We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silence, peace and joyfulness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Silence, peace and joyfulness”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We have now stayed in Apsaras Villa with private pool for 2,5 weeks and have 3 more days to go. This place is fantastic! It is so clean, calm and beutiful. They have so much people working in and around the area to keep it really clean and fresh.

The staff here is wonderful, so friendly, polite, always smiling and gives us the best service. The activity manager Rabi is someone you should look for the first day and be friend with. He has helped us with a lot of fun to do (beach party, fruit carving, Lobster night, Tailor service, etc...), very caring that all is okey, and a great guy to chat with :-) He even set up yoga- and meditation classes for us two (while listening to the waves) just because we wanted to learn.

Breakfirst is lovely, we can stay almost until lunch just relaxing and having fun with the cute girls Mind and Porn. The hotel has three restaurants and we ate mostly in the one in the Villa area but also in beach bar restaurant Zeus. The Villa restaurant is lovely in the evening, calm, soft music and light, perfect service and lovely food (don't miss the red snapper with tamarind sauce). And not to forget sweet Ann, Gift and all colleagues in the receptions who always are happy and helpful in whatever questions we have.

The beach is amazing, long soft sand, clean and almost no people!!! You hear only the waves, not overcrowded, no one try to sell you stuff, etc... Lovely <3

This is a place for peace and calm in body and mind, just what we wanted for our honeymoon. We will be back to "our" Apsaras Villa :-)

Many thanks to everyone in Apsaras, no one is forgotten <3

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Villas with private pool and will recommend anyone to do the same. The villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johan_AnnaPia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apsarasresort K, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Valued Client,

We,Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa, kindly thank you so much for your valued comment.
We will take your comment for developing continuously. We are thankful for your admiration to our hotel. Your comment is very useful for us. We are very delighted that you felt happy and enjoy your trip at Apsara. We hope that we will see you again.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,
Kat
Guest Relation Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,364
    553
    146
    22
    13
See reviews for
411
1,277
54
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I have just returned from a 10 day stay at this hotel and found it just what I was looking for we wanted a relaxing holiday and that is what we got. We ate at the beach front bar and bistro the meals were very nice the Pad Thai was the best I have tasted in Thailand (i have stayed in a few resorts), we also walked along the beach to Memories Beach Bar for meals and drinks which was cheaper and nice but I prefered the hotel beach bar. There was a bus service which would take you into Khao Lak three times a day if you wanted to shop and try other resuarants.

The rooms were modern and cleaned each day - although I found the beds a bit hard for my liking.

There was always a variety for breakfast so you couldn't go hungry (i should know as I am not a cooked breakfast person and always found something I could eat).

The beach is fantastic we walked along every morning and walked for miles, sometimes we didn't pass anyone at all. We always got a sun bed but put our towels out when we went for breakfast as did others, The umbrellas could do with being a bit stronger as they are a bit flimsy.

Room Tip: If you love beaches this is the place to be and relaxing in quiet surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kahleen2350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apsarasresort K, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Valued Client,

We,Apsaras Beach Resort and Spa, kindly thank you so much for your valued comment.
We will take your comment for developing continuously. We are thankful for your admiration to our hotel. Your comment is very useful for us. We are very delighted that you felt happy and enjoy your trip at Apsaras. We hope that we will see you again.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Kat
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We have just returned from this hotel after staying for 9 days, and whilst our time there was good, there are much better resorts in Thailand for the money. This hotel was offered to us as an alternative to the one we chose, due to a promotion.
The hotel is set in a remote location, which requires a taxi (£7 each way), or the shuttlebus service (which becomes very busy), in order to get to the centre of Khao Lak, where all the restaurants and ATM's are. There are some local restaurants around 15 mins walk away, where the food and prices are very good. There is also a restaurant on the beach next door called "Memories", which is very good, and gets very busy due to most of the hotel heading next door for dinner, so you will need to book a table to avoid disappointment.
One major issue with the resort is the beach, the hotel is next to a river that runs directly into the sea, and twice a day when the tide goes out, the water turns brown and frothy as sewage is drawn down the river. On one day the smell was terrible, and the beach was littered with dead fish, which even the local birds wouldn't eat!
Overall the hotel is ok, clean and well maintained, but it is not being used to its full potential. The swim up bar was never open, and when we enquired as to why it was not open, we were told that there had been complaints that other guests were getting too drunk there?? The bar prices would have prevented this, as their drinks were the most expensive that we have encountered in our travels around Thailand.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank decay12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apsarasresort K, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Valued Client,

We,Apsaras Beach Resort and Spa, kindly thank you so much for your valued comment.
We will take your comment for developing continuously.

We take your comment seriously and have raised the situation in the meeting. We contacted and discussed this issue with our neighbour and asked them to take further action.

Your comment is very useful for us. We are very delighted that you felt happy and enjoy your trip at Apsaras.We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Kat
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo Governorate, Egypt
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I booked a deluxe room but on arrival we were upgraded to a villa - which was lovely. The resort area for the villas was really good - a restaurant, bar and great pools. We did go over to the main hotel which was busier in comparison to the villa resort area for dinner at the beach bar one evening - the food was reasonable, not brilliant. The breakfast was excellent - good choice and quality. We used the spa which was good value and a really good treatment and experience. The beach was lovely, really quiet and a long stretch of beach so never crowded. There was a good beach bar and restaurant on the beach (not part of the hotel) - Memories - which was very nice. There were other restaurants and hotels in walking distance also.
We had a car, but the hotel runs shuttle buses into the main part of town - the hotel is outside Koh Lak.

Room Tip: Can't comment on the main hotel rooms - but the villas were lovely. We had a garden villa but so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apsarasresort K, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Valued Client,

We,Apsaras Beach Resort and Spa, kindly thank you so much for your valued comment.
We will take your comment for developing continuously. We are thankful for your admiration to our hotel. Your comment is very useful for us. We are very delighted that you felt happy and enjoy your trip at Apsaras. We hope that we will see you again.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,
Kat
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Had a great time in the hotel, Lovely staff, nice and clean room with pool access. Take us about 15 mins to the city. There are shuttle bus 3 times a day and motorbike for rent. WIFI free in the public area. The food is not bad,there are 2 restuarants in the hotel with 2 bars. Outdoor Thai massage is fabulous,Overall is very good. Recommended.

Room Tip: Pool access is nice if you want to be in close to the pool area with a bit of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apsarasresort K, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Valued Client,

We,Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa, kindly thank you so much for your valued comment.
We will take your comment for developing continuously. We are thankful for your admiration to our hotel. Your comment is very useful for us. We are very delighted that you felt happy and enjoy your trip at Apsaras. We hope that we will see you again.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,
Kat
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Can't fault the holiday at all, really had a great time in Thailand, people were so friendly and a pleasure to be around. However, The hotel..... On arrival after more than 24hrs travelling were told we couldn't check in to our room for 1.5hrs not a good start if I am honest. When we did finally get to our rooms the baggage still hadn't arrived so still had to wait to have a shower! Room was spacious, clean and tidy if a little dated but certainly comfortable. I loved the Hard bed but thats just my preference.

Communication within the hotel was poor, we were booked for the free Thai cooking class and when we arrived at the restauarant just before 10am (when it was due to start!) no-one came. so after 40 minutes I went to reception to be told the venue had been moved to the Villa restuarant, Well thanks for telling us. Because we were 40 minutes late we said it's not worth attending but then was told by Rabbi (guy taking the lesson) that we could've turned up late! Well what a waste of time that was!

The parasols around the pool area were certainly not adequate for the job, at least 12 times in the fortnight we were there parasols blew out of the holders and either hit other guests or ended up at the bottom of the pool!! There are lots of areas that need attention, including the decked areas that are deteriorating in the heat but have not repaired or replaced. Steps down to the beach are dangerous, the stairwells could do with more cleaning.

Don't get me wrong it sound's like I am making the hotel out to be something out the dark ages. It was comfortable and quiet and a good location to relax in, it was just not up to the 4 star standard I was expecting and this I will be taking up with Thomson.

Now for the good points - don't eat or drink at the hotel, cross the little inlet or the bridge over to Memories! Oh my what a place, the food is out of the world, the beer/drinks are cheap, the staff are fantastic, especially, Bibby, Bea, Oi and Dom. The Atmosphere is amazing the best place to be when you are relaxing and want to enjoy some good old traditional Thai life!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyoto1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apsarasresort K, Guest Relations Manager at Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Valued Client,

We,Apsaras Beach Resort and Spa, kindly thank you so much for your valued comment.
We will take your comment for developing continuously. Your comment is very useful for us.

Regarding to your comment , The hotel standard check-in time is 2 pm and we would like to aplogise for an inconvenience that occured. We have checked with the housekeeping department and they have do their best to every guests to get their room on the arrival. We are also comment to our Front Office Manger on what had been happended upon your arrival with your luggage.

We take your comment seriously and have discussed with all related departments in our organisation.

Best Regards,
Kat
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed in a pool villa. It was a very great experience. The Villa was equiped very well, we didn't miss anything and we enjoyed this marvelous stay. If you like thaifood you have to eat at Kay's seafood directly on the beach. It's a little restaurant just a few minutes to walk. We had beautiful sundowner dinners there.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Apsaras2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
1.5 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 68 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
3.5 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#10 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
1.0 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
5.1 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa

Property: Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa
Address: 45 Moo2, Kukkak | Khao Lak and Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82220, Thailand (Formerly Apsaras Beach Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#10 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior room Deluxe room Pool Access room Garden Villa room Pool Villa room Discover the natural beauty of Thailand at the tranquil and romantic Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa, Khaolak, located on a secluded beachfront in Khao Lak, Phang Nga province, just 95 kilometres from Phuket International Airport. Phang Nga offers a myriad of stunning natural attractions including Phang Nga Bay with hundreds of islets rising from calm emerald waters and the popular James Bond Island. Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa, Khaolak is a nature lovers' hideaway boasting white sands, azure blue Andaman Sea, tropical gardens and picturesque lagoon. Perfect for honeymoons and weddings, the serene resort offers a range of luxury accommodation from rooms and suites to private villas. With a rejuvenating spa, delicious dining venues and superior leisure facilities and services, guests will find all they need for a wonderfully relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsaras Beach Hotel Khao Lak
Apsaras Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing