We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous space and lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chongfah Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here as the first stop on our SE Asia honeymoon. It was the perfect choice! The staff is lovely, and very helpful without being cloying. We arrived quite late and were exhausted from our day+ of travel - so I really appreciated that the check-in was no-nonsense but very welcoming (e.g. She gave us a refreshing welcome drink and showed us our room, but didn't linger or make us sign ten billion things - just a quick "goodnight & enjoy!"). We chose a Seaview bungalow and it was so nice to wake up to the beautiful view of the ocean and we loved having our own little terrace to watch the sunset from. The outdoor private shower and bath were also nice after taking a dip in the ocean or the small but refreshing pool. Yes, when it's high tide it can be tough to swim in the ocean as it comes right up to the sea wall - but it didn't bother us at all. At low tide you can walk up and down the beach a ways. The air conditioning was quite loud but it was white noise to us - no problem sleeping with it on.
Breakfast was delicious with a huge variety, and we also ate lunch at the restaurant our first day and enjoyed it (you can get cheaper in town but it was still good value).
The guests at the resort seemed to be a mix of young & old couples and small families. I didn't get the sense that loud partiers choose to stay there - which is perfect for a serene beach trip.
We had such a great, relaxing stay - and we hope to be back someday soon.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
There are newer reviews for Chongfah Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Chong Fah was a true discovery and a pleasant surprise offering more than we expected. It is a modern but small resort with some traditional and local touches and it has a beautiful setting: lush garden, beautiful sea view, nice infinity pool and a restaurant with a stunning view. Even though this resort is very much in the centre along the beach, guests here can feel like miles away from the noisy tourist attractions. It's is a truly wonderful oasis of calm and tranquility.

Even tough the resort is directly located at the beach front, due to beach erosion Chong Fah has built a big rocky sea defence and there is only some limited beach left at low tide. Even tough this might sound like a bit of a turn off first, it has the advantage that they have created a wonderful grassy and sandy terrace on top of the sea wall, which gives you full privacy and and amazing views over the sea while relaxing on your sun lounger or while enjoying an amazing cappuccino on one of the sofas. If you are looking for a sandy beach, walk left or right and in a few minutes you will find just that.

We stayed in the a deluxe room (No 2201) in the third row of bungalow. The room is very spacious, nicely decorated and clean. The bathroom is really large, modern and nice. Also the breakfast buffet is wonderful, great choice of freshly cooked food as well as fresh fruits, cereals and what ever else you might desire to eat. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sensula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Excellent in every way!
We stayed here for a few days in january 2014 and loved it. We had little expectations and came to experience one of the best hotels we visited (we have been to many).
Small, personal, relaxing and beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jakob_per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We chose Chongfah as we wanted a nice long relaxing break and were encouraged by reviews here on Tripadvisor. We stayed 7 nights and could not be happier with our experience.

We stayed on an upper floor room at the back of the property, not beachfront but had a lovely room with a balcony. The room was nicely kept and had a spacious dressing area and bathroom, with a full mini bar with generous amount of free bottled water and tea and coffee making facilities. The only complaint we had is that Wifi was poor in our room; it worked on the balcony on the first 2 mornings and thereafter, the only place we could access it was in the resort's reception area. It would have been helpful to have good access in the room consistently.

The food and drinks at the hotel were great - reasonably priced for a resort and quite good. The danger in this is that we felt it difficult to leave as we had everything we needed!

Note that the resort and others nearby are beachfront but that it does require taking steps down to the sand when the tide allows. This was not a problem for us as the sun beds and the infinity pool give a great view of the sea. The fact that this is a small resort of about 30 rooms and there were plenty of sunbeds available meant that there was always a choice of where to sit daily and this was at a time when we thought the resort was at near maximum capacity.

We took advantage of the free bicycles and explored a bit. However, the immediate surroundings of the resort provide limited choice of restaurants and to have a wider option you should consider taking a taxi further afield; taxi/jeeps are available just outside the resort almost all the time. There is also a currency exchange office and a mini-mart just outside the resort's entrance and could not have been more convenient.

Bear in mind that Khao Lak is still a small sleepy and relaxed resort area without the nightlife one might expect in Phuket and Chongfah is a great choice for those wanting to relax or to go on a quiet family holiday. The service we encountered at Chongfah was wonderful - extremely helpful at all times but low key and unobtrusive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Merkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This place is great - smaller than some of the more full-scale resorts around but therein lies its charm. We had a great room on the first floor overlooking the sea. Staff are excellent - really go the extra mile to cater to small requests. Food at the restaurant is very good - and if you tire of it there are plenty of eating options around.

Room Tip: not all rooms have sea view so ask for one that does (corner room on level 1 is super)
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brendalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This place has the most marvellous air of calm, and is just the spot for some rest and relaxation after travelling around, or just a bit of indulgence.

The resort only has 30 rooms (I think) 8 beachfront bungalows, another 6 behind them and then 16 more rooms set in the gardens. We had a beachfront bungalow room and it was great to lie in bed or on our terrace with a full view of the sea. The room was huge, with a separate dressing area, large indoor shower room and a garden spa bath and outdoor shower through doors to the rear. The pleasure of tea in the spa bath after a long lazy day is very memorable.

Although the rooms are not inexpensive everything else is. The restaurant is very good ( especially the Thursday evening buffet) Drinks - including cocktails - are very reasonably priced and you can drink the contents of the mini bar without extending your mortgage.

The service here is outstanding, friendly and unobtrusive.

I can't understand some of the reviews commenting on the lack of beach. You can reach the beach at either end of the frontage and the hotel has a large number of sun loungers up on sand just behind the "promenade" wall. You can swim when the tide is in from the steps. The sea was calm and very warm when we visited and although the pool is good too there is something special about swimming in the sea.

Don't go to Khao Lak for nightlife - there doesn't seem to be any, Go to experience the blissful charm, tasteful elegance and attentive service at Chongfah.

Room Tip: Go for a beachfront bungalow if you can, but the whole resort is lovely.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Higgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Relatively small resort, but the bungalows offer all you need and the staff deserves a gold medal for friendliness, hospitality and service orientation. Prices are steep though, so look out for special offers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gl0bal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
2.2 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 70 in Khao Lak
815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#3 of 70 in Khao Lak
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#12 of 70 in Khao Lak
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chongfah Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chongfah Beach Resort

Address: 54/1 Moo 5 Khukkhak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: £51 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chongfah Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chongfah Resort is boutique beachfront hotel located on beautiful Bang Niang Beach in Khao Lak. A haven of peace and tranquility, this charming Khao Lak resort is surrounded by nature and features a total of only 30 deluxe rooms and quaint bungalows, including seaview bungalows just a few steps from the enticing crystal clear waters of the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chongfah Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chongfah Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing