We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the outside a hole in the wall - inside an absolute jewel!”
Review of Big Bite - CLOSED

Big Bite
Price range: US$5 - US$7
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Nairobi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“On the outside a hole in the wall - inside an absolute jewel!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

If you are looking for a cozy place to eat amazing Indian food, served by a charming and proud owner - that's the one! Get there early (it opens at 6pm), because they have to close at 9:30. And Rahoul is not only an excellent chef, he is also a graphic designer and an Origami artist - he folds the coolest paper napkins you have ever seen; and on demand he will teach you how to do it. He's one of a kind. If you are in Arusha - an absolute must!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GerryGu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    24
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Egg Curry Reminicent of Home!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I ordered the egg curry and it was amazing! The sauce was delicious and the naan fluffy and fresh! The fact that this place is delivery and the t-shirt theme just add to the cutness of this place. A must visit in Arusha!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kemi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem District, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big Bite-best and most tasty experience in Tanzania”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

After travelling around for 3 weeks I and my daughter discovered this marvelous place.Besides the great food,the very creative owner has all sorts of other surprices(go and find out).The last one was that he arranged someone to take you to your hotel after it becomes dark.Should not be missed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dov24750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahoul J, Manager at Big Bite, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review. It was our great pleasure to serve you. I am very grateful you mentioned our new service of walking you back to your destination. I am happy you and your daughter enjoy. We look forward to meeting you soon. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jönköping
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We had the most delicious indian food served with warm and professional service mindedness that exceeds international 5 star restaurants. Go here. Eat here. It is the best!

Helpful?
Thank Rashec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahoul J, Owner at Big Bite, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
Thank You. It was wonderful to serve you and we look forward to your next visit. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spot on, authentic Indian Cuisine, even in a power outage!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Although may not look up to much from the outside, do not be fooled by this. We were quite dubious before entering as looked rustic and unclean from the outside, However, when we entered it was clear that it was a nice small restaurant and the owner spoke great English and quickly made us feel welcome. After about 10 minutes of enjoying a few beers and some poppadoms the whole city of Arusha plunged into darkness. This didn't seem to phase anyone within the restaurant and before we knew it small LED lights kept the place mildly illuminated. The food took a bit of time to come but nothing drastic and when it came was agreed that the wait was due to everything being freshly made there and then. we each had a naan, rice and curry dish each and was fantastic. All left full and more than satisfied. The amount of spice that anyone wants can be selected so can suitable for chilli lovers or those not so fond on the spice. Would recoommend to anyone visiting the region and looking to try some Indian cuisine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loonfaetoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Bite also viewed

Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing