We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“best guest house with the best food and wine in east africa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage
Ranked #2 of 95 Arusha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best guest house with the best food and wine in east africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

i can not recommend this hotel enough ... the rooms were super, but what made this experience so great was the exceptional food and wine.

The chef is french ... so the food was exceptional, and the great selection of wine is kept in a proper wine cellar.

Thank you Axel and team for such a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ironego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    48
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
53
135
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Onsea House is a true gem in the heart of Africa. Having stayed there in 2012 and 2013, I would class this as one of my favourite hotels in the world. A true luxury in the centre of Africa. Not to mention Axel, the amazing master of all things you can eat, bringing passion and love to the taste buds.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maclpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
562 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Recently we spent time at Onsea House-first resting for 2 nights after our long plane trip--and before starting our safari, and then, spending time in the day room prior to boarding the plane home. We really enjoyed this place. The rooms are large and included, in addition to the sleeping area, a dining area with stocked refrigerator, and a bathroom-shower area. Amenities, including hair dryer, made this place very comfortable.
Meals were very good. We had an excellent dinner with each course accompanied by a wine. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Views are excellent from the lovely outdoor terrace of the restaurant and the grounds of Onsea House are attractive and well maintained.
Would not hesitate to go there again if in Arusha.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
597 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

This is a great place to recover from a long airplane trip or preparation for a long trip. Modern spacious rooms, wonderful forceful showers, very friendly folks, and a good restaurant with outdoor deck and view combine for a really good place in an out of the way place called Arusha. It is somewhere between four and five stars, but due to it being in arusha it deserves five stars. The negative side, is as you are sleeping away, you will be serenaded by roosters crowing, dogs barking, many dogs barking, dogs barking until 2 AM, cows mooing, goats talking, and a combination of noises that interrupt sound sleeping. But you are in Arusha!
ZB

Room Tip: stay in the new section!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zabriskibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providenciales
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Every year I come to Tanzania looking forward to many things but Onsea House has become one of the aspects of our annual trips that I look forward to most. Axel's food is world class and the service is so warm an inviting; a must-have if you have just climbed Kilimanjaro!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWealthyHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

My wife and I took a night out at Onsea House in Arusha to just get away from it all. Family was here to take care of the older kids - still had the 8 month old with us. The environment is very friendly and for a 'city' venue the surroundings are nice - peaceful with a good view.

Onsea is famous for its food and our night was no exception. The range was superb from a wonderful Cappuccino Rocket Soup to Egg Plant Lasagne to very nice lamb for the main. Dessert was also very nice - something you generally do not experience in Africa!

The room was beautiful - full King Bed and nice bathroom. It is roomy - not at all small and pokey like you get sometime.

Had a great time and would totally recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjwagener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Excessively nice hotels in Africa can make you feel like a colonialist, but the staff were so friendly it was a pleasure to stay. Nice rooms and pool and the food is very much Michelin style and quality. Had a pleasant walk on the path/roads around the hill the hotel is built on. Was only here for one night and it is a pity many people will visit at the start or end of a trip - it deserves a longer stay. Nice to be able to eat outside without any insects in sight.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank stressed_lawyer_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.1 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
1.4 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
7.0 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 140 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage

Property: Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage
Address: Baraa Road | Moivaro, Moshono Village, Arusha 1259, Tanzania (Formerly Onsea House & Machweo Retreat)
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage is voted the best luxury bed and breakfast in Arusha and recommended by several experts as only boutique hotel and hip hideaway in the Arusha/Kilimanjaro region. Enjoy greater comfort and better food than any other guesthouse or restaurant, with more personalized service than in a hotel and more privacy than a lodge resort. Onsea House can be your home base for safaris across northern Tanzania. Machweo Wellness Retreat & Fine Dining offers the guests since September 2011 in total 9 extra spacious rooms, a second swimming pool with sauna and steam bath and a beautiful patio terrace to enjoy a tasty lunch or a candlelight dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage Hotel Arusha
Onsea House Country Inn And Guest Cottage
Country Inn Arusha
Arusha Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing