We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay before heading out for safari”
Review of Kibo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kibo Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The Kibo Palace Hotel was not as big as the pictures make it look. BUT it was a great hotel. Nice sized rooms (we needed a triple), very clean, hot water for showers, breakfast was buffet and very good (both african and european/american options), and most of all very accommodating to our group of 10. Great job Kibo Palace

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bedgeredge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kibopalacehotel, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Our sincere appreciation for the great review and we are pleased that our facilities and services met your expectations.

We would be happy if you could accept to be our Brand Ambassador wherever you go.

It will be a great pleasure to host you on your return visit to Arusha and trust that you shall recommend us to your friends and family visiting our beautiful City.

Have an awesome weekend ahead.

Charity

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

It's not a terrible hotel especially in comparison to the local competition but it does offer bad value for money. We had many small issues, none of which anybody seemed to particularly care about enough to remedy.

I can't be bothered to list the whole litany of petty problems aside from the one that bothered me the most - the pool. The first day I wanted to use the pool I was told that I couldn't (it had also been fenced off) as the whole area had been rented for some kind of gala dinner that evening. If I book a hotel that has a pool, I expect to be able to use it, not be told to go away if the hotel gets a better offer for it. Even the next day it was clear that this was intended to be more of a looking-pool than a swimming pool as it wasn't set-up for use. No loungers, no towels etc, just restaurant tables right around it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zipfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kibopalacehotel, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking your time to review our property. We note your concerns and we would be more than happy to hear all of them to enable us make amends. There is always a Duty Manager to take care of our guests needs and i am sure he or she would have been of assistance during your stay. It is unfortunate that you were unable to enjoy your swim during your stay on the 1st day. Pool beds and towels are available as well as a pool attendant every day from 07.00 a.m to 06.00 p.m. when the pool closes.

We are however delighted to note that the location, sleep quality, rooms and cleanliness made your stay enjoyable.

Please feel free to reach me on sm@kibopalacehotel.com to share with us on all areas of improvement.

Have a lovely day.

Charity

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

They lost our hamburger order, and we were the only ones in the restaurant, and even though I complained. (They waived the charge.)
The buffet food was disappointing, with tough meat.
Other than that, it was outstanding, and definitely the best place in town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kibopalacehotel, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for a great review on TripAdvisor and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted that there was a problem with your food order and we do sincerely apologize for that glitch. We are also happy to know that the Supervisor on Duty compensated by waiving the bill. This is not a normal occurrence at the hotel and the necessary measures have been put in place.

We have discussed with our Executive Chef to check on the quality of meat provided by the suppliers. The hotel is renowned for it's excellent food and we continue to offer delectable cuisine. The suppliers have been advised accordingly and we assure you and others that this is not something that will arise again.

Thank you so much once again and do look forward to hosting you, family or friends in the future.

Warm regards,

Charity

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

A very pleasant and child friendly place with comfortable rooms and a good restaurant. Good for counting down to a safari and even better for winding down after a safari. One thing families with kids should watch out for: In some of the rooms there is a sliding window quite low which should be child-proofed. The location is reasonable about a 20-minute walk from the clock tower.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Batuta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kibopalacehotel, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Batuta,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review our property and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kibo Palace endeavours to cater for both business and leisure travel and we have gone ahead to ensure that children feel at home. We are glad that we met your expectations in facilities and services offered at Kibo Palace and we do look forward to hosting you in the future.

Warm regards from Arusha.

Charity

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Arusha town is one of the best cities we visited this year. A perfect and magnificent place to be while in Arusha town is the Kibo palace hotel which has been built strategically and with excellent facilities. The staff are very friendly welcoming and the ambiance of the hotel is breathtaking.The poolside is also nice.We were privileged to visit the hotel during one of their co-oporate business networking meting and i must applaud the staff for their organization and nice delivery of services.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivian608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kibopalacehotel, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Dear Vivian,

Trust you are keeping well back home in Kenya.

Thank you for your review and we are glad that our hotel and services met your expectations. We are also pleased to learn that you were part and parcel of our corporate networking night - a unique forum that brings together the business community and professionals in Arusha. We hope that you were able to learn and make contacts through this great networking forum.

Please do feel free to contact me on sm@kibopalacehotel.com when you plan you next visit and we can share a cup of coffee.

Have an awesome weekend.

Charity

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Kibo Palace Hotel is the place to stay if you are lucky enough to be in Arusha, Tanzania. This hotel offers beautiful, modern and comfortable rooms, a wonderful pool and poolside bar in the midst of green, lush flowers, delicious food and excellent service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ljenks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kibopalacehotel, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Madam,

Our sincere appreciation for rating our facility on trip advisor. We are glad that the team met your expectations in all ways and we shall be more than happy to host you again or your friends and family during their stay/visits to Arusha.

Please do feel free to get in touch with me should you be visiting Arusha soon.

Regards,

Charity

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I Stayed at the Kibo Palace while on a business trip a few years back and i must say it was the right choice due to its close proximity to Arusha town . The hotel is located in a quiet and serene environment with nature all around it making it possible to quickly unwind after a long and demanding day at work .the breakfast is all what you need to start the day on high gear with excellent service and hosts and hostesses ready to make you stay very pleasant.The rooms are exquisite with a number of hotel complementaries .I loved the sauna after a swim which completed my evening .Overall its a hotel you cannot afford to ignore the next time you are in Arusha.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ngugy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kibopalacehotel, Director of Sales at Kibo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Ngugy,

Thank you for your review and we are glad that our hotel met your expectations during your last stay. I am happy to advise you that the sumptuous breakfast your enjoyed continues to be a favourite for most as it gives them a great start to the day. We recognize that breakfast is the most important meal of the day hence, we keep it special.

We continuously maintain the facilities and our staff go through continuous training to ensure that the same high standards and quality are maintained at all times.

I will be happy to share a cup of coffee with you or a drink during your next visit. Please feel free to contact me on sm@kibopalacehotel.com

Charity

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
1,035 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
464 reviews
1.0 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
94 reviews
11.4 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kibo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kibo Palace Hotel

Address: Old Moshi Road | P O Box 2523, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arusha
#3 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: £146 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kibo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KIBO PALACE HOTEL: Named after the highest peak of Africa’s highest mountain, Mt Kilimanjaro, Kibo Palace Hotel is one of Arusha's most exciting and innovative luxury hotels. The contemporary and African decor gives this gem in the heart of Arusha a great attitude. The hotel is located 45 minutes drive from Kilimanjaro International Airport (KIA) and a 15-minute walk from Arusha city center and the Arusha International Conference Center. The hotel hosts professionals, the business community and international organizations to a Corporate Networking Cocktail every last Thursday of the month offering them a platform to exchange ideas and enhance businesses and also encourage personal growth for the professionals through inviting great speakers to these event. Kibo Palace Hotel offers a range of diverse facilities for both business travelers and leisure stays. These include:- 77 tastefully designed luxurious guestrooms and suites. All rooms are equipped with modern amenities to make the stay comfortable.- Fully-equipped conference and meeting facilities which can accommodate up to 150 people, well-appointed with the necessary modern equipment – Wireless Internet, Video Conferencing Facilities, LCD Projectors, State-of-the-Art Audio Visual Equipment and secretarial services.- The Kilimanjaro Restaurant will satisfy the most discerning gastronomic connoisseur with a splash of African, Continental, Asian or Oriental cuisine.- The Lounge Bar at Kibo Palace Hotel is a pleasant and sophisticated meeting place, ideal for an aperitif or an after-dinner drink. The guests can relax and sip wines, champagnes and classic cocktails prepared by expert barmen. The hotel has a happy hour and live entertainment every Wednesday and Friday evening from 05.00 p.m. to 08.00 p.m.- The Pool Bar is located near the swimming pool with a view of our lush gardens as a sundowner serving a variety of fresh juices and snacks. Recreational facilities include- Outdoor swimming pool set in landscaped gardens.- Health & fitness center with state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam bath and massage parlour.- Arusha Gymkhana’s 9-hole golf course and 7 tennis courts are situated 3 minutes drive from the hotel. Other services: Forex bureau open from 07.00 a.m. to 10.00 p.m., Airport transfers and car hire, VIP airport transfers in luxury vehicles, Gemstones boutique, Event Management, Safari bookings, Wireless internet complimentary for all in-house guests. The beautifully landscaped lush garden around the hotel’s pool area is one of the most prominent venues in town for staging wedding and outdoor functions. We offer a variety of facilities and rooms, specially adapted bathrooms and wider access for wheelchairs, as well as other facilities including parking for physically challenged persons. Kibo Palace Hotel, with its diverse facilities and friendly service, is a preferred destination for international travelers, holidaymakers as well as local businessmen and families. The multinational management team of the hotel is continually strives to provide excellent service maintaining an international standard for all its facilities on offer; all these combine to deliver an unforgettable personal experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kibo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kibo Palace Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing