We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai food and a fabulous cooking experience”

Sawasdee Restaurant
Ranked #124 of 274 Restaurants in Khao Lak
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Thai food and a fabulous cooking experience”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My husband and I decided to eat at Sawsadee Restaurant after enjoying a wonderful cooking class with the owner (Aur). The food at the restaurant was super yummy. My husband had crispy duck breast with the Chef's special sauce and I had chicken with cashew nuts and we also had Thai pork fried rice. We asked for the food Thai spicy (which is super hot) and all 3 dishes were perfect! Thank you Aur, for such a wonderful cooking class and also a great eating experience at your restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bdsully93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    25
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Sawasdee - welcome to great food”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

On the Bang Niang Beach Road, this excellent restaurant services delicious traditional Thai cuisine with probaly the widest selection of duck dishes in Khao Lak. The crispy duck served with the chef's special sauce or duck breast with mango sauce or orange and ginger were three of our favourites on our various repeat visits. Extremely friendly and attentive staff help to make dining here a pleasure.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Went to this restaurant on recommendation of a travel rep. They recommended the black king fish with tamarind sauce so that's what I ordered. The menu said it was steamed but sometime after the order was placed I was told it is served fried. Ok no problem. However, when it arrived, while the sauce was excellent, the fish was dry. My wife had the same type of fish steamed with a soy sauce which was fine and moist so I am at a loss as to why mine suddenly had to be fried. Maybe I was paying the price for a kitchen foul up??

Helpful?
Thank Uppermilden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sawasdee cookery classes”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

This restaurant owner does cookery classes for a day for up to 4 people. If the food we created is anything like the restaurant, it should be absolutely delicious!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MicaelaCorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuuk, Greenland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best food in Khao Lak”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Some of the best Thai food we had. It is for sure people whom are dedicated to their business and Thai food. It is a must if you are in Bang Niang beach.

Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sawasdee Restaurant also viewed

Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Sawasdee Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing