We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and friendly but food disappoints.”

Nom's Family Restaurant
Ranked #148 of 272 Restaurants in Khao Lak
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
north west
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cheap and friendly but food disappoints.”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

One of the more reasonably priced restaurants in Khao Lak.I arrived late in the evening and just wanted simple "farang" food so ordered fish and chips 130B.I waited some time for my food (thinking someone was busy peeling spuds in the rear) when it arrived 2 small fried fillets of not particularly tasty fish and "crinkle cut" frozen chips!Beer was cheap at 80B for large Chang.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wildtrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Food ok, but bugs and cats too much”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We've been living in Bangkok for a few months now, so have eaten at many Thai restaurants. We wanted a change from the expensive hotel meals at Le Meridien, so we tried Family Restaurant for dinner. The prices are very fair and the food tasted good as well. But the over abundance of bugs everywhere (despite the coils they provided) and the cat looking for food in/around the table killed it for us. They also did not give us enough cutlery or plates, despite asking a few times. Even though we saved money, should have stayed at the hotel, couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDNFamilyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL FOOD”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had a wonderful meal here, service was good and also the atmosphere was brilliant. Food was brought to us very quickly and was piping hot.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank rasstis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food but you might be waiting a while to get it!”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Food was decent and pretty good value, but they were very understaffed when we visited. Took almost and hour to get our appetizers!

Might visit again if it was not busy, but definitely not if they already have a full house!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank biogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average.”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

Nothing really stood out at this restaurant. It seemed to cater to the European crowds that favored less spice and more salt. Fish in banana leaf was good but whole experience with 4 kids did not win a follow up trip for our next visit in Dec 2013.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davis1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nom's Family Restaurant also viewed

Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Nom's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing