping us out to settle!
Nice place, good budget. Worhty at the end :)

Asante sana kaka
Tere na Ravi

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alternatibag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Greenhouse is fantastic. It's run by a wonderful couple, Benson, a native Tanzanian, and Maricel, a Londoner who has relocated. I stayed at the Greenhouse for a couple months in 2013 while volunteering with Benson's nonprofit, Green Living Planet.

Benson and Maricel are awesome company. Maricel keeps the house very clean and there is always amazing African food cooking. The beds are comfy and come equipped with mosquito nets *few*! The house is pretty close to downtown Arusha and also near Terrat where Green Living Planet does a lot of there work.

It was an amazing experience and I plan on going back sometime soon!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

After 8 months traveling, Arusha was my first place in Africa, and like every foreigner that arrives in Africa i was concerned how it would be. But at The Greenhouse i found a place that`s make me feel home! The owner Benson is a great person, as all the other people who work here. Meals are included and the food is great. The hostel is pretty clean. Staff will help you to have a good time in Arusha. They also have a great social work at the community that people can volunteer! Definitely recommend the hostel!

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aguiarmarcelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilat, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I met them while I volunteered in Africa in 2012.
Maricel and I volunteered with the wonderful organization of Ben - The green living plant
Volunteer in this project has added value because you feel you give a tremendous contribution to Africa, contributing to remain even after you leave.
The project is an environmental project that combines work with the local population and gives volunteers an opportunity to recognize the humility and the Arusha from a new perspective.
Maricel and Ben are a lovely couple who loves Africa, living and breathing the culture and working hard to protect the environment and quality of life of community and tradition.
I'm sure they provide the warmth and love as well as a host at the hostel.
I highly recommend volunteering with them as much as possible during your stay in the city.
Have a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michal h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for almost 3 weeks at the greenhouse in December. Didn't want to leave and am already planning the trip back. It's a lovely family run hostel that really is home away from home. Owner and staff are wonderful people. Full of advice and chat. Food was delicious, thank you Annah! Beds are a great size. Rooms are lovely.Benson will help you with anything , from organising safari, to dropping you to a bank, to helping you organise building materials while volunteering. Pub across the road is an added bonus!! It's v Cheap and great locals to chat with . Overall the hostel is excellent value and the perfect size to meet volunteers and travelers. You would be mad not to stop here while in Arusha. Oh, there's free wifi too!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingWilbury6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The staff was so friendly and welcoming. They picked us up in town and dinner was prepared when we arrived. All the meals are included, fast wi-fi. Clean and nice rooms! We can definitely recomend this place. Makes you feel like home :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louiserostad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nyumbani Hostel Arusha
Nyumbani Hostel Arusha
#6 of 150 in Arusha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ujamaa Hostel
Ujamaa Hostel
#16 of 150 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
White House of Tanzania
White House of Tanzania
#2 of 100 in Arusha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zawadi House Lodge
Zawadi House Lodge
#7 of 100 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse

Property: The Greenhouse
Address: PO Box 14888, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greenhouse offers 5 rooms, camping garden for about 4tents accommodating up to 25 to 30 people - 1 big dorm with 8 beds en-suite, 2 rooms with 4 beds and 2 rooms with 2 beds one en-suite and one with shared bathroom facilities including hot showers and western toilets. The lounge area is comfortable and homely with a TV, DVD player, stereo system and Wi-Fi and the outdoor terrace offers additional seating areas. All meals are included. Car hiring, Bicycle hiring and motorcycle hiring too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Greenhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing