We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night in Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We arrived at night after landing at Mount Kilimanjaro airport. The room was nice and quaint. This is an older hotel and as it was our first stop we had to get into the mindset that this was Africa and this hotel has a vintage look. We liked the decor, it was cozy, the bed comfortable and the bathroom clean with plenty of hot water. We only had breakfast. It was very good especially the coffee. The staff was very polite. I was disappointed with sanctuary. There were just a few animals, there were porcupines in an enclosure and a caretaker was there to give us information. We were able to feed them and it was interesting to see them very close. The grounds have a lot of mature trees and it was lush and green. The internet in the lobby was not working and we found this to be true at every stop on our safari.

Room Tip: Go to this hotel thinking vintage and quaint. In that frame of mind you will like it and enjoy your...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ernie240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intimateplaces, Owner at Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you for your kind review of Mount Meru Game Lodge.

The purpose of our sanctuary is to receive rescued animals, be they orphaned or injured, and to rehabilitate them so that they may be returned to the wild as quickly as possible. Only those animals which clearly would not survive on their own in their natural habitat are provided with a permanent home in our very safe environment.

It is unfortunate that the more successful we are with the rehabilitation of animals, the less animals we actually have in the sanctuary and vice-versa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

The lodge are very cosily and lovely.The rooms are very charming and clean. Food very good especially dinner alfresco with the fireplace and nice staff...wildlife also very impressive. Recommendations!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jelena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The lodge wasn't far away from Arusha National Park, the staff were absolutely lovely and the wildlife just completed the experience. The rooms were lovely as well I didn't find anything wrong with it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank KatianaSaleiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I lead photo safaris, and after trying many others, I now have my guests start and finish their experience in Tanzania at Mt Meru Game Lodge each time. 2 nights at the beginning and a day room at the end. It has a true 'feel of Africa' that the big and more modern hotels do not provide, in a wonderfully peaceful environment surrounded by wildlife while recovering from jet lag. The food is always fresh, delicious and safe, the rooms are clean and the service is fantastic. I know my guests will never be disappointed, and for many this is their favorite experience over the larger more expensive lodges we stay in throughout the trip. I not only recommend Mt Meru Game Lodge, I use it multiple times each year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilliamCowger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The cabins are simple but cosy and charming. They are somewhat dated but overall fine. I did have a bad experience with a heavy iron luggage table collapsing on my shin which left me bleeding and really peed off !
What I really liked was the really great Indian food buffet dinner we had. Lots of variety and fresh high quality. Breakfast also really good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intimateplaces, Owner at Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Christo60, We were very sorry indeed to read about your experience with the luggage rack. How very annoying! Please drop us a line at reservations@intimate-places.com should you decide to travel back to Tanzania in the future and we will be delighted to offer you a night at Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary as our guest by way of an apology!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Mount Meru Game Lodge and Sanctuary was only 45 minutes drive from Kilimanjaro International Airport, a definite plus after a long days travel, including an overnight flight. As other reviewers have mentioned it has an old fashioned charm. We loved it. The service was excellent and food very good. Sitting outside our rooms, we saw eland, zebra, waterbuck, colobus monkeys and variety birds including an osprey and crowned cranes.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank COLNEYONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

As other reviews have stated, the accommodation is a bit dated, but I think that this add to the overall ambience that has been created. The staff are friendly, service is good and food is varied and tasty. The room I was in overlooked the sanctuary and you had an excellent view of the animals roaming therein. The room had two single beds in, which were a bit on the short side and hard. The room does not have air conditioning and therefore became quite stuffy and hot. The shower really needed replacing as the shower head was not at all powerful. However, for a one night stay, this room was fine. There are torches in the room to assist the walk to and from the reception/dining area. Bottled water is provided for your convenience, as is mosquito repellent. To add to the character and charm, i was awoken early by the baboons playing in the trees, which is a fun sight to watch.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.4 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 44 in Arusha
462 reviews
11.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 44 in Arusha
594 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#9 of 44 in Arusha
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 44 in Arusha
453 reviews
11.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 44 in Arusha
985 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

Address: Arusha-Moshi Road | Usa River, Arusha P.O.Box 2747, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range: £136 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary is located within 33 acres of mature, well manicured gardens bounded on one side by the tranquil waters of the Usa River and on the other by the private Sanctuary where our wildlife and birdlife reside. This wildlife and birdlife provide many of our guests with their first exciting game viewing experience. The Mount Meru Game Sanctuary was established in 1960 and over the course of the last half a century and more has received rescued animals from the wild. Normally either injured or orphaned, the sanctuary's first priority is always to rehabilitate these animals and to return them to their natural habitat. In cases where this is not possible, they are released into the sanctuary grounds where, joined by an enormous variety of birdlife, they are able to enjoy the unique freedom offered by our very safe environment. By choosing to stay with us, our guests play a very important role in helping these animals since the activities of the sanctuary are financed entirely by the lodge. Mount Meru Game Lodge is extremely fortunate to receive daily visits from troops of Black & White Colobus Monkeys. The Lodge features 15 guestrooms, including 2 suites, which seamlessly blend understated elegance with contemporary style. Our two suites lie generously situated in the garden overlooking the sanctuary. Each with a cozy bedroom and open living area, complete with fireplace. Both rooms offer a private garden gazebo where one can blissfully relax and soak up an atmosphere of well being. The main building of the lodge consists of a reception area, lounge and bar. The lounge, with its enormous picture windows and comfortable furniture, provides for relaxation in intimate surroundings. The bar is well stocked with a wide selection of spirits, beers and minerals which are complemented by a carefully selected collection of wines. To the front of the main building is a terrace which is shaded by enormous old Mango trees and which enjoys magnificent views over mature, carefully tended gardens to the Sanctuary beyond. In the grounds of the lodge can be found an 'outdoor dining room' which consists of a covered makuti restaurant located in our mature a gardens. The garden with its camp fire allows our guests to dine under the African star-lit sky whilst listening to the exotic night sounds. FREE WiFi is available to all visitors in the Lodges' public areas. Throughout its long history, the lodge & sanctuary have been a popular stop over for many VIP's and Government visitors. Various Presidents of African countries, celebrities, entrepreneurs and members of European Royal families have stayed with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary Hotel Arusha
Mount Meru Game Lodge And Sanctuary
Mount Meru Game Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing