We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay Before & After Kili Climb”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ilboru Safari Lodge
Ranked #2 of 195 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Basic but adequate place to stay for a night or two before and after Kilimanjaro climb. Good pool area, very friendly staff and good food. However, if planning a longer stay, would look for something a little more luxurious.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi666Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

Was booked here by our tour operator, before and after a Kilimanjaro trek. Nice pool, comfortable rooms. The restaurant is pretty good, especially with the local dishes (machalari, etc.). The staff was friendly and helpful, and the overall experience was much better than our stay at another place outside of Arusha (Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge). It was a good place to relax, and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TbackAk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

A great introduction to the culture of Tanzania! Ilboru Safari Lodge is located on the outskirts of Arusha accessed by a narrow, very bumpy red dirt road in the middle of one of the typical neighborhoods of mud brick, wooden or corrugated metal homes. Most people also seem to run some type of business from their homes, selling produce, beverages, doing mechanical work etc. Livestock such as cattle, goats and chickens wander the street along with everyone else. Very few homes appear to have plumbing as they gather water from outside hoses or communal wells. Many are cooking outside on open fires. Very few people have cars so get around by walking, bicycle or the van buses that are crammed full. The garden has nice gardens and large swimming pool area and the rooms are separate rounded type structures. Bed was very comfortable and three piece bathroom included shower with hot running water. Shower head was a little weak but did the job. Breakfast was buffet style with lots of choices, dinner and lunch could be ordered a la carte. Free wifi available by the bar and pool area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banditoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed for two nights at Ilboru Safari Lodge at the end of a safari arranged through Dorobo Safaris (highly recommended!). The road leading to the lodge is really rough and it was like an oasis to arrive at this beautiful lodge. The location is fine if you have transportation arranged but it's not really within walking distance of much. Our group of 11 stayed in 5 of the bungalows at the back of the grounds. One of our group has stayed here several times and said these are new since his last visit 3 years ago. The grounds are beautiful - like walking through a jungle. There were lots of gardeners working throughout the day to keep it beautiful. Since it is rather dark on the paths, I would recommend bringing a flashlight. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The bathroom had a strange smell and we were hesitant to leave the window open as there was no screen (there is a mosquito net over the bed). The pool area was nice and there seemed to be lots of people enjoying it. People in our group found the wi-if was better in the "Snack Bar" lounge as opposed to the main roon. The gift shop has lots of good choices at excellent prices without the hassle of negotiating with the vendors in the city itself. Breakfasts were typical of a European hotel with the addition of chapati and lots of fresh fruit. As a group of 11, we had family-style meals for lunch and dinner. The first night was a "Tanzanian feast" and the others included both local specialities alongside other dishes. We were so impressed with the food that we asked the chef to come out for a round of applause at the end of our last meal. We applauded for her and she returned the love by bringing the whole wait staff and kitchen staff out to sing and dance for us. What a great exclamation point to our trip!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed there before Safari tour, after Safari tour and after Kili trek. Rooms are basic. Breakfast is basic. But dinner is nice and diverse. Staff is friendly and nice. WiFi works only in specific spots around the main building of the hotel. Advantage: this is the only lodge that provided us with the guest bath shoes! There is no soap or shampoo in the bath. We gave our clothes for laundry and stayed happy with the result next morning. We didn't explore the neighborhood surrounding the hotel as it was situated far from the main road. There is a nice swimming pool.

Room Tip: Rooms in separated houses have better bath facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

nice grounds. Dinner was very good. Breakfast quite limited. We stayed there before and after our Kili trek. Room was nice however the first room we had was quite damp and bathroom facitilities did not always work. Our 2nd room was nicer because it wasnt damp, but the toilet didnt flush....all in all a nice hotel but not one to stay in for more than a couple of nights. Staff and owner are very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francien4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed here the night before and night after our Kilimanjaro trek. The rooms are spacious and clean. But there's no soap or shampoo provided when asked, the answer was negative.
We gave our cloths for laundry before going for the trek but getting the laundered cloth back after our trek was pain. The person who answered the front desk phone asked me to come to collect the laundry but when reached the front desk, there's no laundry and the person at the front desk indicated that someone would bring the laundry to the room.

It is very much away from the city and don't think that you could walk to the city. You'll be stuck at the hotel if you choose this place. In our case, we didn't have time to go.

The people at the restaurant was nice and helpful. The food was good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
1.6 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
631 reviews
5.1 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
472 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#11 of 45 in Arusha
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#7 of 45 in Arusha
103 reviews
12.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
510 reviews
2.1 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 45 in Arusha
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilboru Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilboru Safari Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 8012, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 195 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: £78 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Ilboru Safari Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing