We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the lodge, the people and the food”
Review of Karama Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karama Lodge & Spa
Ranked #15 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Wijdewormer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved the lodge, the people and the food”
Reviewed 12 January 2009

Nice place to rest before and after you go on safari. Great food, nice people including the management and the right place to "feel" Tanzania. A good place for a right price!!!!!

  • Liked — food, people, surrounding
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Erwin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    137
    48
    11
    7
See reviews for
55
120
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Through the township of Arusha and up a steep dusty climb, we reached our final lodge in our safari adventure. We had the usual wonderful African greeting with a welcome glass of juice and were assisted by a porter to carry our bags.

The lodge consisted of little A-framed cabins dotted around the hillside. A cobbled path and many steps led us to ours. Smaller than most of our accommodation so far, it was quaint and rustic with a wooden floor and a little veranda overlooking the hillside. We still had a 4-poster bed, which it seems, is the norm here and a very basic bathroom and toilet. It was fun to 'rough it' a little after all our very luxurious tented camps so far and we really enjoyed it. We were very high up the mountain thanks to our winding drive and we had a view right out over the Arusha township.

It sells itself as Karama lodge and spa. But the spa is non-existent and still in the planning. The massage we booked was a bit of a disaster with a lady coming in from town (very late and expecting to conduct the massage on the bed in our room - they did remedy this somewhat by setting it up in a little room earmarked for the future spa)

In contrast the bar and lounge area were beautiful. It was open air, the breeze was blowing and the lights of Arusha twinkled below. There were plenty of lounges and other seating with very romantic lighting and a wonderful atmosphere. Downstairs is the restaurant with huge windows overlooking the vista below. We had the dining area almost to ourselves and the barman brought us over our own personal coal fire. We felt so lucky that we had ended our last day on safari in such a beautiful way.

The night in our cabin was cosy, but we didn't sleep much, enjoying the sounds of the town below - dogs barking and the locals singing, as well as the 'Bush Babies' in the surrounding hillside bush.

We were leaving very early for our flight to Johannesburg, but the early morning man had prepared us a packed breakfast for our road trip and we were amused as we watched him clean his teeth with a stick from the 'Toothbrush Bush'.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, although short. Originally we had wished we were staying at the Arusha Coffee Lodge again, but were glad to have such a different experience. This was very inexpensive but very good value and we would do it again.

  • Liked — Lounge & Dining area
  • Disliked — Advertised spa non-existent
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AfricanAdventurer247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

Our safari company, Access2Tanzania, booked us for two nights at the Karama Lodge in Arusha while we hiked the base of Kilimanjaro for a day and toured the town of Arusha. We couldn't have been more thrilled with their choice! The place was beautiful sitting on top of a hill! With someone from the hotel guiding us (who was very nice, funny, and informative), we hiked the hill one afternoon for a great view of Mt. Meru and then went down into the village below and met the very friendly locals --- very fun & highly recommended if you have a free few hours! The food at the restaurant was top notch and they easily accomodated my allergy to dairy. Our room and deck were spotless & extremely comfy! We enjoyed sitting on the porch chairs writing in our travel journal and watching the sun set! The bed was comfortable and there was even a American plug in the bathroom where you could charge without an adapter. Our only complaint was that the day we were checking out, they must have forgotten our wake up "nock" (since there are no phones) and woke us up 1/2 hour late -- we recommend bringing your own travel alarm clock along for this reason as we had this happen more than once during our stay in Tanzania. Oh well -- it's vacation -- being 1/2 late isn't that bad...unless you have to catch a flight I guess. Stay here though -- we absolutely LOVED it!!

  • Liked — Location: close to Arusha, Beautiful!, Great food, clean and comfy rooms with porch!
  • Disliked — Bring a travel alarm clock just in case they forget or are late on your wakeup call and you have to catch a flight or something
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank alley_gator773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2007

We spent the first two nights of our vacation in Tanzania here. We arrived late at night and the taxi driver took us up an increadibly bumpy, dark road to the lodge. The lodge is set on a lush green hillside with lots of beautiful plants and birds. It felt very exotic. Our room was very romantic in a rustic sort of way. No luxury in the traditional sense, but very comfortable and close to nature. Not for anyone scared of insects - the bungalows are very open to the surroundings. Staff were friendly and food above average for Tanzania. The restaurant and bar has a great atmosphere and a lovely view. I would absolutely stay here again. It's a really good choice if you don't want to stay at the fairly ordinary hotels in Arusha.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HannaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
278 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2007

Karama is fun - pretty palm thatched cabins on stilts in the woods high above Arusha, surrounded by trees and flowers. . Like tree houses for grown ups. Nicely decorated - bathrooms are cute - and beds are huge & comfortable. And each cabin has a balcony so you can sit back and enjoy the view. Lots of birds and an occaisonal monkey. You can see the cabins at www.karama-lodge.com.
So what are the problems ? First its miles from Arusha so you're pretty much stuck there. They serve a very good diiner, so that isn't a problem, but there is absolutely nothing else to do, not enough light to read and no TV, so unless you're on honeymoon you'll get lots of sleep.
We were there after the rains and the cabin was damp - water had got under the palm thatch and into the plaster of the bathroom walls and you could smell wet earth & damp. Shouldn't be a problem middle to end of dry season, but watch when you book.
And finally, their info says they charge for credit cards but take cash & travelers cheques. What it didn't say was that they used an exchange rate that amounted to a 20% surcharge for travellers cheques. Not nice. Fortunately we had enough cash...

  • Liked — Very pretty tree houses in a lovely setting - food was good too
  • Disliked — Attempt to rip us off on travellers cheque exchange rate
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sewaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
2.3 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
417 reviews
1.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
914 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#5 of 41 in Arusha
60 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 41 in Arusha
133 reviews
10.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karama Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karama Lodge & Spa

Property: Karama Lodge & Spa
Address: Suye Hill (Old Moshi Road, Arusha 1573, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Karama Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Eco-friendly, artistic, chic, relaxing….”Nestling in Suye Hill National Park, just 10 minutes from the center of Arusha, Karama Lodge & Spa is the ideal home base for Tanzania safaris or for a restful night’s sleep before climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro. Accommodation is consisted of 22 stilted cabins made of local materials in total harmony with the surrounding forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Karama Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karama Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing