We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clean hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ilboru Safari Lodge
Ranked #3 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great clean hotel”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The approach to the lodge was through a sketchy (more ratchet than dangerous) area and the road was filled with potholes however once inside the lodge, it seemed very safe (despite the plethora of mosquitos swarming at us). The rooms are cottage style- two rooms for each hut. The gardens were very well maintained and the pool looked very nice. They had a choice of Indian, Chinese, Italian, etc. on their menu cards all with an African flare. The food was ok. The breakfast was very basic. The waits for dinner and lunch were very long (about 2 hrs waiting time for the main course). The lodge’s new owner Annalise from Netherlands was always around and attentive to the guests needs. We stayed at the older cottage and the newer ones at the back entrance on our initial night and our final night in Arusha. Both rooms were very clean, the beds had mosquito nets and the bed linens and towels were also clean.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms closer to the back entrance - the rooms are new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    285
    101
    22
    4
See reviews for
150
203
57
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I love the Ilboru Safari Lodge. I have stayed there on two occasions, and I always feel welcomed and "at home." Lovely surroundings, terrific food, and attentive staff. This is way better than any urban hotel with modern ammenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Recently I was with a group who spent two weeks in and around Arusha, Tanzania. One of the places we stayed was Ilboru Safari Lodge. Driving up the street to its location was an experience in and of itself (those of us from the US would probably never turn onto the street, not believing it was actually a street). and I wondered where this could lead. It turned out that we turned into a beautiful guarded grounds on which was the lodge and its bungalows. There's a huge pool (but never saw anyone in it) with outside tables where we enjoyed before dinner drinks. The food for breakfast and dinner was quite excellent, and all the service personnel very helpful. We used their secure room for storing donations we brought for the various missions we visited, so we didn't have to take them back and forth from our rooms. That was appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Park2214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Lodged here for 5 nights in May. 2014
After looking at other hotels (same price range and higher) I am happy to report Ilboru is the place to say. Yes it is a bit of a drive up a bumpy road...but worth it!
Greeted with freshly squeezed juice we were shown two types of rooms (first the older which are closer to the restaurant and pool) and ended up in room 37. (One of the newer ones)
Rooms included an outside sitting area for each room, poster beds with mosquito netting, a large luggage rack, a vanity with cushioned stool, closet space and hot water shower. Not huge in size but more than sufficient for my daughter and I and at the low season rate of $71/night we were more than pleased.
If you should choose to lodge here there are numerous other amenities. Large pool, immaculately groomed grounds that you can meander through (don't forget to stop and smell the roses) , friendly attentive staff who aim to please, a park like area with a large covered gazebo, tree swing, trampoline, internet room, massages and pedi/manis are available at extremely affordable prices. You will also enjoy a gift shop, 24 hour security, a restaurant, (breakfast buffet included in room price) and laundry service and wi fi are available.
Under new ownership who live on the property, this hotel is one of Arushas very best!!
I did read through some other posts and found some of their content to be curious.
Regarding the surrounding area; my daughter and I took a stroll down the street and found the locals receptive and friendly calling out Jambo! It was not unsafe. Also regarding the free breakfast buffet, offered until 9 each morning, the selection was generous and appetizing. We did find there was some wait time when ordering from the menu but as each guests meal is cooked to order for lunch and dinner, when there are 20-30 others in the dining area shouldn't there be?
Thank you to the staff at Ilboru Lodge for making our time in Arusha comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. We do hope we have the good fortune to return for a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ames, ia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Ilboru Safari Lodge is a great place from which to launch your Tanzanian safari. The rooms are spotless and spacious. The grounds are lush with a beautiful big pool. The food is delicious. And the attached gift shop filled with BARGAINS! Still regret passing up the intricately crafted baobab tree sculpture.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bauerjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights in total before and after our safari and Kili hike. The food was included and was absolutely fantastic! The rooms were nice but one night we had dirty towels in our room. The staff seemed to be lazy and we had to complain to our tour operator in order to get them to do our washing. The lodge is located quite far out of town so you are pretty much stuck there. There are lots of activities I so whilst you are there.
It is a great place to stay after your hike or safari but I wouldn't recommend it if you were simply traveling to Arusha.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank unhappytraveller898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorain, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is an excellent example of a hotel that, with some effort and attention to detail, could offer a very nice experience. The grounds of the hotel are very nice, as is the swimming pool. The rooms are small, but serviceable. A major negative is the shower. To describe the water flow as slow would be a real understatement. In fact, it was slightly above a drip. We stayed in several tent camps in the middle of parks that had much better shower flow. Another negative is, what appears to be a dog kennel bordering the hotel property. The constant barking, of could only be at least a half dozen dogs, made it impossible to sleep.

Dinner was good (a great selection and decent tasting food). However, breakfast was a joke (eggs that must have been fried hours in advance and placed in a buffet warmer and very little else offered). Trust me, find another place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
1.6 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
560 reviews
5.1 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
428 reviews
2.1 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
71 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 42 in Arusha
135 reviews
12.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilboru Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilboru Safari Lodge

Property: Ilboru Safari Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 8012, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Ilboru Safari Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing