We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing start to any holiday!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chongfah Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Wodonga
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing start to any holiday!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at chong fah for 4 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon in the front bungalows overlooking the ocean. The service was amazing from check-in late at night, to the beautiful staff remembering you and being so helpful and everything in between. It was so quiet with beautiful scenary. The food and drinks were great. We could borrow bikes and ride into main part of town to exchange money and go to the markets. It was a great resort tucked away from the main roads but so accessible to everything. Will recommend and definitely stay again!!! Didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megals88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    67
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
69
378
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rosenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
160 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

After a period of two years we came back to the Chong Fah and to say it briefly – it still is the perfect place!

This time we had chosen a beachfront bungalow and it is really worth the upgrade price: the view over the sea is stunning – perfect sunsets included! The room itself is the same as the normal bungalows, perfectly clean, in good condition and lovely decorated with flowers when we arrived.

But most extraordinary (…even for Thailand…) is the staff of the Chong Fah: extremely friendly (but not in an artificial way), helpful, anytime ready to fulfill the guests wishes. And because of the small size of the hotel, it always has a touch of family.

The Chong Fah is located quite centrally: restaurants, bars, the local market, massage studios – everything is in walking distance of the hotel. Or take the route along the amazing beach and walk it for kilometers.

As all the other positive things have already been written, I just like to sum it up: we enjoyed our second stay at the Chong Fah very much and will surely come back (soon).

Room Tip: Beachfront bungalows are really worth the upgrae dprice, but the other ones are very nice, too. We l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viaggi_CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Booked primarily because of the great reviews on Trip Adviser - there are lots of options in Khao Lak. Sooo glad we took note of the ratings - it is all of this, and more.

Very boutique feel, with only 30 rooms. This is a great place to relax and enjoy stunning views, and great personalsed service.

What makes this resort special are the staff - from day 1 they all knew us by name, and did everything possible to make our stay perfect.

The beachfront rooms are well worth the extra cost...rooms themselves are spacious, and well designed. Outside bath and shower area a lovely touch. Air conditioning works, but could be more intense.

Of note is the relatively good value of the restaurant and bars at the hotel, which are good quality, and not over priced (in the way that so many high quality resorts are). And unlike several of the major hotels (Sarojin, Marriot...) in Khao Lak, you are right in the centre close to many restaurants and bars.

We loved this hotel

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms lovely and worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NB2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Booked this hotel as staying in Khao Lak, and after much research, went with the Trip Advisor top rating.

This property is simply stunning. Stayed with my partner for 5 nights from 13th March.

Location is phenomenal...incredible for sunsets. We stayed in a bungalow on the beachfront - the view is def worth the upgrade price. The room itself was excellent, in excellent condition, and beautifully presented for our arrival. Housekeeping were v efficient throughout our stay, and any requests were immediately fulfilled.

Which leads us to the staff. This hotel only has 30 rooms, and from start to finish we felt like house guests - we didn't need to give our room number, they knew already - the staff knew our names, and couldn't do enough to help us, down to every detail. It was also my birthday during our stay, and the way the staff did everything to make it special was above and beyond.

The pool was lovely (if a little hot through the afternoon once the sun heated up the water); and the restaurant remarkably good value for a 5 star hotel.

Unlike several of the better known hotels in Khao Lak, this hotel also has the benefit of being very close to a number of very good local restaurants and bars - Khao Lak itself most certainly isn't Patong, but what nightlife there is is in close proximity, which is chillled.

During our stay we went to the local market (1k) and used the bikes from the hotel which were perfect! We booked a trip to see the elephants (through the hotel too) which was great fun! We hired a scooter one day - guy located next door to hotel - and went to a place called white sandy beach - would def recommend. Was about 10k from hotel. Also went to visit the waterfall (10k) and the tsunami memorial. (1k). There is a free trip to see the rescue turtles which is worth a visit too.

Beach is amazing (moreso at low tide) - would recommend early morning or sunset walk. some nice little bars to visit.......also some good massages. We had two whilst we were there.

All in all, a fabulous stay. We hope to go back sometime (soon!)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nina F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Once again (4th time) we have had the pleasure of staying at the beautiful and friendly Chong Fah resort.
This is our little paradise in Thailand, our "home".
The food is superb at the Seaborn restaurant at the resort.
The staff, yeah what can you say other than - friendly, serviceminded, nice, polite, smiling, happy, professional. It can't be better than this. And that is all the staff, frontdesk, cleaningladies, resaurantstaff, gardeners, engineers, owners, all of them are superb.
The resort is clean, well taken care of, nice location at the beach.
The buffenights......if you go there, don't miss it.
Hopefully we will be able to get back here soon.
Thanks again for a nice 16 nights att Chong Fah.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeciliaCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furstenfeldbruck, Germany
Level Contributor
134 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We booked this hotel because of the good reviews and were not disappointed. When we arrived at the hotel we were welcomed with flower necklaces and welcome drinks. This first impression is one that lasts: the staff is very, very friendly at this hotel.

The Chongfa is located a little outside of the "city center" of Khao Lak. However, if you want to see the town, the cheapest and easiest way is probably to take the rental bicycles which are available for free at the hotel and just ride into town (it is only a 10 minutes ride). However, there is no real need to go to Khao Lak since everything one needs is just around the corner of the hotel: shops, restaurants and the beach.

The hotel itself is beautifully designed with lots of water, trees and flowers. The rooms are spaceous, clean and well equipped. The pool area is really nice and you get towels to take to the beach as well. The breakfast has a wide variety of choices of fresh and tasty food which you can enjoy while watching the sun rise over the ocean. I had my birthday while staying at Chongfa and the staff really did a lot to make this day special with table and room decoration and even a cake.

After our first stay, we went on a liveaboard and filled out the feedback form which also included some minor criticism like not enough vegetarian food on the evening menu. When we came back after three days everything was fixed and we were told that every dish on the menu could be made vegetarian as well. We were very happy that our feedback had not only been read but also something had been done about it quickly - now that is outstanding service.

We really enjoyed our stay. The Chongfa is an oasis for relaxation to which we will definitely return if we ever come back to Khao Lak.

Room Tip: I think there are no "bad" rooms, but If you are very sensitive to noise try not to get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PufferfishMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This hotel must have a great management team . The organisation , attitude of staff , attention to detail are first class . This is quite small which we loved. The 8 apartments facing the beach are very close to the sea although there is no beach here and there was another row of loungers in front of us . Some people could be quite loud but overall it wasn't a problem . Used the bikes mostly on the beach [ just along from the hotel ] and went for an hour each way - beautiful and fairly unspoilt . Other days we walked . Overall this would be hard to beat and don't miss the special evening events - the food was superb . Lots of walkable restaurants bars and great massage .

Room Tip: Sea view - one of the middle 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floyd75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#3 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
6.9 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
2.2 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
0.2 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#13 of 68 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chongfah Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chongfah Beach Resort

Property: Chongfah Beach Resort
Address: 54/1 Moo 5 Khukkhak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chongfah Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chongfah Resort is boutique beachfront hotel located on beautiful Bang Niang Beach in Khao Lak. A haven of peace and tranquility, this charming Khao Lak resort is surrounded by nature and features a total of only 30 deluxe rooms and quaint bungalows, including seaview bungalows just a few steps from the enticing crystal clear waters of the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Chongfah Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chongfah Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing