We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel with friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kibo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kibo Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Great hotel with friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at Kibo Palace when we were there to climb Kilimanjaro. It was a very pleasant experience. Rooms were clean and very well maintained through out our stay. We ate at the restaurant several times - breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast was great with a good spread. Lunch and dinner were good but might get a little repetitive. Staff are friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of mount meru.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RohitNagarajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    116
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
37
57
18
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es salaam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel has a beauty look, and is warm enough even if m alone I relax. Standard of services has never dropped, they have well arranged rooms and very clean. Everything is just on point. Breakfast is excellent. The garden view is well kept , I feel like a queen at Kibo Palace alwaiz.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REeeeeeeeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
1,247 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband and I stayed with 5 kids and my parents at Kibo Palace for 1 night before we headed out on safari. It was a very nice hotel with all the amenities and a great stop over for our big group. I wouldn't recommend it for a long stay because it is kind of a generic business type hotel but for one or two nights, it is a welcome reprieve from the hustle and bustle of Arusha.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misopiso88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Kibo Palace Hotel was an amazing place to stay, my son and I stayed there for two weeks, everything was amazing especially the staff. Can't talk highly enough of the service especially from Jimmy, Valerian, Kennedy and Midjimbul (sorry about spelling)! Would defenitaley go there again when we return to Arusha.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sharyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I have 3 words to describe this hotel – dishonest, dishonest, dishonest! So much happened it is hard to know where to start.

We had a booking of about 20 people staying for nearly a week. Two of us were arriving a night before the others. When making the booking we were told that they did not have rooms for those arriving early as it was a Saturday night and so a busy time. I thanked them and said we would book somewhere else. Magically the rooms suddenly become available. I should have been suspicious right away but we trusted them.

When the 2 of us arrived Saturday night we were ushered into the manager’s office (I expect away from other customers in case we got angry) and told there weren’t any rooms that first night and they would drive us to another hotel and bring us back in the morning. It did not help the fact that our luggage also did not arrive with us on the plane (obviously not the hotel’s fault) but no luggage and no hotel room was not a great start! I have no doubt the hotel lied about the room on Saturday night just to keep the booking for 20 people for the week.

Anyway this was only the start of the lies. By email they said they would give us a special deal being a group and they said they would charge us $20/person for lunches in their restaurant. When we got there we discovered that lunches for just anyone eating there were $17. So great honesty in telling us they would give us a group discount and then charge us more!

We also had a per person daily rate that covered the use of a conference room, morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea. One day we went out for a field trip for the day (as was pre-arranged with the hotel) and did not use the conference room, nor all the in house meals. Instead we had asked for a packed lunch and one snack for each person. When we received the bill they charged us not only for lunch and one snack but for the whole daily rate they were charging us on other days which was to cover of the conference room and lunch and 2 snacks. It took a lot of time (days in fact) of arguing with them for them to eventually take the price down to include just a lunch and one snack for each person.

When we often sat around and had drinks or food, it would take many times asking for the bill and it often came with extra costs on it of drinks we did not have. The worst was one day when it took me 1.5 hours to get the drinks bill (we had had 2 cokes and 4 fruit juices) and I had to ask 3 times to get the bill and even then it only came because the 3rd time I put up a fuss that we had waited too long to get the bill. Then it came with 2 extra drinks we had never ordered. So then we wasted more time getting this corrected.

On top of this, the day after our workshop, 6 of us stayed behind to discuss general work issues. We sat around the pool for the day having our discussions. The hotel then tried to charge us the cost of the conference room because we were sitting at a table around the pool discussing work. What cheek!

One more issue still – we were researching some agricultural products as part of our work, so we had collected during the field trip, some wines made by a local farmer. I asked the hotel if they would make an exception and let us open these over dinner so we could all trial the products. They said they would have to charge us $15 to do this – which is about the cost of the wines. I was outraged since we were bringing the hotel a lot of business and they could not give any flexibility on this. Only after having a serious conversation with a manager and telling him how upset I was about this and that I was going to write to TripAdvisor about all the dishonest things the hotel had done, did they eventually say we could drink the wine with out paying them. By this stage we had lost the festive feeling and so trialed them in our workshop the next day instead, in the conference room where we did not need to ask permission.

Now let me say the hotel looks nice and has nice facilities but the food is just ok and there are plenty of other really lovely hotels around Arusha and also others that have good conference facilities if this is what you also need.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanna1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Nice hotel, with family we did arrived in a hotel, parked the car and started offloading bags on our own, took time before helped with bags, need improvement on this area however the receptionist explained the reason for delay and forgiven and proceed checked in, otherwise, this is a nice and clean hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Seky2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The service was good, but a little slow, but hey, this is Tanzania.

The room was great, clean, big bed al all facilities

The location is about 1km from the centre of town. Between Kibo and town is a bridge renowned for the occasional theft of personal item. Suggestion, catch a taxi or get a Dalla Dalla (local bus) (TZS 200).

We ordered a packed lunch for USD 15 to take on safari and when we opened it, the sandwiches were soggy as were the cheese & cracker biscuit. Both were thrown in the bin. This was reported to reception and on the feedback form, but no further action was taken. For a hotel at this level I would expect them to know what is suitable and not suitable for packed lunch.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool get any music noise that is happening around the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mave9591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
3.4 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arusha Hotel
The Arusha Hotel
#10 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.0 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#5 of 42 in Arusha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 42 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kibo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kibo Palace Hotel

Property: Kibo Palace Hotel
Address: Old Moshi Road | P O Box 2523, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Arusha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kibo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KIBO PALACE HOTEL: Named after the highest peak of Africa’s highest mountain, Mt Kilimanjaro, Kibo Palace Hotel is one of Arusha's most exciting and innovative luxury hotels. The contemporary and African decor gives this gem in the heart of Arusha a great attitude. The hotel is located 45 minutes drive from Kilimanjaro International Airport (KIA) and a 15-minute walk from Arusha city center and the Arusha International Conference Center. The hotel hosts professionals, the business community and international organizations to a Corporate Networking Cocktail every last Thursday of the month offering them a platform to exchange ideas and enhance businesses and also encourage personal growth for the professionals through inviting great speakers to these event. Kibo Palace Hotel offers a range of diverse facilities for both business travelers and leisure stays. These include:- 77 tastefully designed luxurious guestrooms and suites. All rooms are equipped with modern amenities to make the stay comfortable.- Fully-equipped conference and meeting facilities which can accommodate up to 150 people, well-appointed with the necessary modern equipment – Wireless Internet, Video Conferencing Facilities, LCD Projectors, State-of-the-Art Audio Visual Equipment and secretarial services.- The Kilimanjaro Restaurant will satisfy the most discerning gastronomic connoisseur with a splash of African, Continental, Asian or Oriental cuisine.- The Lounge Bar at Kibo Palace Hotel is a pleasant and sophisticated meeting place, ideal for an aperitif or an after-dinner drink. The guests can relax and sip wines, champagnes and classic cocktails prepared by expert barmen. The hotel has a happy hour and live entertainment every Wednesday and Friday evening from 05.00 p.m. to 08.00 p.m.- The Pool Bar is located near the swimming pool with a view of our lush gardens as a sundowner serving a variety of fresh juices and snacks. Recreational facilities include- Outdoor swimming pool set in landscaped gardens.- Health & fitness center with state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam bath and massage parlour.- Arusha Gymkhana’s 9-hole golf course and 7 tennis courts are situated 3 minutes drive from the hotel. Other services: Forex bureau open from 07.00 a.m. to 10.00 p.m., Airport transfers and car hire, VIP airport transfers in luxury vehicles, Gemstones boutique, Event Management, Safari bookings, Wireless internet complimentary for all in-house guests. The beautifully landscaped lush garden around the hotel’s pool area is one of the most prominent venues in town for staging wedding and outdoor functions. We offer a variety of facilities and rooms, specially adapted bathrooms and wider access for wheelchairs, as well as other facilities including parking for physically challenged persons. Kibo Palace Hotel, with its diverse facilities and friendly service, is a preferred destination for international travelers, holidaymakers as well as local businessmen and families. The multinational management team of the hotel is continually strives to provide excellent service maintaining an international standard for all its facilities on offer; all these combine to deliver an unforgettable personal experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Kibo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kibo Palace Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing