We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort, but no management presence.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Ranked #1 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We visited Tanzania and Zanzibar on our vacation from August 18-30, 2014. We stayed at the Coffee Lodge on the 18th and 19th. The resort was very nicely appointed, and the front office personnel as well as the dining room personnel were very friendly. However, there was no management presence. A manager(s) never identified themselves to us during our stay. We had no idea who management was. This was the only resort during our vacation where no-one from management greeted or welcomed us. Other that that, the resort was fine with one exception. The shower flooded the room because the shower drain was slow or clogged. We were in room 10.

Room Tip: Ask about the shower drain or test it out before unpacking your gear.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank eric a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
There are newer reviews for Arusha Coffee Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

This was the first place we stayed on our trip to East Africa. Not having been to Africa before, we did not know what to expect and after driving throug the chaos of Arusha, we were very happy to find that the lodge was located in a quite location amongst coffee trees. Two nights here were fantastic, giving us some time to explore Arusha and to recover from the long flight. The cottages are very big, well decorated and comfortable. The meals are western with some Indian mix. It could be nice if they do offer some local dishes, to get a taste of Tanzania. All in all a very plesent stay.

Room Tip: It seems taht all rooms are the same and scattered around the coffee plantation. So I think you wil...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This is a great place for a rest and staging point for your onward journey north or south. Great rooms, great food, friendly staff, Internet and big rooms.

Beware if you are old and worn out make sure you get a room close to reception. The far rooms are a hike for older people and you will be worn out by the time you get there.

Small item but not if you can't walk.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms can be far far away from reception and dining. So take note.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful property and a great place to relax after a safari. We booked a plantation suite and it was lovely! The only fault was the shower leak to the outside which causes a lot of water around the bathroom. Also there is no blind from the room to the bathroom so expect a lot of light from early morning. The coffee guide walk was very interesting! Thanks to Jeremiah for his kind attention. The food is good, dinner better than breakfast. The one negative point is the reception staff, not friendly at all! But all other staff are very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BestMemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We were a family of 12, travelling through Kenya and Tanzania on a safari holiday. We arrived at the Arusha Coffee Lodge on the recommendation of our tour guide who assured us that this was the best place for lunch before our international flight to Nairobi, Kenya. After staying in tents and camp sites with barbecue food and not much variety, this buffet lunch, set amidst the lush green of the Lodge's estates was a delightful and restful surprise. The live station with stir fry vegetables was superb and so was the salad bar that had sun dried tomatoes sharing space with Indian pickles and chopped green chillies. Perhaps what came as the best gift was the fluffy plain white rice and yogurt that our South Indian group grabbed, starved of home food for a week. The coffee was fabulous, as is the coffee throughout Tanzania and Kenya and the service gentle and courteous. The only complaint I will have is that for a lodge and restaurant that is so highly rated, they dont accept American Express which left our group embarassed and scrambling for cash at the last minute. Also the irritating practice of not accepting US dollars dated earlier than 2002 had caught us by surprise. But overall a very good stop before or soon after landing in Kilimanjaro airport

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Mucharooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Arusha Coffee Lodge is situated in a coffee plantation, and yet on the outskirts of Arusha so can be reached easily.
The semi-detached lodges are situated in large, beautifully landscaped grounds. The lodges are beautifully decorated, with large beds, seating corner and a large bathroom. Large yet cozy restaurant with fine cuisine and good wines. Separate bar area with outside seating. Very friendly staff who clearly enjoy their work. About one hour from Kilimanjaro intl. Airport.
Very much recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rik_vd_Schalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed at Arusha Coffee Lodge only for 1 evening enroute to safari within Tanzania. I would highly recommend this location and only wish we could have stayed longer!

The lodge is 10 minutes from Arusha airport with outbound flights to varying safari locations around Tanzania. It was also close to the Outpost hotel where half our group went the next day enroute to the begin their climb up Mount Kilimanjaro.

We were greeted with a nice wet towel and cool drink upon arrival. Check in was very efficient and quick.

The rooms are large cabins with 2 rooms back to back, giving privacy. Our room had a large bathroom, double sink, a tub and shower. It would have been nice to have hooks to hang the towels up but it was not a big issue. There was a blow dryer, very nice soap and shampoo, conditioner and lotion. There was a chocolate truffle bedside during turndown and a nice little bookmark gift from the lodge. The room had a nice sized living area including a sofa, lounge chair and fireplace. There were no bugs in the room but the mosquito netting was in place during the evening. The evening was quiet and peaceful - perfect for arrival after a long-haul flight.

We had a late dinner at the bar and shared a platter and pizza which was great along with a very yummy burger for one of us. Menu was very reasonable and we paid in USD.

We stayed for breakfast the next day and it was absolutely wonderful - a full menu with the most wonderful coffee, we all agreed. My big regret was not buying any coffee before i left from the gift shop! Service was fabulous, food was excellent, grounds were immaculate. We had some monkeys visit the rooftops while we had our breakfast which was lovely.

Again, a wonderful first night in Tanzania and the perfect location to start our holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wunderous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
4.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
591 reviews
15.2 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
462 reviews
3.9 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
451 reviews
2.8 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 43 in Arusha
85 reviews
9.0 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 43 in Arusha
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arusha Coffee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Coffee Lodge

Address: Dodoma Road, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: £343 - £581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arusha Coffee Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arusha Coffee Lodge is a haven for calming composure before or after your Elewana safari. Located in Arusha, at the foot of Mt. Meru, nestled among seemingly endless acres of emerald green coffee bushes. Experience unexpected style and service, while you indulge yourself in the sophisticated plantation styled comfort of the Arusha Coffee Lodge. Lavishly furnished and self contained, the Arusha Coffee Lodge is comprised of 18- private Plantation Houses and 12 Plantation Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Arusha Coffee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arusha Coffee Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing