We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
272
57
19
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
57
19
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spices restaurant large fridge grand room modern hotel bose speakers oceanside room room opens spectacular hotel pool access room sun beds and parasols the managers cocktail evening sunbed issue sister hotel rooms are fantastic happy hour ocean view street market
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

I had booked a romantic dinner for my partner last night here on the beach. David and i were greeted by the new Manager Tong at the entrance after being complimentary picked up from our Hotel the Haven .Tong showed us around the magnificent grounds before taking us to our setting on the beach. David and i watched the beautiful sunset before our starters. We had our own staff assigned to us which took photos for us without us even asking would they mind if they could. I cannot tell you how delicous starters,soup,main course and OMG dessert was. Tong came over and make sure we were happy with everything. Just as dessert started it started to rain a little. They ushered us out of the rain before it got to heavy. We finished out dessserts inside and the last of our wine. As we left our table we were greeted by the amazing chief's that had cooked our meal. We could not thank them and Tong and also our amazing private staff. If i could recommend you to do anthing in khao Lak , it would be to BOOK YOURSELF A DINNER EXPERIENCE on the beach for your loved one. Last nights romantic dinner experience with my loved one will be a memory forever thanks to Tong and her staff.
Tong apparently has only been a Manager here at La Vela for 7 days and the attention to detail she did for us was outstanding. Thank you again Tong and staff xxxxx

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Brand new hotel with some very neat angular architecture. The staff are very friendly and attentive as with most places in Thailand. Good location within walking distance of plenty of restaurants and bars, it also has it’s own nice restaurant with beach bar backing right onto the beach front. My only slight gripe was the breakfast service could have been better, more variety for Westerners and more frequent/warm but other than that it was a very nice hotel. I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

this is a truly wonderful hotel, all brand new and beautifully appointed rooms, a fabulous setting on the beach and a two minute walk to Khao LAk town and a huge selection of restaurants and bars. The staff are extremely friendly ,like most Thai hospitality workers and go the extra mile to ensure your time here will be unforgettable. Special mention of the staff at the pool bar , and James from the Miners bar for the way they look after guests. The pools around the rooms are fantastic and are never very busy, swimming is a delight here. Highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: don't get a room opposite the Miners BAr, too busy
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan Gai F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

We stayed in this excellent hotel in July. The room (a swim up room) was comfortable, clean, well furnished and there was a lot of space for suitcases. In the bathroom was a jacuzzi tube and a walkable shower.
You find a lot of food for breakfast. There is an eggstation, warm meals, fruit, some kinds of bread and even Nutella, The staff is friendly and helpful. We didn't have dinner in the hotel restaurant because there are a lot of restaurants outside of the hotel in a walkable distance. We tried the happy hour at the bar near the beach. The first time there was a lot of alcohol in the drinks. Next time someone else made them and they didn't taste as good as the first time, but they were okay.
We were lucky concerning the weather because 5 days of our 10 days stay it didn't rain although it was monsoon season. The other days it rained for about 15 minutes and then the sun was shining again (except the last day, there it was raining the whole day).
The beach is not too long and on the left there is a river where fishermen try their luck. Unfortunately there were very high waves and we couldn't go into the sea. But you can use the pools and they are very nice.
I can recommend the spa. My husband tried scrubbing and two massages and I also had two massages. It is not cheap but it is worth the money.
We liked our relaxing stay so much that we now booked this hotel again for the first week in February.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mara05_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

We had the most perfect stay in la Vela. The room was fantastic and very comfortable the food was amazing especially the incredible breakfast. The staff were so friendly and kind and the sea view and facilities were 5 star. Couldn’t have had a better week.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank PHBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews