We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good with great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Spent 3 days there during my visit to Tanzania and really enjoyed myself. Mark, the manager is a great guy who would come and day hi at dinner. Food was great, if not excellent (even though we had the same dinner 2 nights in a row). The only complaint that I have is that the rooms need a bit of a shake up!

In short, I will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garyinternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

This place is clean, spacious, with nice grounds and a wonderfully helpful staff. If you are arriving in Africa for the first time, or have been many times, it is really a place where you can find great comfort. I go to Arusha occasionally for work, and I stay here almost very time. This is a no miss.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ConnecticutorAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was a great starting point for our safari. The rooms are nicely done and spotless. It was lovely to sit in the grounds and see the animals around the water to get a taster of what was to come on the safari. The staff were friendly and it's worth going on the free walk around the local village. It was nice to have dinner outside around the fire-pit and the food was pretty good, although the pineapple cake is probably best avoided if its on the menu! Nice variety of foods for breakfast with things being freshly cooked as required. All in all a nice place to relax at the start of a safari.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1countryatatime72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

The Mount Meru Game Lodge is a quiet, intimate and very comfortable pre-safari starting point. We spent 3 nights there relaxing and re-grouping after a long flight from Portland,Oregon. Our room was very comfortable and roomy, the staff was friendly, the food was good, freshly prepared and the chef came to greet and talk with each table, as did Marc Lawson the owner.
Having the wildlife just outside our room was a bonus and a nice prelude to our safari. We were able to relax on our veranda, watching the animals and just enjoy being in Africa.

The free Usa River Village walk was a wonderful introduction to the local way of life and a good way to interact with the local people. Frank our guide was very informative and enjoyable.
The owner, Marc Lawson, was very gracious and accommodating. He realized that our itinerary didn't include a lunch for our first all day drive in Arusha N.P. and promptly took care of it for us.
We also encountered another problem with our safari company, that had nothing to do with the lodge. Marc stepped in to help solve and rectify the problem to our satisfaction.
I would highly recommend the Mount Meru Game Lodge as a start or an end to a safari or climb.
Thank you Marc for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: I'm not sure of all the room numbers, we had room #3 but I think any of 1,2,3,4 5, would be good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn5450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

After long haul flights this lodge was well placed near kilimanjaro airport as the first night of a safari but on reflection did not have the feel of a genuine game lodge. Despite this the stay was pleasant and comfortable. The highlight of the time spent here was the optional guided walk to the local town which was an opportunity to see local way of life more closely in a reasonably controlled manner.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleRobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This was the first lodge on our Tanzanian safari. We stayed 2 nights in room #1. I think we had the best view of the zebras, peacock, eland, and other wildlife around the pond. The room was clean, comfortable, and had a large bathroom. Everyone was very friendly, and service was good during our stay. We loved sitting under the stars enjoying some Tanzanian beer after long days of game drives. Breakfast was very good, both in terms of food and service. Dinner dervice was good, but we found the food options limited since we do not eat meat. I think this is a great starting point for safari should you arrive in Arusha.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pjfarr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights after Safari. Located about 15 mins drive outside of Arusha. Lovely location very quiet and peaceful. Ideal place to relax. Service was excellent and found staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. Meals were very good. Dinner is served outside, generally buffet style. Tables are arranged round a fire which is lit every night which adds to the atmosphere. Rooms are lovely, I stayed in no. 4 and I believe that rooms 1-5 are bigger than other rooms, they are also located near the garden and animal sanctuary so suggest requesting one of these when booking. Decor is a bit dated but I believe it was built mid 60's, in some ways it adds to the whole experience. If your looking for wild nights out its not the place for you. I thoroughly enjoyed it, definately worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-5 seem to be larger than the rest and are also overlooking the lovely garden and game sanctu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grace21Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.4 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
510 reviews
11 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
630 reviews
8.8 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 45 in Arusha
1,058 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#11 of 45 in Arusha
139 reviews
11.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

Address: Arusha-Moshi Road | Usa River, Arusha P.O.Box 2747, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range: £130 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary is located within 33 acres of mature, well manicured gardens bounded on one side by the tranquil waters of the Usa River and on the other by the private Sanctuary where our wildlife and birdlife reside. This wildlife and birdlife provide many of our guests with their first exciting game viewing experience. The Mount Meru Game Sanctuary was established in 1960 and over the course of the last half a century and more has received rescued animals from the wild. Normally either injured or orphaned, the sanctuary's first priority is always to rehabilitate these animals and to return them to their natural habitat. In cases where this is not possible, they are released into the sanctuary grounds where, joined by an enormous variety of birdlife, they are able to enjoy the unique freedom offered by our very safe environment. By choosing to stay with us, our guests play a very important role in helping these animals since the activities of the sanctuary are financed entirely by the lodge. Mount Meru Game Lodge is extremely fortunate to receive daily visits from troops of Black & White Colobus Monkeys. The Lodge features 15 guestrooms, including 2 suites, which seamlessly blend understated elegance with contemporary style. Our two suites lie generously situated in the garden overlooking the sanctuary. Each with a cozy bedroom and open living area, complete with fireplace. Both rooms offer a private garden gazebo where one can blissfully relax and soak up an atmosphere of well being. The main building of the lodge consists of a reception area, lounge and bar. The lounge, with its enormous picture windows and comfortable furniture, provides for relaxation in intimate surroundings. The bar is well stocked with a wide selection of spirits, beers and minerals which are complemented by a carefully selected collection of wines. To the front of the main building is a terrace which is shaded by enormous old Mango trees and which enjoys magnificent views over mature, carefully tended gardens to the Sanctuary beyond. In the grounds of the lodge can be found an 'outdoor dining room' which consists of a covered makuti restaurant located in our mature a gardens. The garden with its camp fire allows our guests to dine under the African star-lit sky whilst listening to the exotic night sounds. FREE WiFi is available to all visitors in the Lodges' public areas. Throughout its long history, the lodge & sanctuary have been a popular stop over for many VIP's and Government visitors. Various Presidents of African countries, celebrities, entrepreneurs and members of European Royal families have stayed with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary Hotel Arusha
Mount Meru Game Lodge And Sanctuary
Mount Meru Game Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing