We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JW Marriott exceptional pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“JW Marriott exceptional pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights and it was a beautiful hotel with excellent staff, the pool really makes the place. We had direct access to the pool(no Fencing)although the family rooms did have pool fencing. We arrived at 11 but could not book in until 3,this was not a problem as you were given towels to use either the pool or the Beach. Breakfast was in the main restaurant and the choices were endless. We did not use the Spa area,although there were quite a few guests that had all inclusive packages this also included a couple of treatments.
6 days was long enough as there really is no where to walk to just a few shops out the front and a couple of bars on the beach. This may suit some people as it was total relaxation, personally I need a little more. They do have a mini bus that goes into Khao Lac 50Baht return quite cheap but you had to book early to reserve a spot. Taxi was around 300Baht from the end of the road.
The Farmai bar on the beach had reasonable food at good prices as did the Anderman Restaurant also on the beach. Gecko Man who runs the Farmai is also a tour guide we booked Elephants and Kayaking with him and had a great day, he was with us all the way even took us to some of the Thai food markets, explaining what the foods were. We had free time and were planning to go back to Phuket he advised us against this and said to head to Railay Beach, this turned out to be an excellent choice. He even offered to take us to the bus station to get to Krabi. A genuine Thai that works hard to make a living and is always happy.
We would defiantly go back to this hotel but for a shorter stay

Room Tip: Pool access was fantastic, but make sure your not close to the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patty3919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear patty3919,

Greetings from Khao Lak to Melbourne!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa. I am glad you and your family had a wonderful time with us. Thank you for rating us as a beautiful hotel and especially your comment about the excellent staff is really appreciated.

We are very happy to learn that you could fully enjoy the endless choices at our breakfast and our lagoon pools with the pool access rooms.

We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort during your next visit to Thailand.

Best regards

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,264
    722
    160
    52
    28
See reviews for
1,004
1,604
51
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (955)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

A wonderful hotel with incredibly helpful staff. We enjoyed a relaxing break at Easter. The breakfast bar options had to be seen to be believed. The hotel was completely full when we stayed there but it never felt crowded. We loved the cocktails and nibbles on the bar balcony and watching the sun set

Room Tip: swim up rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 159TheresaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear 159TheresaP,

Greetings from Khao Lak and thank you so much for your review on this website.

Your compliments are greatly appreciated and it is very nice to know that you enjoyed a relaxing break at our wonderful resort. Especially your feedback about the incredibly helpful associates leaves us very proud and it is my great pleasure to share your comments with our entire team.

I fully agree with you that even during very busy periods our resort never feels crowded and leaves plenty of privacy for our guests to relax and unwind.

We all hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at this resort for 3 days. After few initial hiccups during check-in, where there was no bell boy to assist us to park our car (we rented a car to explore this area),our remaining stay was very nice. The resort sports a huge pool area. The beach is quite nice barring few stray dogs which we found at 300-400 mts on both side of the beach area.

Room was very nice. Breakfast was delicious with wide variety. 2 highlights of our stay at this resort were:
1) Beautiful sunset view: one of the best I have witnessed.
2) Amazing staff: They have an excellent staff at every service touch point. I would especially like to mention 'Nuch' and 'Poo' who served us at the restaurant. Very charming ladies. They would even remember the guest and their preference, and would stop by to chat for 5 mins.

We are back with lots of good memories and specially an amazing customer service experience.
Highly recommended !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank at3122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear at3122014,

sunny greetings from Khao Lak to Singapore and thank you very much for your review of the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa.

We are very pleased to read that you experienced such memorable and amazing customer service throughout the resort and particularly the charming service by Khun Nuch and Khun Poo in our waterfront restaurant. Furthermore I am thrilled to read that you could fully enjoy your very nice room and the delicious breakfast.
Above all it is my great pleasure to share your nice words about the excellent staff with our entire team.

On another side, we have also taken good notes of your improvement recommendations in terms of the arrival experience.

Thank you once more for recommending the JW Marriott Khao Lak and we are all looking forward to welcome you back in the near future and refresh your good memories during your next visit to Khao Lak.

Kind regards,

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Wow, we are still dreaming about this hotel even after returning from our trip! We are typically budget travelers but decided to splurge on this hotel during our tour of Thailand. It was a very welcome change to come from Bangkok to this gorgeous, peaceful resort.

The service of the staff is exceptional. Nana at the front desk was incredibly helpful and went out of her way to answer questions for us as well as leave us a welcome gift in our room. Tin at the Waterfront Restaurant breakfast room was always so kind and helpful. Loved the variety of the breakfast buffet. Really enjoyed the Thai cooking class that they offer.

The pool was amazing and the beach was beautiful. We absolutely loved our room - especially the bed!

All in all, we loved our stay here and have already recommended it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 280erikap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Erika P,

Thank you for making the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa your preferred holiday destination and for taking time to share your comments with other travelers in this forum.

We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay in our gorgeous and peaceful resort and had such a memorable experience.

Especially your comment about Khun Nana providing such an exceptional service at our Front desk and Khun Tin being kind and helpful at our Waterfront restaurant, makes us extremely proud. It is indeed a pleasure to share your comments with our fantastic team, especially with the above mentioned associates who are doing an outstanding job in taking care of our guests.

Furthermore, thank you very much for sharing your positive experience at our breakfast buffet and with the Thai cooking class.
I am also thrilled to read that you fully enjoyed the amazing swimming pool, the beautiful beach and that you loved your room with the comfortable bedding.

Once again thank you for recommending our resort to your friends and family. We are all looking forward very much to WOW you again and make you dreams come true when you are returning to Khao Lak.

Sincerely,

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
177 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful resort with a huge pool area (over 3 km of swimming possible) right at the beach. Staff is super friendly and there is a good choice of restaurants with nice food and drinks. We stayed at a family room which was very convenient and clean. The room and some public areas could use a touch up. It is somewhat isolated which makes it a calm place but you can arrange all kind of transportation to move around. Had a great time and hope you will as well.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank EUlrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear EUlrich,

Greetings from Khao Lak and thank you for taking your time writing a review as a Top Contributor on this website about your experience in our resort.

We are delighted to learn you enjoyed a relaxing stay, thank you for your great comments about our beautiful resort, the cleanliness and convenience of your room, lagoon pools, restaurants and above all the super friendly team. It is my great pleasure to share your feedback with our associates.

We look forward having the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This is an astounding hotel, beautifully built in an ingenious design that transforms it's huge scale into a peaceful, village like setting. The pool is truely breathtaking, probably one of the finest in the world. The rooms beautifully appointed and the beds luxurious.

The breakfast buffet is the only time you will see lots of people and you spend the rest of the day wondering where on earth they have gone to, again testament to the clever, winding, design of the complex with dozens of private spaces.

Food here is expensive, so if you are on a budget simply explore the wonderful beach restaurants to the left and right of the hotel... You won't get a better view.

The hotel is isolated but that is indeed part of it's charm. The staff absolutely incredible, very polite, always helpful and even remembering your name... Miraculous considering how many faces they greet on a daily basis.

Highly recommended, prices good in low season but weather always a little unpredictable.

In all we had a fantastic stay at this hotel... Go enjoy!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MrT L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear MrT L,

Greetings from Khao Lak to Chiang Rai!

Thank you for sharing your feedback on this website and describing your experience in our wonderful resort!

We are very pleased to learn that you had a great stay, thank you for your feedback about our overall resort layout and design, the Pool, the breakfast buffet and the peaceful atmosphere and charm of the JW Marriott Khao Lak.

We take great pride in providing warm and genuine hospitality to our guests and your comments about our always polite and helpful associates are appreciated.
I totally agree with you that our staff is really incredible and it is indeed kind of magic how they remember every guests name. It is my great pleasure to share your nice words with our entire team.

We all look forward to welcome you back to JW Marriott Khao Lak in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxembourg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Having read all the good reviews and coming from the JW in Phuket, we anticipated our next 4 nights to another JW. After the nice welcome at reception, huge was our disappointment once we saw our room in detail. I understand that this hotel was very affected by the tsunami but the rooms need major refurbishing from top to bottom. Everything was moldy and musty, the attached pictures are a testimony of the hotel's desolate condition. As we had 2 rooms on different floors, our room was not an exception. Especially the balconies were disgusting with fungi growing on it and the black mold stains simply overpainted, so that the paint was peeling . On the outside corridors, in the service niches, trays with used dishes and remaing food remained there for 24 hours. Even a mattress stood there overnight in the humidity. The breakfast buffet was ok but not outstanding, it was served in a huge high ceiling room with canteenlike noise level.
To top it off, at the pool/beach stand you had to show a beach card in order to get exactly 1 towel and they crossed your roomnumber on their checklist for that day.. really not 5 star JW like but more for package tourists.
On several forums, the latest dated mars 2014, I read that gold/plat marriott members were getting free happy hour for 1 hour instead of lounge but that was not the case, as gold mbrs we got only 2 free breakfasts. But to finish with a positive note, the beach was beautiful eventhough could need some cleaning, the long pool was really unique but not attractive enough for us to stay. After 1 night, we asked to check out and went back to the JW in Phuket where most resort activities were free in contrary to this one, we will never be back and will dissuade our friends who considered this hotel for their vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank luxk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear luxk69,

Greetings from the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa!

Thank you for selecting our resort as your preferred holiday destination.

We sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time writing us very detailed about your experience. Thank you for your great feedback about our pool and the beach.

I am deeply saddened and regret to learn of the unsatisfying stay you experienced with regards to the condition of your room and the overall facilities. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused, I have followed up immediately with our team to ensure these unpleasant experiences will not reoccur, your feedback is important to us and supports us to improve our service in the areas where needed.

I understand clearly the frustrations and doubts that you have experienced and would like to assure you that your feedback has not gone unnoticed. We all hope that this experience has not caused you to judge Marriott differently.

Once again thank you for writing us with your feedback, this is very much appreciated.

We all look forward having the opportunity to regain your trust and welcome you back to our resort in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.5 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 66 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
4.7 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#11 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
3.5 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#10 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#3 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Address: 41/12 Moo 3 | Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the treasures of Khao Lak at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa. The pristine white sand beach stretches for miles, melting into the exquisite azure waters of the Andaman Sea. This is Khao Lak, Thailand - a hidden paradise of sun, sea and sand, as well as lush tropical greenery, granite mountains and stunning waterfalls. The vast landscaped area within the resort grounds makes the resort an ideal outdoor venue for incentives or themed events, weddings or product launches. At Marriott Hotels and Resorts®, it's our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation a trip of a lifetime. Enjoy amenity-filled guest rooms, superb dining, and exemplary meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Marriott, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Resort And Spa
Cher Fah Hotel
Cher Fah Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing