We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first stay in Tanzania!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Waterbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
251 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Our first stay in Tanzania!”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This was the first lodge on our Tanzanian safari. We stayed 2 nights in room #1. I think we had the best view of the zebras, peacock, eland, and other wildlife around the pond. The room was clean, comfortable, and had a large bathroom. Everyone was very friendly, and service was good during our stay. We loved sitting under the stars enjoying some Tanzanian beer after long days of game drives. Breakfast was very good, both in terms of food and service. Dinner dervice was good, but we found the food options limited since we do not eat meat. I think this is a great starting point for safari should you arrive in Arusha.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pjfarr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    81
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
34
86
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights after Safari. Located about 15 mins drive outside of Arusha. Lovely location very quiet and peaceful. Ideal place to relax. Service was excellent and found staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. Meals were very good. Dinner is served outside, generally buffet style. Tables are arranged round a fire which is lit every night which adds to the atmosphere. Rooms are lovely, I stayed in no. 4 and I believe that rooms 1-5 are bigger than other rooms, they are also located near the garden and animal sanctuary so suggest requesting one of these when booking. Decor is a bit dated but I believe it was built mid 60's, in some ways it adds to the whole experience. If your looking for wild nights out its not the place for you. I thoroughly enjoyed it, definately worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-5 seem to be larger than the rest and are also overlooking the lovely garden and game sanctu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grace21Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed here the days before and after our Kili climb. It is a cool place with a game reserve with quite a few African animals within easy viewing distance. We stayed in a smaller room before the trip, which was average and totally fine. After the climb we got a nicer room closer to the main courtyard and the wildlife sanctuary which was much better, bigger, with a nicer outside seating area and bigger bathroom. As is typical in Tanzania the power went out bunch of times, seemed worse here but not sure. The staff seem a bit more eager for tips, we got a bit overwhelmed by them trying to take our bags from us even if it was small, on wheels, or 5 feet of walking. Food at dinner time was good when it was buffet style, the head cook is very good. Lunch was hit and miss. Breakfast was fine, normal buffet with the option for eggs. Nothing to write home about but adequate and good. We liked it here and would stay again overall. Very nice staff and good facility.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bittle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed here for the first afternoon/night of our 4 day Safari and it was a lovely introduction to Africa and the Safari experience.
Check in was fab and the staff are super polite and very efficient.
We had a tour of a local village which, although I imagine not to everyone's tastes, we found to be fantastic and a real eye-opener.
The food was very good and the arrangement of tables around a camp fire was atmospheric.
We slept fairly well here and the room was spacious. It could have done with a mirror in the main bedroom and the bathroom was quite dank. The towels were slightly damp to touch and smelt a bit musty, but this didn't bother us too much.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clairem1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Very good food at the outdoor dinner buffet. The room was pretty small but comfortable for 1 night. We were very excited about the animals on the property since this was before our safari. Afterward, it would have been Ho Hum.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmm1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed here at the beginning of our Northern circuit tour. This was not a place our tour operator recommended, but since I wanted to start our animal experience the day we arrived for the kids, I requested this place. The animals were ok and certainly the kids were excited seeing their first zebras and elans. The rooms, however, are dirty and dusty. The towels smelled sour, the bathrooms dank. It was like staying in a second rate zoo, with us living in the zoo keeper's/servant's quarters. For half the charged rate, this place would be alright for a transit hotel, but for the price they charge, it is not worth staying here, even for the animals.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tobyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This was the location of our first night's stay in Tanzania, prior a long safari in Northern Tanzania.

We began the stay with a very nice check-in procedure, followed by a delicious dinner, obviously designed daily and cooked from scratch. It was the sort of meal that bridged the gap between home-cooking and restaurant food. Nice presentation, tasty, but not loaded with grease and salt. This was a welcome change from the fried foods and buffets that we had experienced through most of our African voyage.

Unfortunately, the rooms did not meet the quality expectations set by the initial experience. The four-poster bed had a mosquito net, but it had large holes at the top. Additionally, the mosquito net did not envelop the nightstands or lamps, which made retiring for the night difficult. We found the mattress lumpy, the sheets rough, and the pillows uncomfortable, leading to our first unsatisfying night of sleep on our trip.

Also on the property is a small zoo and a large sanctuary, some of which is visible from the lodge area. If you are lucky you will be able to see zebras, ostriches, and other small and medium sized animals interact. Unfortunately, the quality of the restaurant and picturesque common areas do not compensate for an uncomfortable bed, which I believe is the single most important part of a hotel. I happily recommend this hotel for a meal while in transit, or a day trip, but not for the overnight.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpotechin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.4 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
420 reviews
11.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
550 reviews
11.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
417 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 41 in Arusha
133 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#6 of 41 in Arusha
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

Property: Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Address: Arusha-Moshi Road | Usa River, Arusha P.O.Box 2747, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary is located within 33 acres of mature, well manicured gardens bounded on one side by the tranquil waters of the Usa River and on the other by the private Sanctuary where our wildlife and birdlife reside. This wildlife and birdlife provide many of our guests with their first exciting game viewing experience. The Mount Meru Game Sanctuary was established in 1960 and over the course of the last half a century and more has received rescued animals from the wild. Normally either injured or orphaned, the sanctuary's first priority is always to rehabilitate these animals and to return them to their natural habitat. In cases where this is not possible, they are released into the sanctuary grounds where, joined by an enormous variety of birdlife, they are able to enjoy the unique freedom offered by our very safe environment. By choosing to stay with us, our guests play a very important role in helping these animals since the activities of the sanctuary are financed entirely by the lodge. Mount Meru Game Lodge is extremely fortunate to receive daily visits from troops of Black & White Colobus Monkeys. The Lodge features 15 guestrooms, including 2 suites, which seamlessly blend understated elegance with contemporary style. Our two suites lie generously situated in the garden overlooking the sanctuary. Each with a cozy bedroom and open living area, complete with fireplace. Both rooms offer a private garden gazebo where one can blissfully relax and soak up an atmosphere of well being. The main building of the lodge consists of a reception area, lounge and bar. The lounge, with its enormous picture windows and comfortable furniture, provides for relaxation in intimate surroundings. The bar is well stocked with a wide selection of spirits, beers and minerals which are complemented by a carefully selected collection of wines. To the front of the main building is a terrace which is shaded by enormous old Mango trees and which enjoys magnificent views over mature, carefully tended gardens to the Sanctuary beyond. In the grounds of the lodge can be found an 'outdoor dining room' which consists of a covered makuti restaurant located in our mature a gardens. The garden with its camp fire allows our guests to dine under the African star-lit sky whilst listening to the exotic night sounds. FREE WiFi is available to all visitors in the Lodges' public areas. Throughout its long history, the lodge & sanctuary have been a popular stop over for many VIP's and Government visitors. Various Presidents of African countries, celebrities, entrepreneurs and members of European Royal families have stayed with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Meru Game Lodge And Sanctuary
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary Hotel Arusha
Mount Meru Game Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing