We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poseidon Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Poseidon Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very relaxing place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Poseidon has a great location for people who want to a hideaway - the bungalows are comfortable, the view and the birds that can be seen from the restaurant are great, and you can walk along the beach or take a taxi into town if you want to see more. The tour to Similan Islands is excellent - great boat, guide, food and local knowledge - and good value too. To be recommended for experienced snorkelers who want to do something different as there are many more fish varieties than round the islands to the south of Phuket.
The only disadvantage to the whole experience is that smoking is allowed in the restaurant and many tourists from Europe seem to be smokers. I'd forgotten how horrible that is (its long been illegal in Australia) until eating my first dinner with smoke wafting across my face. Please do something about it Poseidon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olov C, Manager at Poseidon Bungalows, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi Jan, glad you liked it, and smoking is banned in the restaurant even as it is outdoors! There is a sign to this effect but some of the Thai staff are reluctant to confront customers....
We do provide a smokers corner with chairs just outside by the BBQ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    47
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
37
67
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Great place, great food, great staff. And the trip to the Similan Island was absolutly fantastic with lots of excellent food. Thank you Esther, we will be back next year;-)
Our kindest regards from Denmark,
Connie and Leif

Room Tip: A-6,A-7 and A-8 have a great view over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kordegnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable few days at Poseidon. We opted for the economy bungalows which are definitely more rustic, but I prefer that. Rooms 5 and 6 overlook a beach, so there was a lovely view. The food was great and the staff are friendly too. I would go back.

Stayed December 2556
Helpful?
2 Thank Mat1lda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knivsta, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

The first time for us at Poseidon, but not the last one.
For our family with 2 children around 10 years it was perfect. The bungalows were simple, clean and comfortable. The price was nice and the food at the restaurant was good. The nature, view and surroundings couldn´t be better. Poseidon felt very familiar and our family felt very relaxed due to the nature and the staff at Poseidon. They were very helpful and gave us good information and recommendations of things to do. It was easy to travel to wherever we wanted and the taxidrivers picked us up whenever we wanted.
We had a nice day at Khao Sok, one wounderful day at Pang Nga and three outstanding days at Similan Islands with Ester as our guide. She learned us a lot about the "seaanimals" and took really well care of our children. The staff and food there was also very good at tho boat.
Many thanks to all of you at Poseidon Bungalows

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 395_sa_R2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gnesta, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

My fiancee and I have been going to Poseidon Bungalows for six years in a row now, simply due to it being one of the most wonderful places we have ever been to. The humble and relaxed nature of the venue, leaves plenty of room for everyone to find their own space away from the otherwise tourist-cluttered Khao Lak region. Going there as early in the season as we usually do, more or less gives you the entire beach to yourself, save a couple of elephants and the awesome beach restaurant vendors. I would recommend anyone to go to Poseidon, if peace and quiet is what you are looking for. If the urge to do something would pop up, it is simply a matter of calling a very cheap taxi to pick you up at Poseidon, drop you at your destination and if you fell like it, come get you when you want to go back. Needless to say, the snorkeling tour to the Similan islands is an absolute must. Spending thre days aboard the cozy Duangta, watching exceptional underwater life and eating some of the best Thai food around is something noone should miss out on.

Room Tip: Go for the stone bungalows. Even if they cost a little more, they are excellent - especially the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed here two days prior to going on Similan Island 3 day live aboard. Both experiences were wonderful. Accommodation at the bungalows was clean and very comfortable for a great price. Food and ambiance at the restaurant was great. Pool was incredibly clean - don't know how they do it with all the jungle/plants around. But best - the seclusion and the view. Very relaxing and peaceful - wish we had planned more time here. The 3 day live aboard was also wonderful - great food, sights and company. Will definitely do again when I return to Thailand and highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

It's the second time that we have stayed in a bungalow at Poseidon.the bungalows are clean and the environment is lovely with jungle and beach.the food is great and the view from the restaurant is lovely.its very peaceful and quiet.
We went on the similan tour and it was a wonderful experience.Ester,our guide was very knowledgable,the food was wonderful and the group was very friendly.we had a great time.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
5.5 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
8.5 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 66 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
10.5 mi away
Palm Galleria Resort
Palm Galleria Resort
#43 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
10.0 mi away
Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poseidon Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidon Bungalows

Property: Poseidon Bungalows
Address: 1/6 Khao Lak | Lam Kaen, Khao Lak 82210, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run operation right on the beach in Khao Lak, here since 1988. Bungalows directly on the beach, a small private beach and Khao Lak beach, swimming pool, restaurant and bar. We also run three day live aboard Similan Tours for snorkeling. Good food, tours, long empty beaches! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Poseidon Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Bungalows Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing