We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sanctuary in Arusha”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ilboru Safari Lodge
Ranked #2 of 195 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I stayed at the lodge over a weekend on a retreat. It was lovely.
I stayed in one of the round 'boma' style rooms close to the pool.
The bed was very comfortable, the mosquito net was generous, and the linen was white and fresh (always a big plus). The room was very clean.
There was a good variety of food on the menu.
The staff were friendly, and the service was great.
I thoroughly recommend the lodge if you want a couple of days away from the bustle of life in Arusha, or are staying on a stop-over/holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

pleasant place to stay in Arusha with nice clean rooms, mosquito nets for every bed, and tribal style design. The pool area is great for relaxing in the sun but the pool itself is a bit dirty. Free high speed wifi all around is a major plus, even faster speeds than i get back home! Our stay booked as part of a safari included breakfast and dinner, which was quite a tasty assortment of Tanzanian cuisine. Drinks are reasonable at 3500tsh per beer, and 2000tsh for a huge carafe of Swahili tea (the same as masala chai).

Even if you have a good filter, be careful of the water from the tap. First time you turn it on will be full of particulates from the pipe. Let it run for 5sec and it gets to be more reasonable. Location is not the greatest, a bit far removed from central part of Arusha down the road, but likely you're staying here on your arrival day before a safari. Great option for that to relax before heading out for jungle rides.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is one of my top 3 hotels in Arusha, the hotel is located about 10-15 minutes from town, under the cool mount meru surroundings. It has a swimming pool, and spa in addition to the basics.
Customer care is superb, two Sophias (receptionists, both share the same name Sophia) knows their work and are so welcoming, the owner is also friendly, will pass by at breakfast time and say hello to every customer.
The room style is super and at the back veranda you can spot some monkeys in trees in day time.

Room Tip: pick any room, they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Having driven up a very rutted dirt road between shacks, street sellers, children playing and shops, it was a surprise to turn into a gated Lodge with extensive gardens offering peace and quiet. Our room was on the edge of the property. It was pretty basic but clean and served its purpose for our last night in the country. The restaurant was also quite bare. Food was good, an African menu which we enjoyed. Service was fine, although noticeably inferior to all the other places we stayed in Tanzania. Perhaps it was the difference between the town and safari lodges. Anyway, the Lodge is fine for a first or last night stay, but not really the place for longer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Spent a night on each end of our safari at Ilboru. Location is in a quiet suburb of Arusha, up a very bumpy road. Welcome staff was really pleasant and the free wifi (when it works) is a nice touch.

Rooms were ok. Shower on our first night was pretty useless, but on the return trip the room we had had a great shower. The big pool is a great place to relax and the food was satisfactory. Overall nothing exceptional but definitely a fine place for a stay while in transit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VKM2F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Basic but adequate place to stay for a night or two before and after Kilimanjaro climb. Good pool area, very friendly staff and good food. However, if planning a longer stay, would look for something a little more luxurious.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi666Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Was booked here by our tour operator, before and after a Kilimanjaro trek. Nice pool, comfortable rooms. The restaurant is pretty good, especially with the local dishes (machalari, etc.). The staff was friendly and helpful, and the overall experience was much better than our stay at another place outside of Arusha (Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge). It was a good place to relax, and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TbackAk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
1.6 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
630 reviews
5.1 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
472 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#11 of 45 in Arusha
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#7 of 45 in Arusha
103 reviews
12.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
510 reviews
2.1 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 45 in Arusha
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilboru Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilboru Safari Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 8012, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 195 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: £78 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Ilboru Safari Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing