We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for special occasions”
Review of Onsea House Arusha

Onsea House Arusha
Ranked #8 of 109 Restaurants in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$55
Cuisines: French, Belgian, African, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Onsea House is a recognized centre of culinary excellence. Taste the freshly made brasserie dishes accompanied by the finest specially selected wines. Their Michelin experienced Belgian chef prepares a fusion of exquisite European and African delights based on seasonal specialties. Just call or email to book a table for brunch, lunch, evening with friends or that special candlelight dinner occasion. Since September 2011 Machweo Fine Dining offers the guests an extra beautiful patio terrace to enjoy a tasty lunch or a candlelightdinner.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for special occasions”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a wonderful anniversary meal there a few days ago the food was wonderful. The view is stunning as there are so few places in Arusha that you can have a view that you can see Mt. Meru and the neighbouring hills .

This is a definite must for special occasions or if you just want to treat yourself to exceptional cuisine .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coffeebeantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    26
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice location but could could be anywhere”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We arrived late and first had dinner. The food was good but it took very long to be served.
We had a room in the main house which was not very pleasant because it was very noisy due to the kitchen being close and the noise of people in the corridors.
Most annoying we thought were the barking dogs until 5 in the morning.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pim1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, OR
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best place in Arusha”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Our friends took us there for dinner, and at first driving the dark roads of the back skirt of Arusha I was thinking "where is he taking us?" I was completely surprised. This place sits up on a top of a small mountain overlooking Arusha. The ambiance is awesome with lighted candles and fires. The food was incredible as well. The chef walked us thru each course he prepared and paired it with another glass of wine. I wish I would have stayed at the hotel as well. I just returned from the bush for two weeks and I could have ate every meal for two days and been very very happy. I can't wait to return next year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShayN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
215 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town, country?”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

An amazing experience everytime I go there. The quality of the food is superb, presented professional and tasting delicious. As an extra the location has a very good view and is in a quiet place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Molen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most wonderful setting for our engagement”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Me and my (now) wife stayed here for Christmas and got engaged here. As a Belgian getting engaged to an English girl, I thought this hotel + restaurant would do the trick. Couldn't have chosen a better place! The beautiful setting, the superb view and the lovely room itself (with a four-poster bed) provided the perfect setting to drop to one knee. The celebration afterwards was outstanding. Champagne, excellent food (game), super friendly staff,... it was all there.
Once the staff found out we just got engaged, they were so generous and excited for us! Great place. Maybe a bit pricey, for for such a magical moment, it was worth every penny! A popular place, so book enough time in advance (at least around Christmas time).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wouter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Onsea House Arusha also viewed

Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Onsea House Arusha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing