We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Onsea House, probably the best guesthouse...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage
Ranked #3 of 97 Arusha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grimbergen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Onsea House, probably the best guesthouse...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2008

When we booked our Northern Tanzania Safari with Green Footprint Adventures, Arusha, they reserved for us three nights in Onsea House. It is situated outside of Arusha. Arriving late in the evening from Brussels/Schiphol we felt immediately at home. Attentive service, excellent food – even a complete dinner at our arrival at 10.30 pm – lovely garden, nice swimming pool and only 5 rooms.
I can confirm all other critics from other guests who stayed here before us: probably the best and most personal guesthouse in Arusha with his outstanding Belgian chef Axel.

  • Liked — Attentive service, excellent food and wine
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sixtyfiveplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    48
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
53
138
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2008

We stayed at Onsea House for 3 nights in January and enjoyed the setting. The grounds were nice and well-maintained and the pool was quite refreshing. Our room had a double bed and was located right off of the dining area which made it very loud at night with little privacy. Also, the room was quite hot through the night and would benefit from a ceiling fan. We found the staff to be attentive in general, though we did not get much help when we lacked hot water. Our principal disappointment had to do with the cuisine which was done in a French style with a seven course meal served nightly. We found this to be a bit pretentious for the setting and the quality of the food was variable as well and certainly could have included some more local tastes.

  • Liked — Grounds, pool
  • Disliked — Food, noisy/hot room
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmyonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2008

Onsea House was the best start to our honeymoon in Tanzania -- it was a shame we couldn't stay longer than one night! The hosts were responsive by email for booking and amazingly attentive when we arrived. Upon arrival, the 18 hours of flights/airports seemed to melt away, allowing us to relax before heading out for safari the next day.

Highly recommended! Morning consisted of amazing views of Mt. Meru, awakening to birds and a nice breakfast, and a wish to just spend one more day here!

  • Liked — Charming and relaxing location. Personalized meals were outstanding!
  • Disliked — Not enough time to truly enjoy the relaxing setting!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2007

Onsea House made a fabulous start to our honeymoon in June. It is in a gorgeous spot in the hills above Arusha, at the foot of Mount Meru and was the most genuinely welcoming place. Dirk the owner can't do enough for you, same as Axel the chef. The food is great here and the terrace with it's lush views is the perfect setting. We stayed before and after our safari in both the [spotless] room/suite off the main terrace. We booked directly (online) with them. Dirk had a taxi (Martin) collect us at Kilimanjaro airport and he arranged our safari for us (with ULTIMATE Safari) so we were collected from Onsea House after 2 lovely nights by Mohamed (our superb safari driver & guide) who took us to Lake Manyara, Serengeti etc and then back again to Onsea House for one more night of R&R before flying off to Zanzibar. We would HIGHLY recommend staying in Onsea House rather than in Arusha itself (15 mins in taxi). After a couple of hours in the town you will be VERY glad to go back to Onsea and not have to stay in the hotels which looked awful. Arusha is not an attractive place and can overwhelming if you haven't been in Africa before, especially the constant approaches from peddlars. We had intended going into Arusha to buy our safari from one of the many companies based there but would strongly recommend not doing that. Ultimate Safari (Mohamed the guide in particular) are fantastic & reasonable and Dirk books them at no extra charge. The market in Arusha is worth a stroll through for the experience, sights & sounds - of course you won't get through un-escorted for which you have to tip but don't let the boys bring you 'shopping' after. It's just a visit to their mates and a pressurised pain, not to mention a rip-off. The hosts at Onsea House are happy to give advice, safari tips etc on Tanzania. A great spot to start your African holiday.

  • Liked — Gorgeous views, good food, all their help with organising our trip
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Neetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tervuren
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2007

The environment and especially the garden (with) is a real paradise. Modern very luxury rooms. Ideal place to relax during a safari around arusha or for a stay at the foot of the mount Meru and even the Kilimanjaro. Good service, nice staff an a brilliant chef combining inventivity, Belgian star rated kitchen.

  • Liked — luxury rooms, garden, pool, excellent food
  • Disliked — no weak points
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank markfromtervuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerp, belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2007

Onsea House gives you excellent value for money! The rooms are magnificent and every room is different. The food is excellent, by far the best we have eaten in Africa! And last but not least : the hosts - Dirk and Axel - will make you feel really welcome (unlike in some hotels or lodges where service is rather unpersonal). You will not regret staying in Onsea House!!

  • Stayed November 2005, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tinneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2007

I visited Onsea House in June 2007, and reccommended it to a friend who stayed there in September 2007. This small inn is a gem - great location in the hills outside Arusha (only about 15 minutes from town, also convenient for safari transfers and day trips), beautiful grounds, gorgeous rooms, scads of attention from owners and staff, and great food. I can't reccommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyeSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
8.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
3.1 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
1.4 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
7.0 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 148 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage

Property: Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage
Address: Baraa Road | Moivaro, Moshono Village, Arusha 1259, Tanzania (Formerly Onsea House & Machweo Retreat)
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage is voted the best luxury bed and breakfast in Arusha and recommended by several experts as only boutique hotel and hip hideaway in the Arusha/Kilimanjaro region. Enjoy greater comfort and better food than any other guesthouse or restaurant, with more personalized service than in a hotel and more privacy than a lodge resort. Onsea House can be your home base for safaris across northern Tanzania. Machweo Wellness Retreat & Fine Dining offers the guests since September 2011 in total 9 extra spacious rooms, a second swimming pool with sauna and steam bath and a beautiful patio terrace to enjoy a tasty lunch or a candlelight dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage Hotel Arusha
Onsea House Country Inn And Guest Cottage
Country Inn Arusha
Arusha Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing