We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The lodge wasn't far away from Arusha National Park, the staff were absolutely lovely and the wildlife just completed the experience. The rooms were lovely as well I didn't find anything wrong with it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank KatianaSaleiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    80
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
34
86
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I lead photo safaris, and after trying many others, I now have my guests start and finish their experience in Tanzania at Mt Meru Game Lodge each time. 2 nights at the beginning and a day room at the end. It has a true 'feel of Africa' that the big and more modern hotels do not provide, in a wonderfully peaceful environment surrounded by wildlife while recovering from jet lag. The food is always fresh, delicious and safe, the rooms are clean and the service is fantastic. I know my guests will never be disappointed, and for many this is their favorite experience over the larger more expensive lodges we stay in throughout the trip. I not only recommend Mt Meru Game Lodge, I use it multiple times each year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilliamCowger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The cabins are simple but cosy and charming. They are somewhat dated but overall fine. I did have a bad experience with a heavy iron luggage table collapsing on my shin which left me bleeding and really peed off !
What I really liked was the really great Indian food buffet dinner we had. Lots of variety and fresh high quality. Breakfast also really good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intimateplaces, Owner at Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Christo60, We were very sorry indeed to read about your experience with the luggage rack. How very annoying! Please drop us a line at reservations@intimate-places.com should you decide to travel back to Tanzania in the future and we will be delighted to offer you a night at Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary as our guest by way of an apology!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Mount Meru Game Lodge and Sanctuary was only 45 minutes drive from Kilimanjaro International Airport, a definite plus after a long days travel, including an overnight flight. As other reviewers have mentioned it has an old fashioned charm. We loved it. The service was excellent and food very good. Sitting outside our rooms, we saw eland, zebra, waterbuck, colobus monkeys and variety birds including an osprey and crowned cranes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COLNEYONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

As other reviews have stated, the accommodation is a bit dated, but I think that this add to the overall ambience that has been created. The staff are friendly, service is good and food is varied and tasty. The room I was in overlooked the sanctuary and you had an excellent view of the animals roaming therein. The room had two single beds in, which were a bit on the short side and hard. The room does not have air conditioning and therefore became quite stuffy and hot. The shower really needed replacing as the shower head was not at all powerful. However, for a one night stay, this room was fine. There are torches in the room to assist the walk to and from the reception/dining area. Bottled water is provided for your convenience, as is mosquito repellent. To add to the character and charm, i was awoken early by the baboons playing in the trees, which is a fun sight to watch.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belpre, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The facility is old but very well kept and that's part of the experience. A 5 start modern hotel can be found anywhere. This was special. The rooms are quite large enough - especially considering all manner of outdoor seating for relaxation or viewing. Very spacious bathroom, good plumbing, towels and accessories. The electricity sometimes goes out, but this place has a generator that kicks in almost immediately. The staff is very helpful. You can feel safe walking at night as they have good security and it's gated. Beautiful scenery and such enjoyable animals. I loved the monkeys. Let's not forget the good food. All you can eat breakfast buffet every morning (included), you can order from the bar if you need anything during the day and an excellent dinner available for purchase every evening. I think their tortoises thought I was crazy because I went to talk to them everyday as my pet tortoise enjoys that. Their tortoises were not too interested in conversation - but they're cute anyway. (In the details fitness center and pool do not apply).

Room Tip: Whatever room you're in, unless you're a heavy sleeper the monkeys will wake you in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee625625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Rooms quite old, although everything was clean and in working order. Fantastic service from the staff. Lovely gardens. Twenty/Thirty years ago it must have been the best place in the area, but as the area around it developed and the main road got busier the setting is not that perfect any more, although all the trees and lovely gardens screen the outside noises.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intimateplaces, Owner at Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your review of our property and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. There are very definite security advantages to being located close-by a main road as opposed to at the end of a long, dark, deserted road and we consider that these advantages far outweigh any inconvenience caused by outside noises which, as you correctly point out, are screened by the abundant nature to be found in our gardens. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.4 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
11.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
11.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#6 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

Property: Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Address: Arusha-Moshi Road | Usa River, Arusha P.O.Box 2747, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary is located within 33 acres of mature, well manicured gardens bounded on one side by the tranquil waters of the Usa River and on the other by the private Sanctuary where our wildlife and birdlife reside. This wildlife and birdlife provide many of our guests with their first exciting game viewing experience. The Mount Meru Game Sanctuary was established in 1960 and over the course of the last half a century and more has received rescued animals from the wild. Normally either injured or orphaned, the sanctuary's first priority is always to rehabilitate these animals and to return them to their natural habitat. In cases where this is not possible, they are released into the sanctuary grounds where, joined by an enormous variety of birdlife, they are able to enjoy the unique freedom offered by our very safe environment. By choosing to stay with us, our guests play a very important role in helping these animals since the activities of the sanctuary are financed entirely by the lodge. Mount Meru Game Lodge is extremely fortunate to receive daily visits from troops of Black & White Colobus Monkeys. The Lodge features 15 guestrooms, including 2 suites, which seamlessly blend understated elegance with contemporary style. Our two suites lie generously situated in the garden overlooking the sanctuary. Each with a cozy bedroom and open living area, complete with fireplace. Both rooms offer a private garden gazebo where one can blissfully relax and soak up an atmosphere of well being. The main building of the lodge consists of a reception area, lounge and bar. The lounge, with its enormous picture windows and comfortable furniture, provides for relaxation in intimate surroundings. The bar is well stocked with a wide selection of spirits, beers and minerals which are complemented by a carefully selected collection of wines. To the front of the main building is a terrace which is shaded by enormous old Mango trees and which enjoys magnificent views over mature, carefully tended gardens to the Sanctuary beyond. In the grounds of the lodge can be found an 'outdoor dining room' which consists of a covered makuti restaurant located in our mature a gardens. The garden with its camp fire allows our guests to dine under the African star-lit sky whilst listening to the exotic night sounds. FREE WiFi is available to all visitors in the Lodges' public areas. Throughout its long history, the lodge & sanctuary have been a popular stop over for many VIP's and Government visitors. Various Presidents of African countries, celebrities, entrepreneurs and members of European Royal families have stayed with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Meru Game Lodge And Sanctuary
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary Hotel Arusha
Mount Meru Game Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing