We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at the end of our two week stay in Khao Lak. We loved it.

The rooms were gorgeous with a fabulous sea view, we liked the tinted glass which made the room very private. The pool was huge, warm and throughout our stay quiet, in fact there was just the two of us.

The hotel is a short stroll to the beach, where you can find massages, a few bars and our favourite eatery, My Friend.

We were based at the hotel during the Tsunami scare, but we were calmly moved to higher ground, in luxury transport. We were fed and watered and provided with a beer or two, before being safely returned.

We stayed in 4 resorts in Khao Lak and will definitely return to Riverside.

My only wish would be for a few more ENglish speaking TV channels in the room, a very minor detail.

Room Tip: All rooms have a fantastic sea and river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsrobertsOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    29
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
145
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Nearly on final day of stay here and want to say what a great hotel and beautiful location this is. Khao Lak is lovely and quiet - we've eaten lots of great Thai food and explored the area. Snorkeling in the Similan Islands is a must daytrip - and we're off to nearby jungle tomorrow.

The staff are incredibly helpful (especially Bruno) and knowledgeable of the local area. The resort is situated next to an exquisite beach - we've particularly enjoyed having foot and head massages on it! The pool's great too.

A quality, boutique hotel - highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have great views so no suggestions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperance
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here in March for 4 nights. The room was gorgeous, we were blown away. The photos online do not do this place justice. The location was ideal and we were easily able to access Khao Lak and the beautiful beach. The customer service was brilliant. We felt relaxed and truly welcomed. I cannot recommend this resort more strongly. It was the absolute highlight of our holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chellypit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Panwa, Thailand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I have stayed in many 5 star hotels in the Khao Lak area as I like to try different hotels and resorts . This small boutique hotel is a real gem I only wished that I could have stayed longer. I was amazed at the size of the rooms so very spacious with plenty of room for luggage storage of which I had plenty staying in Thailand for 1 month. I had a ground floor room which still had amazing views . The room was spotlessly clean with a beautiful towel decoration to welcome you. The bathrooms are very attractive in design so you get a nice view from here also. Breakfast was plentiful with plenty of choice. As a destination expert for Khao Lak I have found a hotel that I would want to return to in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My Husband and I stay here for 1 week in February. On our arrival we were met at reception by one of the owners, Marcus and 2 staff members, our bags were whisked away and taken straight to our room.

We had a inclusive drink at the bar whilst everything was explained to us! The atmosphere was relaxed and staff could be heard laughing as they worked, a rarity these days!!

The good humoured, Marcus spent time getting to know us and was able to answer any questions we had about trips and the local area, the personal touch was lovely.

The pictures of the hotel and grounds on some of the booking sites just don't do the place justice. It is absolutely beautiful here, the gardens and hotel pristine, clean and very welcoming. The design of the hotel and the layout are very well thought through!

You can lay in your bath (of a daytime) and gaze through the one-way window knowing no-one can see in, very liberating. Don't do it with the light on thought as it will no longer be one-way.

The breakfasts were always great, hot, well presented and a good choice offered, try the pan cakes with honey mmmm!!!

Marcus and Bruno don't waste money or environmental resources opening the restaurant if no-one books, but you can always get an evening meal in the restaurant if you ask in advance.

The pool and surrounding area are clean and quite, you may even be lucky and get a complimentary fruit punch if Marcus is in a good mood, we did!!

If you first looked at the pictures and missed the "tropical flare" and "bazaar shaped pools" that some of the bigger hotels offer then I can't blame you. However, you will be making a big mistake if you don't give Riverside a try.

AN AMAZING STAY!! WE WILL BE BACK MARCUS & BRUNO, LOVE LISA &TOM

Room Tip: Some have baths, some don't make sure you specify which you want. Otherwise you get a great vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 74lisa65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

After travelling around in Cambodia and Thailand we arrived at Riverside for a five night relaxation break. And it really was relaxing! Location is wonderful. Just a short stroll from the beach and very peaceful. When you are in the hotel you don't have the feeling that there are other hotels nearby. Rooms are very spacious, comfortable and clean. The grounds and the swimmingpool are very well kept. The beach is nice and not very crowded. You can walk in either direction and there are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. If you follow the road behind the hotel to the main street you find more restaurants, supermarkets and some shops.
If you want a big noisy resort - go somewhere else. If you want a peaceful, comfortable and beautiful place - choose Riverside. Thank you very much Markus and Bruno!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

All the reviews are to the point: the Khao Lak Riverside Resort is a beautiful hotel. And by that I mean the actual building (the attention to detail in the finishings is astonishing) and the settings.

The hotel is slightly removed from the beach (by 100 meters), which means that from every room you see the pool, the river, and the sea on the back. It is picture perfect.

The room is spotless, and the bathroom with a full view of the pool is quite cool. The breakfast is elegant: no buffet with discussing queues, flies, and people overeating in front of you. No, here you get what you want, but served in human-sized portions, brought to you. Much more civilized.

The hotel is in Khao Lak's Bang Niang beach. If you ever travelled to any destination in South East Asia, you have heard the obnoxious commentary, from an older explorer (never call him a 'tourist'): "this place was so much better 20 years ago". No matter when or where, it was always better 20 years ago. Well, guess what, Khao Lak is probably what Pattong beach was 30 years ago, or Kuta Beach in Bali was 50 years ago. Lots of nature, not a whole lot of people, and on Bang Niang beach, you can walk for several miles without seeing anyone. Better yet, no one will try to sell you anything. Walk past a couple of very tasteful resorts and the beach is yours. Who knows, maybe in 20 years time you will be the one saying: "Ah you should have seen Khao Lak 20 years ago".

Back to the resort, one final note: maybe it is not inline with the chic room, but in my mind EVERY hotel in the world should have a kettle with coffee and tea. It is such a minor thing, but so useful for a last cup before bed. I am sure the owners can find a way of introducing a kettle without breaking the perfect harmony of the room.

Room Tip: I think I paid extra for a sea view room. If so, it is pointless. All the rooms have a very similar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcn_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.3 mi away
Mukdara Beach Villa and Spa Resort
1.2 mi away
Suwan Palm Resort
Suwan Palm Resort
#53 of 66 in Khao Lak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#12 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Waters Khao Lak by Katathani
0.4 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 66 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Shambhala Khaolak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa

Property: Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa
Address: 67/167 Moo 5, Bang Niang Beach | Khuekkhak Subdistrict, Takua Pa District, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa is located along Thailand’s beautiful west coast, 90 km from Phuket International Airport. Situated next to Bang Niang River, overlooking the unspoiled Bang Niang Bay and the sapphire Andaman sea just 80 meter from the golden sandy beach. A total of 27 rooms designed and built in Asian-style, are spaciously positioned on 7200 m2 that guarantees private and quiet atmosphere. All elegant deluxe double rooms are fully air conditioned with individual climate control, mini bar, Satellite television, in-room safe, bedroom with king size or twin beds, outdoor balcony with a splendid panoramic view over Bang Niang River and the Andaman Sea.Private washroom, bathroom amenities, hair dryer, shower cabin, hot and cold water, toilet and washbasin, bathtub with stunning river and ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing