We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Ranked #1 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great property”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed here in between lodges in the Masai Mara and Serengeti as it's tough getting from one to the other in a day. The location is very close to the local airport so leaving for the early morning flight was a 10 min drive. The lodge is on a working coffee plantation so you can buy beans to take with you if you have space in your bag. The lodge is made up of individual cottages well spaced apart so you have a feeling of privacy once inside. The decor is cool with a coffee glass divider between the seating area and the bed. I really liked the outside seating area with small fireplace and the open bathing area. If I hadn't been enroute to the Serengeti I would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    241
    42
    19
    5
See reviews for
167
347
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

From the moment we arrived at the airport, we got treated exceptionally well... the driver was friendly and very knowledgeable of his country and even spoke Spanish.. I lovely surprise...
We arrived at the hotel well before dark, the surrounding was amazingly beautiful with excellent members of staff, wanting nothing more than make our welcome the best they could.. and they did.
Our lodge was incredibly beautiful, a spacious lodge with wonderful surrounding and all the amenities that you could possible need. from home to home.. that how we felt.. the bathroom was luxurious and we had our own private chimenea for the cold evenings.. sadly we didn't used it.. but was lovely.
At the restaurant, once again the staff was more than willing to help us.. we choose the local food .. and we asked for a second helping.. it was that good..
The gardens were lovely with a swimming pool area and lovely sitting arrangements for lunch.
We found out in our return.. that we had the best lodge number 30..
The food was very good as well, with plenty of selection including breakfast.. and free Wifi.. that is a plus..
All in all a wonderful first stay for us.. was fabulous highly recommended..

Room Tip: Ask if at all possible for lodge number 30
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaDoha_Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha Region, Tanzania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Beautiful place surrounded by coffee plantations in Arusha, worth spending a whole day, not just the night. The air is peaceful, the rooms are full of coffee details making it unique and very original.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Monroe
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My sister won a 10-day safari starting at Arusha Coffee Lodge. The whole time I was thinking, what did I get myself into. We arrived at the Lodge and began My Wonderful Experience. From the porters to the check-in and forward, I was treated like a wanted customer. At no time did I feel out of place. They waited on me at every corner.
I lodged in a one bedroom Suite. Walked in and was extremely surprise. Large room with lower living area with upper(2-steps up) open bedroom, with netting. Something you have to get use to in Africa is the netting. Large bathroom and shower/tub area.
Seating for eating could be inside or outside. It is very friendly and comforting. I sat outside under a large umbrella table with the buffet situated under the near overhang of building. Food was super.
All about the Arusha Coffee Lodge is a A+A+A+. We stayed one night.

Room Tip: Do not expect a/c. Large overhead fan works great. No telephones
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here two nights when we first arrived in Tanzania. It was a beautiful property and a great place to rest after 30 hours of traveling and before beginning our safari. We stayed in a suite which was very spacious and clean. Our only criticism was that one of the nearby trees had branches brushing the roof of the suite and woke us a few times.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccjs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed in a suite and the only criticism was the noise of the traffic from the main road. We very much enjoyed our early morning breakfast on our outward trip and on our return had a very enjoyable evening meal.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite which was very comfortable although the decor was a little on the dark side. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonny002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maun, Botswana
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Unfortunately my friends and I only had one night at the Lodge before our safari, but from the moment we checked in to the morning we left the service, food and ambience was top class. I would recommend getting a room on the south side of the property as one can hear quite a bit of noise from traffic on the main road. If you are keen on birds then Arusha Coffee Lodge has quite a few species to be seen and heard, in fact a Lilac Breasted Roller has a nest up in a dead tree close to the reception area!!
The rooms are very cosy and well furnished and very tastefully done. I also enjoyed the fresh coffee that is brewed from the Lodge's own coffee bushes! I will be definitely be back hopefully for a longer stay.

Room Tip: South side rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.9 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
943 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
560 reviews
6.9 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
255 reviews
9.0 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 42 in Arusha
135 reviews
15.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arusha Coffee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Coffee Lodge

Property: Arusha Coffee Lodge
Address: Dodoma Road, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arusha Coffee Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arusha Coffee Lodge is a haven for calming composure before or after your Elewana safari. Located in Arusha, at the foot of Mt. Meru, nestled among seemingly endless acres of emerald green coffee bushes. Experience unexpected style and service, while you indulge yourself in the sophisticated plantation styled comfort of the Arusha Coffee Lodge. Lavishly furnished and self contained, the Arusha Coffee Lodge is comprised of 18- private Plantation Houses and 12 Plantation Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Arusha Coffee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arusha Coffee Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing