We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Machweo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage
Ranked #3 of 126 Arusha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We were the only two guests staying at the Machweo lodges. Lunch was meant to be Ravioli but we just got the contents of the Ravioli without the pasta, I think the home made pasta envelopes had been over boiled and had disintegrated, upon showing the owner on my Ipad Ravioli I was informed that the images represented industrial Ravioli!, I disagreed and we have not stopped laughing since, very funny. The evening dinner was worse, the Lamb which was meant to be well done was raw upon been cut, we just ate the vegetables and bread, the chef spent the night drinking along side our table I think he maybe should have cooked for his only two guests. Rooms are OK we stayed two nights, the first night we were kept awake until midnight by a local church who had a very loud preacher on amplification, this is not the lodges fault but guests should be aware of the noise potential. The rooms have no Air con and we asked for a fan twice but we were told there are none provided, so you have a very stuffy room and if you need to close the windows to keep the noise out you get a sweat box for the night. I estimated a staff ration of 7 to 1 but we lifted our luggage in and out ourselves and we could not ring reception because there are no phones in the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chezz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

The house is so posh and relaxing, online bookings are fast, responses from front desk is fast.
the hotel is located outside but near the town under cool environments. you can see mount meru.
spa services are glamorous.

Nice place for retreat due to quieter environments

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Dirk was incredibly helpful and planned out a safari for us with recommendations of where to stay even. We couldn't have asked for a better trip to the Ngorongoro crater.
It's so hard planning trips when you don't know anything about the area and Dirk was a godsent! Wish we could have spent more time at Onsea enjoying the grounds and ammenities but there's always a next time!
Thanks for everything Dirk!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The hospitality, the setting, the dining, the landscaping, the architecture,...all excellent. Stayed there in February 2013 pre and post Kilimanjaro climb and will be on my mind until I schedule another Kili climb or a safari. Looking forward to a longer visit next time. Simply a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian5995999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

A friendly, attractive and charming little inn, with a very ambitious kitchen, Onsea House is a perfect place to stay before or after the rigors of a safari or a long plane trip. Axel, the Belgian owner/chef is a dedicated, talented cook who excels at the difficult task of running a serious restaurant in a setting remote from the normal sources of supply -- both of top-level ingredients and highly-trained staff. There's a nice pool, great views of Mt. Meru, a quiet setting, and extremely pleasant rooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WLG37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

i can not recommend this hotel enough ... the rooms were super, but what made this experience so great was the exceptional food and wine.

The chef is french ... so the food was exceptional, and the great selection of wine is kept in a proper wine cellar.

Thank you Axel and team for such a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ironego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Onsea House is a true gem in the heart of Africa. Having stayed there in 2012 and 2013, I would class this as one of my favourite hotels in the world. A true luxury in the centre of Africa. Not to mention Axel, the amazing master of all things you can eat, bringing passion and love to the taste buds.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maclpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
603 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
474 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
1,009 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#9 of 43 in Arusha
137 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage

Address: Baraa Road | Moivaro, Moshono Village, Arusha 1259, Tanzania (Formerly Onsea House & Machweo Retreat)
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range: £219 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage is voted the best luxury bed and breakfast in Arusha and recommended by several experts as only boutique hotel and hip hideaway in the Arusha/Kilimanjaro region. Enjoy greater comfort and better food than any other guesthouse or restaurant, with more personalized service than in a hotel and more privacy than a lodge resort. Onsea House can be your home base for safaris across northern Tanzania. Machweo Wellness Retreat & Fine Dining offers the guests since September 2011 in total 9 extra spacious rooms, a second swimming pool with sauna and steam bath and a beautiful patio terrace to enjoy a tasty lunch or a candlelight dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage Hotel Arusha
Onsea House Country Inn And Guest Cottage
Country Inn Arusha
Arusha Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing