We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High in the hills”
Review of Karama Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karama Lodge & Spa
Ranked #11 of 195 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Karama benefits from lots of things: It's slightly out of town (only ten minutes) so you're away from the hustlebustle hassle. It's very beautiful- surrounded by tropical trees and deciduous ones too. It's slightly cooler (because it's high) and thus less mosquito-tastic. It is normally very quiet and rather an oasis.
The real gems are in the layout: it's set on a large hill, and the view from the restaurant - which incidentally has just been very classily refurbished by female craftswoman Wieke Van Leuwen- is spectacular. The food is not bad- not expensive, and better than average... but it's the staff that make the place I think. They're organised, really friendly, and efficient, and nothing is too much trouble.
I love hanging out by the pool: it's not massive (so don't expect to be pounding up and down with lengths) but it's in a really secluded, beautiful position, and a day eating snacks, drinking beer with a mate, is one of the best ways I know to relax!

There's a yoga/massage room too. Check to see when the yoga classes are, they're great.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zanzibar1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights before going on safari and for one at the end. It's slightly out of town which is great, up on a steep hill surrounded by lovely trees and gardens with monkeys (so don't leave anything lying around on your balcony or it will disappear!). It was lovely having a large balcony with chairs to admire the views.
On our first visit we stayed in 2 lodges quite close to the main dining room and bar. On our second visit we had quite a hike up steps in the dark to reach our lodges situated much higher up the hill - bags were carried for us but it was still quite a climb!
Nice breakfasts and dinners were ok too but we always had a huge wait for food to arrive - over an hour on one occasion.
There is noise at night but it didn't bother us in particular - I live near Heathrow airport.
It was chillier than anticipated and slightly damp too in August - there was no way we could have used the pool.
Certainly a more characterful place to stay than other hotels on offer in Arusha.

Room Tip: Ask for a lodge lower down unless you like hiking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squashballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Close to the town centre but out of the bustle and noise, we were not disturbed by any sellers. Beautiful natural setting, with great views over Arusha.
Each room is a separate hut, well appointed.The staff were friendly and helpful and good evening meal.
Unsealed road to the lodge is a little off-putting but well worth the effort

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suziirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Very nice stay so close to town. Lovely spot with good service and food. Great forest feel to it. Pity about the dogs and noise from the surrounds. Have stayed there a number of times and this was the first where noise was an issue. Great pool area. Very good value for money. Stay safe and sleep sound

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruz1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

It was a blessing in disguise to have found this hotel last minute when Impala hotel disappointed us by giving away our reservation to a conference. It's away from the town of Arusha and in a natural setting. I have a fond memory of this place.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank seetastelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

6 days at this Lodge was a pleasant stay, despite our hectic study program. Beautiful traditional like huts standing on poles gives a feeling of being in the wild amidst beautiful tree cover. The Monkeys add to the spice. The staff are very professional and friendly all through. Great food, but limited choices per day.
Excellent Wireless internet connection. All you need is to request a log in code at the reception.
For the season between end of May to August it is quite cold. Carry some warm clothes for the day and night. Despite some beautiful sunny mornings, it is still quite cold. Traditional coal tray in our training room was a great delight.
The rooms are furnished with a mosquito net, wide comfortable bed, a beautiful crafted table and shelves, separate toilet and shower...excellent hot water. The first day there was no hot water, we reported to reception and this was corrected within 20 minutes.
Generally looks like a beautiful African Village.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bibian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

In early February, a friend and I stayed for 5 nights at Karama Lodge as a prelude to starting a week-long safari. We wanted a few days to explore Arusha and area and to recover from jet lag (coming from Vancouver, Canada). We found the lodge to be a perfect stopping place - with the pool, the welcoming staff and the ability to sign up for tours in the area. We did our own tour of downtown Arusha (daytime and felt quite safe - but we used common sense). We had a day at Lake Duluti doing the canoe trip - would recommend either canoe or the walk around the lake, not both. And a day at the Masai Saturday market with guide, Abel, which was quite an adventure - taking 3 local transport buses into the mountains at Monduli, and having lunch at Abel's own home and experiencing a non-tourist market with all the Masai gathered from local villages. Truly a special experience. Karama has a relatively new (8 months) manager, Sofie, who is a delight and who is managing the staff very well - we observed that all the staff appear happy in their work and are very welcoming to the guests. The food was very good. The barking dogs did not disturb as we had earplugs. The tour around the hill above was fun - we would certainly recommend Karama to anyone who wants to experience the African atmosphere in a beautiful treed setting, with good quality food and clean and charming cabins. We stayed one night at Onsea House as it was booked for the beginning night of our safari and, although well over twice the price at Karama, we preferred Karama - less ostentatious, happier staff and certainly more of an African feel. Thank you to all the Karama staff for making out stay memorable and special - Nerys and Joyce

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nerysonbowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
4.1 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#11 of 45 in Arusha
139 reviews
2.3 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
472 reviews
10.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 45 in Arusha
1,058 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
1.4 mi away
L Oasis Lodge and Restaurant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karama Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karama Lodge & Spa

Address: Suye Hill (Old Moshi Road, Arusha 1573, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 195 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: £89 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karama Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Eco-friendly, artistic, chic, relaxing….”Nestling in Suye Hill National Park, just 10 minutes from the center of Arusha, Karama Lodge & Spa is the ideal home base for Tanzania safaris or for a restful night’s sleep before climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro. Accommodation is consisted of 22 stilted cabins made of local materials in total harmony with the surrounding forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Karama Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karama Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing