We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two days in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Ranked #1 of 195 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2010

I stayed at ACL in July 2009 and was warmly welcomed by the host and hostess. My room was absolutely wonderful - possibly the best atmosphere I've experienced anywhere. Maybe a bit too romantic for a solo traveller :-)
Joan colgate - Cape Town

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayaysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at this Coffee plantation lodge for some 3 days,I have to admit it's rooms are pretty lovely especially the plantation suites that we stayed at.However the service at this property is actually the worst i had encountered during my African Safari Trip of all the lodgings we visited.First on arrival,there was no one to open the safari vehicle door for us,our driver guide had to do this himself,we approached the reception literally carrying our own luggage,the towels not folded in a presentable manner,we had few luggage but we had almost 3 staff crave to carry our bags..probably for tips! room induction was poor,couldn't understand most words spoken by the attendants,during meals we had to call service staff for orders as though they we blind to notice guest table needs,communication is simply a barrier to these staff! no telephones in the rooms,we had to walk all the way to the front desk area to ask for anything,smiles are tough to come by,rooms aren't cleaned on time,we had to go to the rooms to get keys even during our 3rd day of stay meaning no security is guaranteed,the guest shop has very expensive items compared to the other safari shops we visited even in Arusha town,the management was not so welcoming save for a young tall man in glasses,at the reception,Timothy if am not mistaken,who strived to make our stay worthy by frequently bringing up conversations not only to us but we noticed to other guests too including a disabled chinese man who had troubles in speech but this young man gave him some load of help if i remember and if it were not for the love of hospitality in him,we'd have asked for our money back! such figures are seriously needed for the property's prosperity since not even the lodge management gave us much care like him and let alone the poor semi educated staff who to my opinion valued tips more than service! I made a note of a Mr. Gaston who likewise strived to bring smiles guests in the restaurant.this lodge better do something quick before it's business melts down coz of poor guest service! they need a guest service executive to straighten them up or probably more hospitality training!! not worthy for the money we paid for their services!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank printjournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Having stayed in some of the usual places in Arusha before we were unsure what to expect but the Arusha Coffee Lodge is a breath of fresh air. Set outside of Arusha but within 10 mins of the domestic airport. It is approximately 1 hour and a half from the international airport Kilimanjaro. Set within the grounds of a small coffee plantation the rooms are very spacious and you have lots of living space. Lunch can be enjoyed in the gardens under the shade of large parasols. Service was friendly and attentive. Would recommend this to travellers who want something a little better than the usual Arusha standard before embarking on Safari.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

I hosted a large group at the Arusha Coffee Lodge recently. The Plantation Suites are superb, food was delicious & beautifully presented. The service and attention from both management and staff were over and above anything else we experienced in Tanzania. They have no fitness centre, but you can walk or go for a run in the beautifully serene coffee plantations.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Didi11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights on my honeymoon. The place is ok, nice looking but it has this outdoors feel to it, as the rooms are all wood. We did not like the food here, as the meat in Africa in general tastes funny to me. One good thing though, my wife forgot her bag and wallet there, and when we went back they had it ready for us. The bar is nice, cold beer! Cheers!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saracen2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

This is a typical example of a great place that is not managed well; a few years ago a friend of ours stayed here and had some of his things disappeared in his room; we didn't take it seriously and decided to stay here with our friends anyway.

The hotel is beautiful, outskirts of Arusha, so you are away from downtown but being by the highway, you hear car noise all the time...feels like being in a safari lodge with car traffic; the rooms are fantastic, nicely decorated; bathroom incredible; but the service and management a disaster...

One of our friends had his brand new MAC laptop stolen and another one had his electric shaver also stolen from inside the suitcase on their storage facilities. They couldn't care less about what happened and it was obvious that even though they claimed that an investigation was and would happen, they had no plans of doing so.

It was like a joke. I guess I would recommend this place if you are not concerned about being robbed and go home missing items in your luggage. I am sure there is a gang operating in the hotel for years which the manager is either not aware of it; or is part of it. It is really a shame, such a great place with so much potential have situations like that happening all the time. I guess they are counting on rich tourists who are distracted and won't notice that something is missing and have no plans of visiting Tanzania again.

Another strange thing was that our room had a mini bar but it was locked and the key was never offered and since you don't have room service you can not have a beer
unless you run to the restaurant and ask for one; cheap detail considering how much we were paying for the room...

Apart from having our friends being robbed, great place...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank intlalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

just spent one night here before safari and then spent an afternoon after the safari its a nice location,in the gardens of a coffee plantation.the lodges were very nice here,the bar restaurant lounge area are also very nice,the staff very friendly,good choice of food and very tasty.couldn't really fault it all,its not a fantastic luxury 5 star place,but still a really good place to stay.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank hector-grengros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
15.2 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
510 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
631 reviews
3.9 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 45 in Arusha
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
472 reviews
15.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
10.3 mi away
Arusha Serena Hotel, Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arusha Coffee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Coffee Lodge

Address: Dodoma Road, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 195 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: £311 - £657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arusha Coffee Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arusha Coffee Lodge is a haven for calming composure before or after your Elewana safari. Located in Arusha, at the foot of Mt. Meru, nestled among seemingly endless acres of emerald green coffee bushes. Experience unexpected style and service, while you indulge yourself in the sophisticated plantation styled comfort of the Arusha Coffee Lodge. Lavishly furnished and self contained, the Arusha Coffee Lodge is comprised of 18- private Plantation Houses and 12 Plantation Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Arusha Coffee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arusha Coffee Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing