We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Khaolak Merlin Resort
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We arrived a the hotel and were given a cold cloth to freshen up and a fruit juice, which was welcome after our long journey. We were taken to our room, which was very clean, comfortable and had a king sized bed. The bathroom was amazing with a massive bath (room for 2). There was good air conditioning, however as we were there in rainy season/Monsoon there were many short power cuts and the air conditioning panel would bleep loudly when coming back on again giving me a fright during the night as I didn't know what was causing the bleeping!

The food was excellent. The breakfast buffet included fresh local fruits, cereals, hot buffet (which changed daily) and there was an egg chef who could whip you up whatever you wanted. We also tried lunch a few times and dinner one night. Both were of good quality. There was lot of staff, probably too much for low season.Sometimes they looked a bit bored. The resort is great for a peaceful retreat. The pools were lovely and we were lucky to have a pool access room. We even used the gym once, which was basic but air conditioned.

There many places to eat just a few mins walk from the hotel. if you go out the main entrance and turn left. Most of these restaurant did good quality Thai food at a cheap price. There is a few beach wear shops and supermarkets if you need anything. Also the usual annoying suit traders trying to get you to buy a suit. if you turn right at the beach path and walk a few mins you will come to a beach bar which is run by a man called Net. it is a lovely place to watch the sun go down. There you may meet Mr Moo and Cha who sell tours. They do give you the hard sell but are quite endearing and look after you well if you chose to go on a tour. If you say you are not interested they will leave you alone.

Khao Lak town itself was quiet and not much going on.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

This was our 6th year back and The Merlin never disappoints us, again Chin is wonderful and the all the staff are fantastic, Chef Somchai has a great team under him and of course we cant forget the manager Krisda.
We stay in a Pool access room over looking the main pool and a view of the ocean, it dosnt get any better than this I tell you.
The grounds are kept beautiful, the pool area is great as there are now 4 main pool area's and a waterfall affect that runs through all the pool access rooms, very nice and peaceful.
The Veranda restaurant is our favourite, and breakfast is very full on with such a wide verity with dishes changing daily.
The Spa rooms are lovely and you can have a manicure and pedicure and all the other girlie things.
The new wing out the front near reception, is very modern to the rest of the Merlin which is Thai, and they have kept the Spa Pool for the guess who are staying in that section very nice I must admit.
I would recommend The Merlin to anyone that is thinking of holidaying in the Khoa Lak area, you leave feeling soooooooooooo relaxed :) Thank you Merlin.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are excellent, but what ever your budget you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lushdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Our second time to stay at this wonderful hotel. Pay the bit extra for a pool access room - they are just lovely. Rooms lovely, clean and spacious. Breakfast was always enjoyable and the staff are courteous and friendly. Jays Seafood is a short walk down the beach - wonderful food and friendly staff and value for money. Would definitely stay again at this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra for a pool access room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

what an awesome place khao lak is! this is obviously the quiet end of things - away from the town which itself was quiet, so you can imagine. the noisiest things apart from the ciciadas and frogs was my constant refusal to be badgered by the tailors!
the hotel itself is beautiful and well managed. superior rooms were very comfortable and more than adequate. good standard of hygiene too. we did have a problem on arrival with initial room but this was quickly remedied.
there is little to do of an evening apart from relax in the few restaurants around the area. these were in the main very good, some even great. our faves were the ruan thai and the place on the corner with the waiter with the squeaky voice(cant remeber the name) and the riverside restaurant across the road. the riverside wasnt the busiest but if you want the best penang curry soup then tanoo is your man! we didnt bother eating in the hotel so apart from brekky so cant comment. brekky was good but couldnt understand why fruits were covered and salads were not. this place is ant central and there isnt a crumb left exposed or dropped that they dont know about. (anyway - salad for breakfast? whats that all about?
the grounds are beautiful and the beach clean and the sea is fun. it was great to wander up and down and see elephants and to go to komol's corner for beer and massage. it was so quiet and peaceful you could believe you were on your own.
we went on trips with mr moo and his able assistant mr cha who is definitely one of the nicest and funniest men i have met. they are near jo's seafood restaurant and can be found having a beer in the shack near there anytime after 17.30pm!
it was unbelievably wet to start with - then unbelievably hot, esp. in the evenings. umbrellas are provided in your rooms so just get out there.
i could keep going on about this place and area forever but in summary :-
1. remember its jungle area
2. its hot and sticky
3. its wet and then sometimes even wetter!
4. its like pandora (Avatar) and there are things out there that will eat you alive!
5. its beautiful
6. its peaceful
7. khao lak centre is 10 minutes away if you want variety or your token irish bar (which of course i went to!)
8. the food is the best i have experienced in thailand
9. its wet, hot and sticky!
10. there were lots of germans there but - speak to them, were all the same!
you will not regret a stay in khao lak and them merlin is very good. i may choose elsewhere next time, but i will never forget this place.

Room Tip: some rooms may be a bit damp - insist on being relocated. this is not suprising as it is as wet as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pad-doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Great hotel. Stayed in a pool access room and enjoyed it thoroughly. Rooms are very spacious although beds are quite hard. Staff are very attentive and breakfast was beautiful. Pools are well maintained as are the beautiful grounds. Visit Jays Seafood Restaurant not far from the hotel-excellent food and value for money. A great holiday.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a pool access room. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwdk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

great place for a relaxing holiday beautiful hotel with really great grounds the pools were god scattered round the grounds so whichever room you are in there is a pool nearby also very pretty with rocks and waterfalls very easy to make believe they are natural pools, the only problem is non are very deep 1.3 metre is the maximum depth. The beach is good clean great for a stroll and a swim. there are loads of bars and resturants within a short walk not the best of food I have come across in Thailand but acceptable Ruan Thai restaurant is the best of the bunch. The only reason for a four star rather than a five is we had a complaint about the reception of the TV which took days to resolve as well as the rather shallow pools. The spa is also good and some good offers at the moment in what they call the green season, the pedicure was pure bliss. Also went on a trip using Mr Moo's tours (can be found next to Jo's seafood restaurant, walk along the beach to the right of the hotel) which was excellent fabulous boat tripthrough the mangroves, plus a slightly cheesy visit to James Bond island and lunch on a floating fishing visit. I would't bother with the elephant ride again the one we used was either up hill or down hill. There is a waterfal within walking distance as well as restaurant with views of the oast the national park and also the elephants watching others on a trek was far better than actually doing it myself. Oh nearly forgot the sunken bath I am really a shower person but for the first time in a decade was tempted into several baths.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen-Allan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed one week in Merlin. Before Khao Lak we have been few times in Phuket and we must say that these two are really different places. Here you will find very good beach and nature. Exellent pools. If you liked to go shopping the prices were lower than in Phuket. Of course the selection is narrower. But there was nice market in Khao Lak every Mon, Wed and Sat. Taxi to the markets was only 250 THB. Near the hotel you will also find lot of restaurants and good food. There is also nice beach bar Komol corner on the beah, good cold Singa beer. Sunsets were also very pretty. Lovely place!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ki20nu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
6.3 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
10.8 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#10 of 70 in Khao Lak
869 reviews
1.8 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
3.9 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 70 in Khao Lak
567 reviews
9.7 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#17 of 70 in Khao Lak
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaolak Merlin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Merlin Resort

Address: 7 / 7 Phetkasem Road | Lamkaen, Taimuang, Khao Lak 82210, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#7 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#9 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#15 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range: £53 - £1,039 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Khaolak Merlin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Khaolak Merlin Resort is a deluxe resort with style inspired by Thailand's rich culture, situated approximately 50 minutes away from Phuket International Airport yet set amongst peaceful tropical forest landscape and tranquil beaches. It has direct access to 190 meters of Khao Lak Beach front and is surrounded by 15 acres of lush tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Khaolak Merlin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Merlin Khao Lak
Khaolak Merlin Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing