We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding! A MUST if you're traveling to Arusha!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage
Ranked #2 of 143 Arusha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My husband and I just recently returned from our honeymoon in Tanzania, Africa. We traveled to Tanzania to climb Mt. Kilimanajaro and go on a safari. Between our trek and safari, we stayed at the Onsea House for 3 nights in total.

Let me begin by saying the Inn itself is simply amazing! The decor, the layout of the rooms and hotel, the dining room..everything was PERFECT!! Very clean, extremely safe, welcoming atmosphere- second to none!

The service was outstanding! The people working at Onsea House were very very friendly and inviting. The owner is constantly available to chat with (an extremely nice gentleman), and the receptionist was always very helpful! It really does feel like a second home when you're traveling.

As for the food- WOW!! The cook is incredible! Dinners were excellent.

I would NOT hesitate at all to recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a luxury inn! Lovely, lovely place!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

My wife and I recently spent a couple of nights in Onsea House, before -in between -and after safari and climbing activities. We travelled a lot in Africa but never had this experience before. Thank you Griet for your soft, welcoming nature and thank you to all the staff who made our stop-overs unforgettable. The scenery is fabulous, the food finger-licking, the rooms of an unimaginable comfort on the continent and the people are touching, warm and helpful. Our number one in Africa so far! Stay blessed Onsea People

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayShine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Really welcoming hotel - we only stayed one night but the staff were excellent. Our room and bathroom were gorgeous. Lovely big bed. The restaurant was fantastic and we would not hesitate to recommend the hotel and food to anyone.
We booked via Nick from Tanzania Specialists and he was amazing, booking us fabulous accomodation for our safari's and Zanzibar stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShudTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Onsea House was the last stop in our 12-day trip in Serengeti. It was touted (by guests I think) as a luxury lodge in Arusha. Having not seen what the other lodges/hotels were like in the city, we can only judge it on its own merit. Top of the main things going for it was the food! Our package included dinner, and I have to agree that the quality of food is top notch. Head chef Axel, who is also a partner in the lodge, produced excellent food and we enjoyed every morsel of it. We had lunch just before we left, but we had major issues with service. We gave ourselves over an hour to have lunch as we needed to depart at 1.30pm for our flight, but by 1.10pm our orders – a burger and a chicken salad - hadn’t arrived! Though we were almost packed, there were last minute things to throw into the luggage. I was most disappointed, when the chef and joint owner arrived for their lunch at 1pm, they were served first. in the end, we told them we couldn’t wait for the food and went off to our room. But because we had already paid (to save time since the food was so late), they sent it to the room. We only had 10mins to rush through the grub, I wished I had a longer time because the chicken salad was indeed yummy, and so were the fries. I went in to do the last minute packing and when I came out for more fries, they were already cleared. So service needs to be improved!
Two other things we enjoyed at Onsea house – the running hot water from the handheld shower! Glorious upgrade from the bucket showers we had for a week. and a moisturizer which helped our dried sunburnt skins. Oh, and we had a lovely visitor in our room – one of the resident cats who followed me wherever I went.
Other than these things, unfortunately, we weren’t impressed with Onsea House. We had room 1 at the main building. It had a lovely terrace that we shared with room 2, which was occupied by the most sullen family we had ever met throughout the whole safari (everyone we met during the trip were smiling and so friendly). Although the room was spacious and sunny, the furnishings look really worn out and dated. It reminded me of a motel room. The curtains were frayed, while those in the bathroom were yellow with stains. The wardrobe doors couldn’t slide, and though they gave tea bags, there was no kettle or a flask of hot water. We each had one hard lumpy pillow each and one blanket on a soft bed. When I asked for an extra blanket as it was chilly in the night, they didn’t have extras. In the end, the lady gave us the throws that were in the terrace.
We had a quick look at the rooms close to the restaurant and they looked newer and in better shape, so request for those rooms. The owners should spend a bit on upgrading the rooms in the main building. it's such a pity as the grounds of Onsea House is beautiful.
Sadly, it was back to hard reality at Onsea House, after being pampered by managers and staff at the bush camps and lodges in the safari.

Room Tip: Ask for room closer to the restaurant - they are newer, cleaner and warmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My wife & I stayed here before and after our hike up Kilimanjaro. We enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms were clean and spacious, the staff helpful, and the food was absolutely amazing. Many others have written about the chef when reviewing this hotel, so I don't feel the need to repeat what has been written previously, other than to say that this is world class dining without a question. When we returned from our trek (a day early) all of our luggage was waiting in our room, our laundry was done and staff immediately brought our valuables to make us feel at home.

If I were to make some constructive criticisms, I would say that the breakfast selection could be better. There wasn't a great deal on offer, with even a jug of water not available on the breakfast table. Also, the room we had was relatively near to the restaurant and thus a little noisy both in the evening and early morning.

One other point to make would me to guests arriving in the middle of the night, as we did, there is no one available at reception so it took quite a while for us to receive our room key which was a little frustrating after a long, tiring journey.

However, these points should not detract too much from what was a really enjoyable stay in a quiet, well maintained hotel, with a world class chef making it a memorable hotel for us.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJL1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We only stayed at the Onsea House for 1 night, our last night, and it was a great experience. It's a fantastic place to relax, enjoy the food and peace and quiet.
- wonderfull surrounding, you're outside of Arusha (not in the city center)
- excellent food
- beautifull room decor
- small, cosy and domestic
- luxurious (!)
It's recommended to stay here at least 1 or 2 nights when you're in Arusha. I'm going back for sure!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

After that very long travel time to Arusha, what an oasis ! It is very visually apealing, and so quiet, comfortable, it feels like a special hideaway. The whole place is beautifully designed, down to the smallest details. We were told that much of the furniture is made locally to owner Derek's design and specification. Our room was very clean, comfortable. It had a balcony with a fantastic view,same as the restaurant. The food is very ambitious, and very good. It's all made there. The set menu is several courses, and includes very nice wine pairings. We appreciated them holding our bags while we went on safari. While our safari lodgings were comfortable, Onsea was also extremely nice to come back to ! Excellent, friendly service the entire time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quackmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
1.3 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
484 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
523 reviews
3.1 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 45 in Arusha
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
3 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#5 of 45 in Arusha
645 reviews
1.8 mi away
Christina House
Christina House
#6 of 143 in Arusha
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage

Address: Baraa Road | Moivaro, Moshono Village, Arusha 1259, Tanzania (Formerly Onsea House & Machweo Retreat)
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range: £162 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage is voted the best luxury bed and breakfast in Arusha and recommended by several experts as only boutique hotel and hip hideaway in the Arusha/Kilimanjaro region. Enjoy greater comfort and better food than any other guesthouse or restaurant, with more personalized service than in a hotel and more privacy than a lodge resort. Onsea House can be your home base for safaris across northern Tanzania. Machweo Wellness Retreat & Fine Dining offers the guests since September 2011 in total 9 extra spacious rooms, a second swimming pool with sauna and steam bath and a beautiful patio terrace to enjoy a tasty lunch or a candlelight dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onsea House Country Inn And Guest Cottage
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage Hotel Arusha
Country Inn Arusha
Arusha Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing